We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved seeing the many iguanas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Gervasio Mayan Site

San Gervasio Mayan Site
Cozumel 77600 , Mexico
0914 872 0093
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 144 things to do in Cozumel
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although not as popular as Chichén Itzá, these ancient Mayan ruins are noteworthy in their own right, as this is the site where Mayan women paid tribute to the goddess of love and fertility.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Loved seeing the many iguanas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We weren't sure if we wanted to see these ruins but decided to go last minute. We had a private driver take us to this place. It's an experience - it all depends on what you like. If you can use your imagination and picture what life was like here long ago, then you will like this place. Otherwise, all you will see are piles of rock. The place had people but it was not overly crowded. It cost $8 - $4 when you first enter and then another $4 to enter the ruin area. We did not take a tour as we did not have a lot of time. We were there only for the day with a cruise so we wanted to see other things with our driver. I really enjoyed taking pictures of the iguanas though. There were tons of them. When you first enter, there are shops that you can buy souvenirs. This is the time to barter. We got a sweater for half of what they first asked for. Just start walking away after they give their first price and they will start bringing the price down so that you will buy from them. Overall, an experience... would not do it again but glad we did it once in life.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    222
    96
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Taxi to San Gervasio Ruins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our cruise ship docked at Cozumel. While the cruise line offers various tours, since there were 4 of us, we decided to hire a cab, as this would be a lot cheaper. As soon as we got off the ship, there were several vendors selling tours of the island for much less that the cruise line. We bought a tour of the island, including a visit to the ruins. We realized later, that if we had just walked a little further, we could have bought the same tour directly from the taxi driver for even less.

The ruins are not grand, but we had a Mayan guide who was very knowledgeable and made the visit to San Gervasio interesting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hot, humid, GREAT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We picked going here to learn some history and culture. We did! Our guide, Moy was really interesting. Tip: bring bug spray! They have random guys with cans who will spray you down for a few dollars, but it seems more economical to bring your own. I don't think this would be a very good place for someone with mobility issues. For me and my family, it was great. We had no idea how short Mayans were!
There is a gift "shop" that has some really neat items, and they will dicker. They also take credit cards, so that is handy if you are like me and don't like to carry much cash.
I don't think I would do this again-it was great for once, but that is enough. I'm glad I did it though!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice to stop and see legible on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

There is not much here to see but still glad we took the time to do it while we were here. The drive there takes you through some of the quaint little local towns and villages and some of the blest iguana sightings on the island!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hills
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's not Chichen Itza, but certainly worth a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A lot has changed since my first visit to Cozumel nearly 40 years ago, and for me, that was worth a visit to San Gervasio. While it's certainly not Chichen Itza, it's probably worth a look-see. Our guide Jesus, it's pronounced differently than the diety, was both knowledgeable and entertaining, and actually Mayan.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Gervasio Mayan Site also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to San Gervasio Mayan Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Gervasio Mayan Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.