We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for our scuba diving requirements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cozumel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good for our scuba diving requirements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We are enthusiastic scuba divers. Thru the Underground tunnel or just crossing the street you easily can reach the small Pier where you can be picket up and dropped off by a diveboat (our dive Operator was Aquamarinus in cooperation with DeepExposure - highly recommended) [from what we observed we would not recommend the dive Operation which is right at the shore next to the Hotel where the Pier is]
The Hotel is acceptable nice, the pool is nice, the Food is acceptable - do not expect much, just pick from the buffet what you experience to be best - do not be picky.
It is nice to strall along the street to the Center of the town, it is a 25 minutes easy stroll / walk or take a taxi-cab for US $ 5.
We came with low expectations and it was perfect for our 5 days of scuba diving.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool (not 1st floor) are really good For scuba diving choose Aquamarinus / Deep Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    407
    198
    86
    58
See reviews for
167
294
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel Cozumel and Resort is a great choice when staying in Cozumel. The grounds are well kept and it’s a short 10 minute walk to the main city centre. Located 15 minutes or so from the airport the Hotel Cozumel and Resort provides two options all inclusive and non-inclusive. My advice would be to take the all-inclusive( not sure what the price difference is). The food is great at whatever time you decide to go. There is a main dining area for breakfast and lunch and two additional spots for lunch, one by the pool and the other by the ocean (which is the better option). On special occasion dinner would be served in the theatre. For all you snorkel lovers there is a mini cove where u can hone your skills before jumping into the big blue abyss. With your stay you even get a free scuba lesson. All in all this hotel had it all free Wi-Fi, great clean rooms, great service and all for a very reasonable price, and don’t worry it is safe to walk around and drink the water!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Clean well maintained property. Staff was constantly working at their various jobs. Room clean. Got extra pillows no problem. Beds very hard but they did have a piece of foam rubber on them to help with the hardness. Pool was nice, but cool temperature. Hot tub was just luke warm. Food was quite good considering it was buffet all the time. Good variety. Frequently served roast beef, pork, turkey and chicken. Not much seafood. Easy to try some Mexican dishes.Glad we purchased the all inclusive. Lots of lounge chairs around the pool and many awnings, gazebos available for shade. Waiters shagged drinks for guests when you were lounging around the pool. Easy walk to downtown, shopping and movie theater. Not much of a beach. Very good value for the price. Quiet. Entertainment nightly

Room Tip: Ground floor was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Been going here since 1997. Hotel is diver-friendly and close enough to down town to walk. Had an adjoining room with a door and a coughing smoker who watched TV until 2 AM the first night. Staff moved us immediately upon request the next morning. Breakfasts and lunches are great. Dinner is buffet food and can get a bit boring. The wait staff will go out of their way to satisfy your requests. All-inclusive price is hard to beat. The hotel spans both sides of the main road and offers lots of places to get away, sit on the beach, watch the ocean, or enjoy the large pool, or read a book in a quiet place. On-site Dive Paradise has weights and tanks for rent and we always get in a shore dive or two there and see interesting things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

it is diver friendly, very clean, nice pool and nice ocean area to enter water to dive or swim or snorkel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is OK. Not anything spectacular, typical buffet food with a Mexican fare. The price is reasonable, and the location is first rate. An easy walk into town and most dive shops will pick you up on the pier out front. The place is kept clean and they have a big swimming pool on the island. That said, it is a bit old and you won't have the finest of rooms or niceties. European plan is best with good breakfast buffet and a nice evening walk into town for good food and fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have visited Cozumel yearly or more for around 17 years. Most of those visits we stayed at Hotel Cozumel. We love it there because it is diver friendly, very clean, nice pool and nice ocean area to enter water to dive or swim or snorkel. The staff has remained the same for the most part over that entire time, and we like that. The all inclusive deal is good and the food is OK. Not anything spectacular, that is why they don't get the top rating. Breakfast and lunches are fun served poolside or oceanside. Dinners are the least favorite. Usually blah and nothing great, but filling and substantial.

Room Tip: choose a room that is NOT adjoining another room unless you know the people in the other room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My daughter and I love to scuba dive, we've been going to Cozumel at least once a year for the past 10 years. We've always stayed at Hotel Cozumel and will continue to do so. The price is VERY reasonable, and the location is first rate. An easy walk into town, and its right across the street from the dive shop (Dive Paradise). We really like the staff, they're always very friendly and completely accomodating. The place is kept very clean and they have the best, and biggest, swimming pool on the island. That said, it is a bit old and you won't have the finest of rooms or niceties. We always get the all-inclusive package - the food, while not outstanding, is good, and there's always plenty of it. I've seen the negative reviews on the food, and "to each his own" is about all we can say. We're not picky eaters and have never really had a bad meal there. If you're really concerned about high cuisine then I'd still stay there, I think they have a European plan for breakfast only, and just go into town every night for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst the 4 Star Hotels on the island, Hotel Cozumel & Resort has many good things to be proud of. Things that have made of this friendly resort the best option for families and divers. Wondering why? It is simple: the best location and the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cozumel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.