We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnival ship cruise stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza

The Plaza
San Miguel, Cozumel, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 146 things to do in Cozumel
Activities: People-watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: San Miguel's city center, lined with little shops, cafes and restaurants.
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Carnival ship cruise stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great place for a day. Police were everywhere for safety of 15,000 peeps sightseeing from 5 cruise ships. Lots of shops, with fantastic gift prices. Felt very safe on main beach frontal road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Plaza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

It was fun to go into town and walk around. It would be a lot nicer if there wasn't so much "hawking" going on. It's hard to soak up the sights with people trying to get you into their shops constantly. But they have to make a living. I would come back here anytime...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“music in the square!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

every sunday at about 8pm there is a grewt band that plays with many instruments the fine Caribbean sound! go to watch the people elaborate dancin or the kids playing . lately there atr fire dancers and these break dancers that are true... athletes! come for the cool nites and people watching or head to the locals selling banana wrapped chicken tamales! If the cuban band is playing you will be hard pressed not to tap or even dance like a local. its fun free and it's the best of cozumel ..topside!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Plaza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was a stop on our Carnival Cruise and it was rather a nice one. We got off on our own just spouse and I. We got to walk around the plaza on our own. It was very clean and vendors very friendly. We needed to buy our daughter some clothes. We noticed she was short play clothes. We walked over to the cab area and was able to get a cab for a small fee. We spoke Spanish and asked the driver where the locals nearby could by childrens clothing, non tourist clothes. He drove us to a small plaza away from the port, but we could still see tourists that made it that far. We walked around a bit asking for childrens clothing until we made it a bit into the plaza and found a store. We didnt want to walk in any further since by then we didnt see ANY tourists down that way. We made it back safely and stopped for a local beer and had some mariachis play for us. We made it back to the ship on another cab, picked up the kids and headed back down to the Plaza for pictures with the kids. It was a very relaxing day. Would love to return and explore some more.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Got burned Parking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

First of all, I really love the island of Cozumel. This is just a quick tip to those who may rent a car and try to park on the main drag near the ferry. We pulled up and went to pay for a parking permit at the kiosk. I was pleased to see that we could park for 50 minutes for 10 pesos, basically $1 (what a deal!). Unfortunately, we had no pesos. Just then, a moped rental guy waved me down and said I could leave my car right there, near his mopeds and he'd cover for us. I tipped him a $1. Shortly afterwards he tracks down my wife and says the police are giving us a ticket. Ended up costing us $16 (started out $32) and a waste of time at the police station. Ultimately, this was my fault. However, it felt like a setup. I hope the Tourist folks take note and make certain the moped guys are severely penalized for making such an offer in the future.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaza also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.