We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay/ Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort to your Saves list
Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Costera Norte | Km. 2.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
The Colony, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay/ Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed December 22, 2012 - December 28, 2012 and had a great time! The staff are very friendly and helpful! The team waiting on your for breakfast were great, made us feel at home, they were very funny!

You can snorkel from the property, you can rent the snorkel gear for $10 US (24 hours period). The rooms were clean.

It is a bit of a walk to go downtown, we did it one day, but pay the 60 pesos (was price during our stay).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Good afternoon "dlwebst"
In name of Coral Princess staff, we want to thank you for your excellente review on TripAdvisor, also we are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in Cozumel island with us. The whole family of Coral Princess Hotel & Resort wish you an excellent day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    238
    71
    33
    23
See reviews for
138
263
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are a family of 4 and have stayed at the Coral Princess Hotel & Resort from 12/23 to 12/27. The Coral Princess is very laid back and the service is excellent. The staff Ruben, Miguel, Damian and Pedro were very friendly and hard working, even if you don't tip all of the time.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite, which was very spacious and clean. We had 2 sliding glass doors with an ocean view so constantly we had the sliding glass doors open for the sea air and we slept every night with the doors open to the sounds of the Caribbean Sea!

We snorkeled from the resort, which was fun and safe- we also did the snorkeling tour with Pepe Snorkel and Dive Shop that is on property!

We had a great time and will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I took the time to write this review, because I feel it is wrong to mislead people with the hotel´s web page.
It’s nothing as advertised. The rooms are not studios. They are small and extremely humid. When it rains the smell is unbearable.
There is no beach, and when I tried to get into the ocean with my son, I fell. You can’t turn your back on your kids at the beach, it is dangerous.
It´s my first time using tripadvisor, but I tried to talk to someone at hotel to explain how I felt, no one cared. A nice man at the front desk (I don´t want him getting in trouble), told me that if I really wanted their general manger to take notice of these situations, the only thing to do was write a review. That he spent all his time answering the reviews, instead of correcting the problems at his property.
I´m not coming back, but travelers beware of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and I am so sorry that your experience with us was disappointing. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and we're constantly improving all aspects of our service and facilities. We even use online reviews to retrain employees. although we are aware safety of children is the responsibility of parents, in Coral Princess Hotel & Resort care about the safety of everyone. We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can demonstrate the level of service that we are known for. If you do plan to be in the area again, please contact me directly by asking for the general manager and I will personally oversee your stay. Thank you. Jose Antonio Rico, General Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is our 20th or so stay at the Coral Princess. The friendly and super helpful staff are wonderful. Much sprucing up has been done since our last visit and, as always, everything is spotless! The snorkeling just off the dock is spectacular and it would be nice to warm up in the hot tub, if they could get it working. We love to sit at the pool bar for a lunch of Grilled fish fillet, chips & salsa and margs! Monday night with "Mugga" band and bbq ribs on the patio was perfect! We'll be back!

Room Tip: The view of the Caribbean is awesome from any OV room, but we like to be several floors up in a Cora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is not a mega resort like so many, but it's clean, comfortable and the staff is great. Many of the staff have been here for 20-30 years! The beach is man made and it's not a great place to bring little kids that want to play in the surf, but if you want to snorkel, just jump in the ocean and swim with the fish!

Room Tip: Most the rooms are ocean views...the suites are great. It has a small kitchen, dining area and livin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our third trip to Cozumel, and our second to the Coral Princess. It is a little way from town, but only a $6 cab fare, and you are away from the cruise ship terminal with it's hoards of passengers!
Each room has a magnificent view of the water and the one bedroom unit was perfect for the two of us, with a huge balcony off the living area and a smaller one off the bedroom. We were able to turn off the AC and listen to the rolling waves one night. Great bar, restaurant, and excellent service from all the staff

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view - you can't go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Happy anniversary trip, thanks for sharing and living in Coral Princess Hotel & Resort, it's good to know they spent a wonderful time and that their anniversary was memorable, the whole family of Coral Princess Hotel & Resort want them seeing you around in this beautiful Cozumel Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We just returned from an amazing 10 day stay at the Coral Princess. We have been to Cozumel 10+ times and love the north end of the island for the tranquility and snorkeling. The hotel is well maintained and the staff is very friendly. The ocean view is amazing! Unbelievable snorkeling and sunsets.

The hotel is perfect for those who do not like the "buffet land" all-inclusive resorts. In my opinion, It is better to get out and experience the island rather than be tied to one place day in and out. If you do want to dine in-house, the CP restaurant has very good (made to order) food and we had the breakfast plan included ( they let us switch out the Coral Breakfast meal and charged us for any price difference when we wanted something different). The hotel is a nice walk into town or a short cab ride (we rented a car for the week-- which usually works out to be about the same price as taking cabs around the island). We utilized the gym, the spa (massage) and the bars.

The service was at times... slow. But on a vacation in the Caribbean, not a big deal. The gym could use a treadmill and the karaoke bar staff could learn to work the machine (maybe they did not want to listen to me sing) but the location and beauty of this property cannot be beat. We did stay at the Fontan (now B) last year just to check it out, but the CP is definitely the way to go.

The only irritating thing was that the concierge (who is super nice) asked-- that since we had stayed several times if we would do a short 30 minute vacation club presentation. I did want to see the larger rooms because we have always stayed in the king ocean suite and was interested. The timeshare manager was a total jerk. After being told that I wasting his time, I told him that it was my birthday and I just wanted to see what the larger suites were like and then had plans for the rest of the day. He took me outside and pointed to one of the units from the pool area and said, "see there it is". No lie! I then asked again, as I was told that I was invited to do a tour of the larger units, he then told me he was not a bell boy. It is the bell boy's job to show rooms. Keep in mind that I was invited to the presentation. I did not seek one out. The time share manager also insulted the room we were staying in calling it a "dorm room"... not sure what his tactic was there. In the end, my thought is that while I am on vacation. I don't want to cook, mix a drink, watch TV or do anything else...maybe if I was there for a month, but not for a week or so.

Other than that one timeshare thing, it was perfectly lovely. We look forward to going back to the Coral Princess on our next trip to Cozumel. BTW, We went with another couple and they loved it there as well.

Room Tip: get the ocean view room. . ..watch the cruise ships come into the island in the morning and leave at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, Coral Princess' Family is very important to know how were your holidays, I'm glad to know they spent 10 wonderful days in this beautiful island, and I share his opinion the best is to stay in Coral princess take your breakfast and meet all how beautiful they are on the island in addition to knowledge of the regional cuisine. I'll talk with the Director of Timeshare to not happen again, an incident like what happened to you, you have my word
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort

Address: Carr. Costera Norte | Km. 2.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort is the perfect place in Cozumel Island for adults. We are a European Plan Hotel on the north side of the Island, away from the hustle of cruise ship tourism, but close enough to San Miguel town to eat, drink, shop, and dance whenever you want. We recommend you spend some days at the beaches on the "other side of the Island," drive a rhino vehicle in the jungle, take a panoramic look on the zip lines, swim, dive, visit the Mayan ruins, eat tacos with hot salsa, dance your worries away at the local bars and have a tequila shot. Why not? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Princess Hotel And Resort
Coral Princess Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.