We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Beach - Rent a Car and Visit on your own !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faro Celerain Eco Park

Faro Celerain Eco Park
Carr.Costera Sur Km 27, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
987 872 0914
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 87 attractions in Cozumel
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, National Parks
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Faro Celarain (Punta Sur) is an Ecological Reserve,which encloses a variety of natural wonders. It covers an area of one thousand hectares and it is destined for the conservation and preservation of the 5 ecosystems that conform it. Faro Celarain is rich in coastal dunes, mangroves, reefs,lagoons systems, the Island's most beautiful beaches and reefs. Faro Celarain light house is a museum dedicated to the navigation
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach - Rent a Car and Visit on your own !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This Park is totally under-rated! The beach is amazing here! Beautiful waters, goes on forever and not busy at all. A must-see if you are going to Cozumel.

My suggestion would be to not book with a tour company that offers the buggy or side by sides to the beach in this park. You can get here quicker and probably even cheaper by car. Personally I find the buggy tours to be boring because everyone has to drive in a line and wait for the group. Just rent a car for the day! People complain on tripadvisor about a bumpy dirt road but it is not bad all.

There is an entrance fee to the park and then drive all the way to the end to what they called the snorkel area/beach. We packed a cooler with snacks and drinks and when walking from the parking lot to the beach someone tried to stop us but we explained we were going to walk way down the beach. They just don’t want people bringing their own stuff when they are trying to sell food and drinks to the people that come to Punta Sur with a tour.

We walked a good 15 minutes away from the beach hut/area where the tours go and it was perfect. Nobody around, we had a huge section of the beach to ourselves.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    95
    37
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“You have to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The most beautiful spot on the island, and there is history.
Twenty years ago it wasn't a National Park, but there have been huge improvements to the road, and the money you pay to go helps to protect the turtle nesting sites.
They do NOT offer snorkel lessons as there is nowhere to snorkel along this stretch of beach - in fact most places along there, swimming is not recommended. You can see the crocodiles in Columbia Lagoon, which is also a Bird Sanctuary. There is a small Mayan Ruin which served as a lighthouse for the Mayans, and also the Faro Celarain (Celarain Lighthouse).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lighthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Punta Sur has a pretty beach. The entrance fee of $12 only gains admission to the park. We were able to view two crocs and then we got back in the taxi to get to the beach. They offer an all you can eat & drink (soda/water only) for an additional $11 there. Beach volleyball, chairs and shaded areas, restrooms availabe. We saw a number of snorkel tours come and go. The beach closes early so we went there first and then had our driver return and take us back up to the lighthouse. (Yes, you will need to drive to get from area to area in Punta Sur.)The views from the lighthouse were pretty... be prepared to go up 133 very step, narrow steps to view the area from the top of the lighthouse. If you go for the lighthouse orare fortunate to travel during season to see the turtles I would recommend... but not high on my recommendations list due to travel time/cost and entrance cost/time available.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Punta Sur is like an oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Long swim, but some of the best snorkeling everytime we go to Cozumel. Get all the way out to the reef and you will be rewarded with stingrays, turtles and all kinds of sea life.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cozumel Punta Sur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went here as part of a tour. The place is beautiful. the tour had food and snorkeling included. all things in Cozumel close by 4:30 PM. If you are goinghere on your own (by scooter or by rental car), take beac towels and you can have a nice time. there is a crocodile farm here (Has one crocodile which you can see if you are lucky).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faro Celerain Eco Park also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Faro Celerain Eco Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faro Celerain Eco Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Faro Celerain Eco Park to your Saves list