We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cozumel and Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days and have no complaints really. The staff was very friendly and always available. The only bad thing was the HARD beds, but in reading other reviews, we knew we could ask for foam pads. We had 3 on one bed and 2 on the other. Bad backs beware. The pool was nice and there was nightly entertainment and day time events for the kids. Not a lot of kids there for our kids to play with. I think the majority of people do AI and we didn't do that. We did do the breakfast buffet one morning and it was around 350 pesos, good selection and good food we thought. Not really a problem getting a chair by the pool. The snorkeling across the street was great. Can't complain about the location at all. We walked into town every day and it was about a 15-20 minute walk. 2 grocery stores really close by as well, which was nice for liquor and snacks. I recommend bringing pesos by the way, better bang for the buck for sure. We would definitely go back. If you needed something, staff would bring it up to your room. You always saw people cleaning . We loved it!

Room Tip: We had a pool view on the 3rd floor, ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    486
    249
    106
    71
See reviews for
218
376
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at Hotel Coz. Employees were friendly and we were NOT put through a time share sale when we arrived. The food was good. The shore diving and snorkeling were a great feature. Lots of sea life to see right next to the resort. The night shore dive even revealed octopus. Boat diving is available right from the pier attached to the hotel. Dive Paradise is on site and they are an excellent outfit for boat diving. Thanks to the maids who kept the room clean and neat throughout the week. The room was nice and the air worked well the whole time. The hotel does not have an actual beach (just a waterfront) but does have a nice large pool and activities are offered throughout the day and into the evening. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have stayed at Hotel Cozumel & Resort three times and our fourth will be this July. Excellent service, good food, huge pool, & Dive Paradise is right there on the property to satisfy all the diver's needs. For a 7 day stay, all meals, drinks, etc. throw in a couple dives per day all for around $900.00 plus airfare. We usually rent a Scooter for the week also (around $70 for the whole week). We love it!

Room Tip: Stay on the second or third floor, ocean side to watch the cruise ships come in every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My bf and I stayed here in Feb 2014. The place was fantastic in regards to what you are paying for. We were immediately greeted with two complimentary drinks when we checked in. The hotel has a nice open flow to the whole thing and the lobby is quite pretty. The rooms were a nice size. the bed was OK and the bathrooms are smaller but I'm assuming your not booking this place based on the room amenities. The pool is awesome! Its huge and well kept. The hot tub was also great. The area was very large and had an outside bar so late at night it was nice to sit out there under an umbrella and grab a drink. There is also a bar in the lobby that was pretty busy at times at night. I think you could pretty much go in the pool whenever so that was nice. There was a small workout place I never used. I would highly reccomend their breakfast. We didnt purchase it with our stay but ended up eating there every morning. Good selection and everything was really good. The resort is close to town but it is still a 5-10min walk into the main part. We were completely fine with this. It was a nice walk and we never felt unsafe. There is an underground tunnel that attaches this resort to their oceanside which I thought was so cool! Cozumel has more of a rocky coast which is perfect for scuba diving and snorkeling. The beautiful sand beaches are on the other side of the island which you can get to by car or moped. They imported sand and have a nice, cute sand area and a bar and restaurant so we still felt like it was a nice beach area. There was free snorkeling and diving lessons. Everyone was so friendly! I highly recommend this spot. Its a great gem and it wont break your wallet. We really have no complaints.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool area are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a great trip to Hotel Cozumel & Resort. Hotel was clean, bed was fine. I had requested a mattress pad and no adjoining rooms, based on previous reviews. I do recommend paying extra for ocean view, but not for the view! I have problems walking, and the ocean view was by the elevator. This put us near everything! Pool grill was fantastic! Loved the chicken quesadillas! Drinks were great and the staff was excellent! Only reason I did not give it a five star, was due to the buffet in the restaurant was okay, but not great. However, the pasta bar was great! So all in all, it was a very relaxing trip. Loved snorkeling and easy ocean access too! I am already planning my return trip!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a three star resort. For a three star resort it was perfect. Perfect snorkeling/diving area across the street at the beech. Beautiful HUGE Pool. Free WIFI. Good food and GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE. I would go again in a heart beat, it had everything that my husband and I needed. Again Customer service is hugely important to my family and this place had it hands down.

Room Tip: Please bring tip money for the waitstaff and service providers they are worth tipping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

A group of 23 of us stayed here. Some dove. Some seen the sights. Nothing fancy but clean safe and fun !! Def would stay again. Staff very friendly and helpful. I would def venture out for a different meal once in awhile. The food on the grill over in the lunch area wAs the best Norberto and Cynthia were fun and very friendly !!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst the 4 Star Hotels on the island, Hotel Cozumel & Resort has many good things to be proud of. Things that have made of this friendly resort the best option for families and divers. Wondering why? It is simple: the best location and the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cozumel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.