We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last time for the Cottage...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cozumel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Last time for the Cottage...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It is sad but this was our last time to Hotel Cozumel. I have lost count now how many times we have been (perhaps 11 for me). There are no drastic changes - but on our two week trip there last February a couple of things occurred that never had in the past.
My nightgown (cotton and from my honeymoon 15 years ago) and a very nice Tilley hat went missing from the room. No real attempt was made to find these sentimental items...front desk person was almost indifferent when asked if they could have been mixed with the sheets and were in the laundry somehow.
We were charged $70.00 U.S. for loosing the towel cards the night before we left. Clearly on the video tape it shows us returning the towels to front desk (same tall Spanish man - with an attitude of superiority) but it was denied when we said we probably left the cards on the front desk itself.
Our whole years and years of love affair with this little hotel, the beautiful waters to snorkel in and the almost 100% of caring and respect from the staff who are mostly Mayan and so warm - ruined by this one man who is doing nothing to promote repeat visits...and we were so loyal.
It is a shame. Tune in next winter for our new snorkel destination...we can only hope.

Room Tip: they are all about the same...don't pick those facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    408
    199
    87
    58
See reviews for
171
296
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After staying at Plaza Las Glorios/Cozumel Palace the last 7 times I came here, I decided to save money and avoid the aggressive condo sales bit at the Palace. This place is about 1/3 the cost. It is not a luxury resort and doesn't claim to be. It is clean, quiet, and the staff are very, very nice. The food is edible, but that is about it. I would stay here again. It is annoying seeing the negative reviews-I mean, really, people, what do you expect if you want to pay a discount price? Many people I met here had stayed here many times and always came back. Nice short walk to town, the beach and dive shop are close by.

Room Tip: I think the upstairs rooms might be a bit better. I wouldn't have paid extra for a suite. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After reading many fantastic views about the quality of dive spots around Cozumel island, me and my girlfriend of three years decided to spend our anniversary and first diving holiday there. We stayed at the hotel for a week between the 6th and 13th of June, our initial thoughts upon arrival were that the hotel and surrounding areas are really as stunning as the photos online showed. Cozumel itself is a stunning little island, it is completely surrounded by a beautiful coral reef and crystal clear water. This combined with the beautiful water features of dolphins both in the hotel's lobby and in its grounds really set the scene and got us in the mood for diving. The hotel's restaurant (Los Arcos) provided a delicious buffet which went down a treat after a day spent diving, I would highly recommend going all-inclusive as the food there was very good for the price! The one issue we found was that there may not have been quite the variety we would have wished for although this is being very picky, it was still relatively exceptional in our eyes! After getting slightly sunburnt on the second day we decided to spend a few hours under the sun loungers at the spectacular looking swimming pool. Here we had drinks and snacks supplied from the poolside bar by waiters who were very friendly, professional and spoke perfect English - at all times we felt welcome there! The room itself was spacious and clean, unfortunately we weren't lucky enough to get a sea view but apart from that it were fit for the purpose and we didn't intend on spending too long there anyway! Our room was fitted with a king size bed, a large LCD TV with English channels, a balcony, plenty of storage space and access to the hotel Wi-Fi. The one key feature of the hotel I found particularly handy was the ease of access to the relatively inexpensive diving shop over the road called Dive Paradise. We managed to purchase a few things very cheaply from there shortly after arrival which proved invaluable over the duration of our stay. The diving itself was AMAZING, the two of us had never experienced anything like it before, we managed to spot numerous species of shark, turtle and also a huge eagle ray as well as many other animals! We were pretty overwhelmed to begin with but after a short while we were off exploring the stunning reef and all the fabulous wildlife around it, I would highly recommend this experience to any amateurs or newbies out there - fantastic! One flaw we found whilst we were there was that the hotel's dive centre wasn't staffed for half an hour or so on one of the days, this was simply a minor fault and the staff apologised to us once they returned. On our final day we were both gutted that we had to leave such a gorgeous place, we have been talking about going back already and hopefully it wont be too long of a wait until then. I highly recommend the Hotel Cozumel to anybody who would like to go on a diving holiday, it has a few minor flaws but for its price it really is outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Did not know what to expect since this was my first time at an all inclusive but was very happy i did. The hotel and rooms were nice and my wife liked activities. The food was buffet style but there was something good at each meal. The staff was very helpful with any request we had. Would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We did the all inclusive package and it was worth it. When we returned from the two tank dive the afternoon buffet was up and running as well as drinks without having to return to the hotel or the room (the buffet is next to the beach and Dive Paradise). The hotel pool is wonderful, warm water, different levels so you can swim or just relax. The food is good; you can have omelets to order in the morning and a super pasta made to order in the evenings. There is not much in the way of evening entertainment but if you are diving you will be in bed early anyway so that is not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our first all-inclusive trip.....made things so easy!

Most rooms overlook the pool area - there are some that are out front that face the street, but you also face the ocean. Our room faced the pool. Pretty quiet. Free water bottle in the room every day. Water coolers in the hallway for fresh water and ice machines. There are plenty of places on the balcony to help dry wet clothing.

All meals are buffet style. Their pico de gallo is nice and spicy and YUMMY! Snack foods by pool area 11am-6pm. Great variety of foods with the exception of breakfast - that seemed to be the same wide selection every day. Breakfast is served inside at the restaurant. There is a Mexican style breakfast on one side and an American style on the other. (The omelet cook with the American food line made the best omelets!!!). Lunch and dinner are at the Beach Club - sometimes with Live music at dinner. Dinner is served until 10:30pm to accommodate anyone taking a night dive. Special themed dinners by poolside with Live music. Read the bulletin board by the entrance to breakfast to see where dinner will be served. Live entertainment some nights starting at 8pm by the poolside stage

Very dive friendly!!!! Bins for washing gear, poles to hang gear, outside showers and lockers for storing gear overnight. It was nice not to have to bring all the gear up to the room every day. Dive boats start going out about 8:15am. There is shore diving with plenty to see. There are ladders, steps and ramps at different points of entry.

Pool has plenty of lounge chairs in the sun and the shade. Staff will walk around to see if you need anything to eat or drink. There are also tables in the shade to sit down in groups.

Grocery store is walking distance - right across the street from Cozumel Palace. They will take American dollars, but change will be in pesos.

TRAVEL:
$6 taxi ride for the whole car/van to/from the ferry (to Playa Del Carmen on the main island). You can also take this ride to get to shopping areas in town. We walked into town one day.....just too hot, so we took a taxi back.
$12 taxi ride for the whole car/van to/from the airport
$13 one way per person for the ferry to Play Del Carmen. Only buy a 1-way ticket, there is no discount for a round trip. There are 2 competing ferry companies, so if you buy a 1-way, when you are ready to come back, you don't have to wait around for a specific ferry, you can just buy a ticket for the next one leaving.

The building needs some upgrades, but it was very nice. VERY friendly staff!!!! So much fun to be with for the week! I can see us going back!!

Room Tip: The higher numbered rooms get direct sun all day into the balcony - I always saw their curtains clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okc
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had another great stay at hotel cozumel.The staff is excellent and work very hard. The bartenders always have a coca lite waiting for me when i get off the dive boat. Food is good for the price and always someone there to cook you up some fresh fajitas and burgers. Be back in sept.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst the 4 Star Hotels on the island, Hotel Cozumel & Resort has many good things to be proud of. Things that have made of this friendly resort the best option for families and divers. Wondering why? It is simple: the best location and the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cozumel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.