We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hings to know” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faro Celerain Eco Park

Faro Celerain Eco Park
Carr.Costera Sur Km 27, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
987 872 0914
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 144 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Faro Celarain (Punta Sur) is an Ecological Reserve,which encloses a variety of natural wonders. It covers an area of one thousand hectares and it is destined for the conservation and preservation of the 5 ecosystems that conform it. Faro Celarain is rich in coastal dunes, mangroves, reefs,lagoons systems, the Island's most beautiful beaches and reefs. Faro Celarain light house is a museum dedicated to the navigation
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good hings to know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great place to spend the day. Go all of the way dow to the beach, bring or rent snorkling gear and head towards the reef. It is somewhat of a long swin so I recommend you gear up especially if you are not a strong swimmer. The security guys will watch over your personal belongings and rest assure the will be okay. Bring a good sun block, your own snorkling gear (or rent), your own towels, and your underwater camera. After you had all of the fun, treat yourself to a mariscada or lobster tails (we ate 3 tails for $30.00; you'll enjoy it. There are clean bathrooms, hammocks, and sun chairs. You will enjoy it. Then head to the lighthouse and climb up to the top (150 steps). Entrace still is $12.00 per person.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    112
    39
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“LOVED, LOVED, LOVED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was the best $12 we ever spent! So much to see and do it is a must when visiting Cozumel! Snorkeling was great, beach is beautiful, saw several large iguanas and animals, people there are very friendly... We had a great time!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Get there early, there's plenty to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The admission price of 12 US buys you access to a lighthouse, museum, boat ride on a mangrove lagoon, access to a beach with hammocks and beach chairs.

The beach is peaceful, the same awesome mix of light blue water and non-burning white sand you can expect in the Mayan Riviera. The day we went, the sea was calm enough for a toddler to wade in, with only tiny waves.

There's a small reef you can swim to with not much effort. I cannot SCUBA dive, so I am limited to snorkeling and it was nice to find such a convenient spot. On a rough day, I can see swimming this reef as a challenge, but it was quite alright the day we went. Unfortunately I only had about an hour to swim out and snorkel, but it was worth the $10 US I paid for the rental gear. Triggerfish, french angels, parrotfishes and other small fishes galore.

The ride through the mangrove was sad - as of 2013 it has not recovered from hurricane Wilma, the crocodiles hide very well and all I saw for birds was a crow.

The lighthouse was interesting, as was the museum. A few semi-wild coatis roamed around. Walking around the cool-textured coral rocks with a child was a delight. Many, many treasures to be found (and leave behind, if you have a smidgeon of environmental consciousness).

On the way out, we stopped by the small Maya observatory. Interesting, particularly if you like late post-classic Mayan buildings (i.e. are a nerd like me) but not spectacular.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best shore snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Beautiful beach in pristine national park setting with the best shore snorkeling we found in Cozumel. Reef was amazing with numerous fish. Need to swim out to reef (takes ten to fifteen minutes to swim out ) but route is swallow and there are two floating docks to rest on. Beach has food, drinks, lockers and hammocks/beach chairs. Not to be missed!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved the crocs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We really like the park there are two option here to do tour or to swim if you want to do both its more. But the lighthouse and the crocks were awesome. There are ruins visible from the road you travel on. The lighthouse is a bit tight and not recommended for kids as it is a steep trek up and down. As with all spots you will find vendors take a peek in the museum it was well done and interesting. My only wish was they had a guide for that part.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faro Celerain Eco Park also viewed

 

Been to Faro Celerain Eco Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faro Celerain Eco Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.