We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Princess Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Princess Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Coral Princess Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Costera Norte Km. 2.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Pacifica, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed here 10/23/07 - 10/30/07 and didn't want to leave to come home! Booked online with expedia and had an ocean view room with king sized bed. Room was spot-less, no bugs (as referred to in some other reviews). Had a mini-fridge in the room for soda and juice - a safe in the closet for valuables. The staff was just the best - can't say enough about the doorman Pedro, concierge Choncita and tour planner Andres. They were all wonderful and catered to our every need. Great snorkeling right in front of the hotel (be careful of the currents). We went there primarily to scuba dive but the weather at the start of our week was too rough to dive in so only dove 2 days at the end of our week with Pepe Scuba which is right at the hotel. They were great - Abdias was a fabulous dive master - pointed out lots of little things we might have missed on our own. The diving is the best ever - water is warm (85 degrees) and the visiblity is at least 100 ft. Definately rent a car or jeep and drive to the other side to the island - the beaches are pristine. Coconuts was fun for lunch. Had great quesadillas at Los Otates in town. San Gervasio ruins are interesting and worth a visit. Also took the ferry to the mainland and toured Chichen Itza (a long all day tour but worth it). Caves at Aktun Chen on the mainland are interesting to see also. We've taken alot of vacations but this was without a doubt the best. We've already made our plans to return in May for our anniversary.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    218
    61
    31
    20
See reviews for
125
233
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

Usually we book a package trough US-AIR and stay in a hotel room we have probably stayed at the Coral Princess 10X. The food and service was always good. We generally had no problems. In 2005 we purchased a timeshare the time share unit we stayed in had MUCHO maintance problems. We shared our room at least some time each day, during our two week stay with friendly but incompetent maintenance people. In desperation I solved several problems myself and made other suggestions. The hotel is a electrical nightmare. The staff at the front desk and manager nodded and smiled a lot but were of little help. When we purchased we found out later that we were only given part of the documents (TOTALLY ILLEGAL) but your in Mexico. After the building was damaged by a storm they charged us a extraordinary fee, of $150.00 to each member, which was never authorized by the membership committee. (Totally Illegal). Annual increases are supposed to be based on the prior years US-CPI which has been in the 3% range for many years. The company comptroller has been increasing annul charges at 5% per year. After my complaint, for 2006 he dropped the percent to a almost legal amount . Sounds like a very competent comptroller, or .fast learner, after cheating the members for so many years. RENT DON”T BUY.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed at the Coral Princess Sept 1st - 8th. Some friends of ours invited us to go as their "time share" guest. We travel to Cozumel every year and usually stay at an all inclusive called the Allegro (also stayed at the Reef Club once). You can't really compare the two hotels because they are totally different and it just depends on what you are looking for. The Coral Princess is much smaller then the Allegro, but the suites are huge and VERY nice at the Coral Princess. We had an ocean view and we love to snorkle which I would say is the hilight of this hotel. They don't have a real beach, so when you get into the ocean you walk down some stairs into about 10 to 12 foot of water. Lots of fish to see. The food is pretty good for breakfast and lunch, but never really found anything appealling for dinner. Don't try the pizza, YUCK!!! We went into town for dinner most nights. I HIGHLY reccommend the fish tacos for lunch (the best EVER!). We ate them almost every day for lunch and you just don't get sick of them. The fajita nachos are good too. If you have children I would reccommend going to the Allegro. We don't have kids but we really like the Allegro because it has a great beach, volley ball, and water polo. The drinks are expensive at the Coral Princess (between $6 and $7 for most). The staff was great and we really enjoyed our stay. This is a much more relaxing quite place to stay then the Allegro. I don't reccommend the Reef Club AT ALL. Food was horrible, staff was rude and not helpful. I reccomend the Coral Princess or the Allegro depending on what your looking for. Hope this is helpful!!!

  • Liked — snorkling and the view
  • Disliked — no real beach
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

Every aspect of this hotel is first class. Frankly, I cannot wait to return in November. The food was great and the staff was terrific. During my 5 day stay, I could not have expected to be treated any better. My special thanks to Pedro and the staff!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — no airport shuttle
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

Spent a week at the Coral Princess this past July. We had a 2-bedroom suite which was absolutely HUGE! It was great. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful. Snorkeling was great right off the hotel. Loved our visit. Will certainly return!

  • Liked — Big rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

I stayed at this hotel 4 years ago, and had the best time! We traveled through Mexico, and this was our final stay. Unfortunately it rained 2 of the 4 days we were there, but the staff was exceptional, and extremely accomodating. Every time we entered the lobby, whether we were leaving or coming, we were greeted with big smiles and Hola's! When we were ready to go out at night they were rushing outside to be sure to get us the best taxi. I loved the rooms (even the jungle view) and the pool was great! Beach area is small, but has such an amazing view. If I had the chance, I would definitely go back!

  • Liked — The Amazing Staff
  • Disliked — Distance from Downtown
  • Stayed June 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

Hotel...

We stayed in the one bedroom suite on the 5th floor facing the ocean in June 2007.

The suite was huge and included a kitchen with full-size fridge, toaster oven, microwave, sink and stove.

The living room had a couch and several chairs, with a sliding door that opened to a big balcony with lounge chairs and a table with 4 chairs for enjoying the view while eating.

There was also a small balcony attached to the bedroom that had no chairs.

The air conditioner was excellent and could make it way colder than we needed. There was a unit in the living room and bedroom which could be controlled independently with a handheld remote control.

We only ordered room service one time, and it was not good. The hamburgers were way undercooked (very pink). We put the patties in the microwave for several minutes to make them safe to eat, but then the fries were cold. I forgot what we had for desert, but it was not that great.

We only ate at the hotel restaurant once, and the breakfast was very good.

My wife snorkled in front of the hotel and enjoyed it. She said she saw many colorful fish. The water is too deep and rough for casual swimming, but there are other beaches on the island for that. There is no lifegaurd on duty so if you jump in the ocean make sure you don't get too far from shore because the currents can make it difficult to swim back.

The Coral Princess is the 3rd hotel we've stayed at in Cozumel, and by far the best. We have also stayed at the Allegro and Sol Cabanas Del Caribe.


Restaurants we ate at...

Cozumel Museum rooftop restaurant...great view of downtown ocean area and cruise ships, good breakfast.

La Mission...nice jungle atmosphere in this open-air restaurant. My wife had the Mexican combination plate. I had one of the best ribeye steaks I've ever had.

Coconuts...The mixed drinks are small, and the fajitas are okay. When ordering nachos in Cozumel, don't expect the fake nacho cheese like you get in the USA. It is usually just some shredded cheddar cheese melted on tortilla chips. If you are lucky, there will also be a smudge of refried beans on the chips. Coconuts has one of the best views on the island, but you may have to wait for a table that is close to the cliff.

Dorados De Villa...Best margaritas on the island. For under $10 you get two huge margaritas. Just one of them will knock some people out. Two will paralize. I've also had fajitas here and they were good.

We went to what used to be called Coco's, but it had changed names and was closed at the time we went, which according to the sign in the window was a time that they were supposed to be open. Sadly, we didn't get to experience the great breakfast we had there a couple years ago.


Things to do...

Most people who visit Cozumel, especially by cruise ship, don't get to see the unspoiled beautiful East coast. There is a nice new road that runs parallel to 75% of the old road, which makes getting to the eastside fast and smooth.

Palancar is a nice quiet beach that has hammocks and cool drinks.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Room service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Princess Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Hotel & Resort

Address: Carr. Costera Norte Km. 2.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Princess Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort Cozumel is an oceanfront resort located in front of the San Juan Reef on the North side of Cozumel Island, 5 minutes away from the Airport by car, just 15 minutes walking distance away from the typical Mexican and beautiful San Miguel Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Princess Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Princess Hotel Cozumel
Coral Princess Hotel And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Princess Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.