We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Friendly Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort to your Saves list
Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Costera Norte | Km. 2.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quiet & Friendly Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Coral Princess is a smaller (about the size of a US hotel) quiet resort. It is the first resort in the Northern zone (north of the airport). This is a good thing as the cruise ships come in on the southern end and there were as many as 6 ships in each day. If you are looking for night-life or activities this isn't your resort. There is one resturant and one bar, plus the pool side bar during the day. The Coral Princess is a nice 2 mile walk to town along a well traveled paved walk way. We often walked in the late afternoon and then back after dinner. Most of the cruise ships leave at 5 so late afternoon is the time to head to town. Lots of great dining opportunities. Of couse a taxi can always take you to town for about $6. We rented a scooter for 2 days ($30/day) and toured the island. All the locals seem to travel by scooter, you'll see a whole family on one.
There is a great scuba shop, Pepe's Scuba, on site that uses small boats, not the big diving barges that I hate. They have all the equipment and good dive masters. Will even give you a refresher course if needed. You can dive or snorkle right in front of the resort, plenty of colorful fish. There isn't a beach, so you go off the dock into deep water. There is a sandy area for relaxing and sunning between the pools and the seawall. Never had to fight for a beach chair like at the larger resorts. Could always find some chairs open when ever we went down. There is also a spa on site it you desire a relaxing massage or your nails done.
The bellman will offer to bring you a 20 liter water bottle for $7, get it. We went through ours in a week, used it to fill our water bottles plus in room use.

Room Tip: Get the 20 liter water bottle from the bellman
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear "High Dry":
Thank you so much for your comment on TripAdvisor, we are happy that you have enjoyed all the beauties of Cozumel island with us. We hope to see you soon around this beautiful island and of course, in this beautiful Resort, your first house in Cozumel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    248
    71
    34
    23
See reviews for
148
269
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there on our last night in Cozumel since is was very close to the airport... We were glad we did the bed was very comfortable the bathroom super big we had wifi in our room. We didnt get the Oceanview but were at the pool and snorkled most of the time we were there... snorkeling on site is a huge plus and yes its a deal breaker. While snorkeling we saw 5 French Angels among other variety of fish very close from the hotels reef. We didnt go far out since its is deep so you need noodles to float and fins to get by... for those who like to swim it seems like a nice area as well. The pool is not very big its ok.. they have a Bar outside and people always waiting and willing to serve you. Coral Princess has beautiful decor and the also have restaurants at site. Would recommend and would go back but next time to an Oceanview room;)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Ixchel.
In name of all Coral Princess Staff we want to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, it is a pleasure for us that you have enjoyed your stay with us and, in this beautiful island. Like you, one of many things we love of the island, is the amazing of underwater world of Cozumel.
In name of all Coral Princess staff, wish you an excellent 2013, and hoping see you again on this paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Pros: *location-very close to the airport and downtown
* great view of the ocean-assuming you get an oceanfront room
* breakfast is included and the staff is great
* clean rooms
* swim up bar

Cons: * rooms are old and small-we got an ocean front studio room. ONLY rooms with NO BALCONY. No refrigerator; just a coffee pot.
* Lots of fees not included in the cost of the room.
* no real beach. There's a ladder you can climb down to swim into the ocean, but if you're looking for a walk on the beach, you're out of luck.

Not a bad place for the price, but I would choose elsewhere for my next trip to Cozumel to make the trip more special. It's more like a Best Western than a Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Linda:

Thank you so much for your comment on TripAdvisor, to us is very important all the guest reviews to keep getting better. The Delux Ocean Front rooms studios do not have balcony just the Coral Villa and suites, please let us know if you did a reservation with balcony or if the front desk staff did not tell you the differences between rooms. In name of all Coral Princess staff we wish an excellent day and we sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can demonstrate the level of service that we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

As with the reviewer, Zanuda18, me and my friend were there during the party from hell.
And the music went until 3 am, not 1am. I know because I was on the water side on the 8th floor, trying to sleep on the bathroom floor because in the bathroom the fan drowned it out a little. It was torture! Not an exaggeration. And the CP should have done something to compensate their guests even if they didn't have anything to do with it. They could have given us warning. It was just absolute torture. It was the loudest thing I've ever heard in my life. On the 8th floor our room was rattling. I'm surprised where weren't cracks in the plaster the next day.
Plus, we didn't get the balcony and the refrigerator that we specifically requested months before. And the ice machine didn't work.
In spite of all of this, I enjoyed my stay. Wait staff was great, especially happy hour with Damien. And I really loved the chilaquiles in the morning and learning Mayan from Lorenzo.
I would come back again but.... if the music thing happened again I would leave and never return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

So the rooms are a little out of date, who cares! The view is SPECTACULAR (Ocean front). Everyday at least 3 cruise ships coming in and out past the balcony, three patio doors in a 1 bdrm room to enjoy the sound of the sea hitting the reef directly in front of the hotel. Well equiped kitchen, comfortable bed, great swimming pool, balcony off the living rm and Bdrm!
A car is recommended but easy to get when you arrive and are accosted at the airport. I got a Hyndai for $50.00 yes $50.00 for the week! It cost $10.00 for gas for the week and I used it EVERY DAY and drove the entire island. Of course you need to drive stick and sit through a 90 minute sales pitch somewhere but if you know how to say "No" it's all good. This hotel rocks in every way. We were in and out countless times each day and no one bothered us but if we needed anything they were right there to assist.

Room Tip: Call ahead and request Ocean front - top floor if you can take the stairs too because of the marble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Good afternoon lady!

In name of Coral Princess staff we appreciate your review on tripadvisor , also we are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay on Coral Princess Hotel & Resort and of course, in this gorgeous island . Anytime you want to visit Cozumel remember you have a loving family here in Coral Princess that will receive you with a big hug.Me and all the staff of Coral Princess Hotel & Resort wish you an excellent 2013!!

Still in touch on facebook: Hotel & Resort Coral Princess / Twitter: coralprincessmx / and Pinterest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days here in December, moved to Hotel B (something new) and... Came back for 10 days! We love our ocean view, king sized bed, fridge and large shower. Wish we could get a strong wi-if signal in the room but its pretty good on the beach and lobby. The free hot breakfast is great! The beach/ pool Area is very nice - always plenty of loungers for everyone. I loved just jumping right into the water and snorkeling at one of the prettiest reefs we found! Service on the beach was excellent! There's an elevator, good working A/C and a large bottle of water waiting for you. We found all the staff to be polite, happy and helpful! Location is great 60 peso's to town (less than 5 minutes) - or, we usually rented scooters which we felt very safe on. This is definitely great value for money and we will definitely be returning!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Good afternoon Katherine!

Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor, it’s for us an enormous satisfaction that you have enjoyed your stay on our hotel, is really amazing snorkeling here nearby the coast, don`t you think? We hope see you soon and keep delight you with the beauties of Cozumel island, land of dreams.

Still in touch by Facebook : Hotel & Resort Coral Princess / Twitter: coralprincessmx/ and Pinterest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Cozumel is a place that we visit al least once in a year.We have been at different zones of the island, and for us ,the northern part of Cozumel is where we feel more comfortable,since is very calm,quiet, and most of the hotels have direct access to the sea.(many hotels at the main city of Cozumel and those located at the south have the main island road in front, so you have to cross this road to get into Cozumel's crystal waters.Coral Princess is not a big hotel but has all the facilities of a bigger upscale resort,with kind and efficient staff.Food is excellent,breakfast is really good.At the hotel you can rent a car,a bike,a motorcycle and many other services so you do not have to go to another place.The dive shop is great too, dive masters are friendly and the manager/director Mr.Frank is also kind and helpful.Coral Princess is not a new hotel, but it has been renovated,air condirioning units,baths and furniture are new and the views from the rooms are excellent.So if you love scuba diving,snorkeling or just relax this is a very nice place to stay at Cozumel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Good afternoon!

In name of all Coral Princess staff we want to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, we also will congratulate Frank of Pepe`s Scuba for an excellent job in customer service (you will see the post on facebook). We hope you have enjoyed your stay on this beautiful island and we hope see you soon for more subacuatic adventures.

CORAL PRINCESS HOTEL & RESORT WISH YOU AN EXCELLENT 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
5.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
2.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 2,954 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort

Address: Carr. Costera Norte | Km. 2.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort is the perfect place in Cozumel Island for a true getaway. We are a European Plan Hotel on the north side of the Island, away from the hustle of cruise ship tourism, but close enough to San Miguel town to eat, drink, shop, and dance whenever you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Princess Hotel And Resort
Coral Princess Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.