We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and quick way to see Mayan ruins” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Gervasio Mayan Site

San Gervasio Mayan Site
Cozumel 77600 , Mexico
0914 872 0093
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 146 things to do in Cozumel
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although not as popular as Chichén Itzá, these ancient Mayan ruins are noteworthy in their own right, as this is the site where Mayan women paid tribute to the goddess of love and fertility.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun and quick way to see Mayan ruins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you rent a car it is a very easy drive from San Miguel de Cozumel to see this archeological site. Guides are available but as I like to focus on photography I prefer just to walk around by myself...

The site is fairly small, 45 minutes to 2 hours is plenty of time to spend there. Site labels are in Spanish, Maya and English. And there are iguanas everywhere. You have to be careful not to step on them. They usually sun on rocks and blend perfectly in their surroundings only to scuttle away when you ge too close. All in all, definitely worth to visit once, or more, but only if you are into study of the pre-Columbian Maya civilization;)

PS: If sunny, don't forget to bring sun screen and a hat. It can get really hot out there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    222
    96
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
“Thought provoking, but rather small and out of the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Wasn't expecting much, having read other reviews. Therefore, was not disappointed. Glad we went, but not somewhere to go back to next time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“San Gervasio.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is a nice drive to San Gervasio if you rent a car. Nothing to be scared of in Mexico driving around no matter where you go. In the back streets around San Miguel not many can speak English but all are friendly.
The ruins at this site are interesting but it is best to hire a guide.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting; glad we went.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We did a self guided tour through the ruins. It was hot, there were many iguanas and lizards lounging on rocks all over. They blend in with the background and can be hard to see, so watch where you step. Lots of walking on uneven paths, would be very easy to turn your ankle. We enjoyed our visit and would recommend this to people like us, who had never seen Mayan ruins before.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were travelling on a cruise with two small children (5 and 3) and were not comforatble going to Tulum or Chichen Itza with them, so there were ruins on the island, we did those. Very busy with several tour groups at the same time. We did enjoy our tour guide (Mr. Allen) who was very informative and claimed to have been born on the island and been of mayan heritage. We had a nice guided tour at the ruins and then approximately half an hour to explore on our own. Included with our tour of the ruins was a stop at a tequila store and senic beach area, so for the cost ( around $120 for the four of us) it was well worth it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Gervasio Mayan Site also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to San Gervasio Mayan Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Gervasio Mayan Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.