We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great cozumel stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cozumel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
Derby, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a great cozumel stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

i stayed at the hotel cozumel november 4-8, 2012. I had never stayed in cozumel, but had been here to the island on a cruise 10 years ago. For the price, the hotel stay was well worth it. for 5 more dollars a day I did the all inclusive plan. I dove for 3 days, using another dive operator. I ate breakfast every morning prior to diving..the food was good. I love fish, and there was grouper on the evening buffet every night. there was a big variety of food each day. i had to ask for guacamole at the poolside buffet; and they gladly brought me some :) I chose to eat out at a couple of local cafes for supper, and the hotel is within walking distance of the square. if i return to cozumel i would stay here again. the hotel was extraordinarily clean; and all of the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    397
    195
    83
    57
See reviews for
163
290
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This was my 3rd visit to Hotel Cozumel & Resort. The rooms were clean and the staff was excellent. The food and drinks were good as well. Javier was so pleasant and by day 2 knew my name and welcomed us every meal. It's a great hotel if you're diving. The pool was big and clean, however, we never used it...the only reason I am not giving an excellent is...the beds and pillows were very hard and the nightly entertainment needs some work. We will be back for sure!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the employees are very friendly. The service is definitely top notch. If you are looking for constant diving this hotel is for you. If you are looking for a beach front or night entertainment then it is not. Make sure to keep all your diving equipment inside your locker. I left my dive mask outside overnight and it was gone in the morning. The food and drinks were pretty good and the rooms were clean. The beds could be softer but they were clean & well made. Overall it was a good place to stay...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my 2nd time to Hotel Cozumel, the previous time was with my husband. This all girls dive trip was great. We felt safe and spoiled at Hotel Cozumel. All the staff at Hotel Cozumel was extremely friendly. We always had Marisol or Carlos bringing us drinks. The food was ok, no one ever wanted for anything. There are plenty of options. Something to remember - they have hamburgers at the beach club - you just need to ask for one to be made - they are made to order!

This hotel is an easy walk into town. Someone from our group walked into town every day. It's a great place to stay if you know you will want to do some shopping. The hotels not in town can be expensive for cab rides if you want to experience town life more than once.

Recommendation - do your shopping in town on non-cruise ship days. It's great site seeing on cruise ship days, but go back another day and you will get more deals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This will be the fouth time we have stayed at this resort. We heard new management had taken over and you can really tell. They used to have little shows at night, now they don't, they used to play games like name that tune, now they dont. It' the little things that added up that made us want to try something new next year. Also the food was always just average, but I think it has gotten a little worse as well. It's still a good value for the price, and the staff are wonderful, but I think we will try another hotel next time.

Room Tip: We askeed for a room on the first floor with a king bed and didn't get it when we booked about 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our fifth time staying at Hotel Cozumel. It was great as always! We have stayed at fancier places on the island, like Iberostar and Wynham, but as another reviewer said the price/value is great here.

I consider the facilities to be well maintained and nice, though not overly extravagant. They are renovating quite a few of the rooms (which i consider a good thing), and though they try not to be too obvious, I did notice general upkeep going on most days I was there.

The meals are not anything to write home about, but range from acceptable to quite good. Breakfast is always good. Berta makes great eggs and omelettes to order. There is always a selection of fresh fruit, breads, cereals, and hot items. We did not, however, see bacon once during our week stay. We generally had fajitas, tacos, or pizza from the snack bar for lunch. Although we went downtown most evenings for our dinner, the one day we ate there, it was very good. Oh, and no stomach troubles for either of us all week.

The bar scene isn't very happening at this place, but Daniel and Francisco will do a fine job of keeping you company at the lobby bar before and after dinner. What kind of night life do you expect at a dive resort? Drinks are good, but top most call drinks will cost you extra even if you are on the all inclusive plan. (Captain Morgan, Jim Beam, Jack Daniels, Crown Royal, etc.)

The rooms show some signs of wear, but are nice, clean and simple. There are racks on the balcony for drying your dive gear, or any clothing that you might hand wash or just get wet. We don't spend much time in our rooms, so I can't tell you about the cable tv. (which I consider a good thing) They do have free wifi, and it works best near the pool. We had a ocean view room, and did not have a strong enough signal there. I have stayed in pool view rooms before and was able to email from there.

They have a tunnel that goes across the street to the dice shop (Dive Paradise), and to their small man made beach. The snorkeling and shore diving right off the resort is surprisingly good. This time, I saw trumpetfish, lionfish, arrow crabs, eels, some small rays, some squid, a variety of reef fish, and even an octopus! The folks at Dive Paradise are very friendly and accommodating.

The waitstaff at Hotel Cozumel will be calling you by name by the end of the week, and will do whatever it takes to make your stay a great one. Thanks Guys and Girls!

The proximity to town is a big selling point to us. A 10-15 minute walk gets you there. The taxi costs $6 each way.

We have booked another trip there in march.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

a nice hotel just on the outskirts of town. walking from the hotel to downtown is about a mile.

rooms are nice, and have everything you need. the food at the resort is ok, not great by any stretch. the value for dollar is top at this resort which is all inclusive.

if you scuba dive, the dock is right across the street.

can't beat this !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Hotel Cozumel & Resort
Cozumel Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst the 4 Star Hotels on the island, Hotel Cozumel & Resort has many good things to be proud of. Things that have made of this friendly resort the best option for families and divers. Wondering why? It is simple: the best location and the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cozumel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.