We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Gervasio: pretty cool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Gervasio Mayan Site

San Gervasio Mayan Site
Cozumel 77600 , Mexico
0914 872 0093
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 146 things to do in Cozumel
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although not as popular as Chichén Itzá, these ancient Mayan ruins are noteworthy in their own right, as this is the site where Mayan women paid tribute to the goddess of love and fertility.
Eugene, OR
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“San Gervasio: pretty cool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

You know, it's pretty cool.

Really wasn't expecting much from a ruin on Cozumel.

This was not only better than my expectations, it was cool in its own right. A few compounds which were interesting and meandering paths to other, smaller sites.

I'd definitely recommend you stop by San Gervasio if you've rented a Jeep like we did.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    222
    96
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful on a sunny day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent a great day wandering around the ruins. There are guides for hire (around $20), but we went on our own. There are plenty of signs to explain the usage of the different buildings and areas and it's allowed to get really up close and personal. We saw a lot of iguanas and a coati scurrying by on the trail. Parts were very muddy so I would definitely wear closed toes shoes, but there was a foot washing station on the way out in case you forget. The ruins were in different stages of disrepair, and the less safe ones were roped off, but there were plenty to climb and explore. We took a taxi from our hotel that was $70 round trip and our driver waited for us. The admission was $5 at one desk and the next one was $4.50. I guess the money goes to different places. It took a couple of hours to go through the place and there are stores and a bar near the parking lot. Oh, and the bathrooms were clean, always a plus! It's well worth the trip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting side trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We were on a cruise and took a day trip excursion to the ruins. We enjoyed the day and learned quite a lot about the history. Veronica was our guide. She was very knowledgeable and a good guide. Typical tourist shopping is available on site. We had the added bonus of seeing some sunning iguanas on the ruins too.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Mayan ruins on the island...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked this guided tour as part of an excursion we purchased via RCCL cruise line.
The grounds are well kept with decent walkways/paths.
Lots of Iguanas and native birds roaming around as well.
The tour was interesting and the guide was very knowledgeable and kept us entertained during our 1 hour visit.

As for the souvenir shops on property,the prices are more here than what you can get the item for in town.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Thank you Ivan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

As our all-day excursion to Tolum for the Mayan ruins was canceled due to lack of interest, we went instead to the more local site on Cozumel. Our guide, Ivan, was phenomenal, with an amazing insite and knowledge of the ancient Maya. He asked us a few questions at the start of the tour to gauge our interest and depth of curiosity, saying our tour would be 30-45 minutes depending on us. It was an hour. We learned a lot. Thanks Ivan!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Gervasio Mayan Site also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to San Gervasio Mayan Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Gervasio Mayan Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.