We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cozumel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Been diving in Cozumel for about 12 years now. Stayed in Villas, Downtown Hotels, All Inclusivies, and boutiques. Hotel Cozumel is the perfect blend for me. Clean, Spacious, Nice Architecture, not to mention a huge pool. Staff is friendly, offering you everything you could need or want without being pushy. Will definetly be back for diving, the underground tunnel to the pier every morning is great. Of course the buffett style food is not for everyone, but we found that the hotel is the perfect distance to walk home to after a filling meal at one of Cozumels many great restaurants!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    397
    194
    82
    57
See reviews for
161
289
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bixby, OK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

After several stays at El Cozumeleno on Cozumel, we tried another resort. We were traveling with friends, many of which were divers. This was their favorite place, so we gave it a chance. We encountered a small problem at check in but it was rectified quickly. Our room, though small, was great. We had a great view of the large pool. The staff was great and the facilities were kept very clean. We left a cursory tip for the maid and our room was kept immaculate. The food was on the whole about average for AI. The breakfast was the best, serving omelets or eggs any way you wanted. Drinks were plentiful with several US liquors and some good wines. Probably won't try this one again.

Room Tip: Not sure on this one. I sent a request through the booking agent, but it did not transferred comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is our 10th time at this hotel, but the first time that we bring family. My husband and I are divers and just enjoy the location and the flexibility that this hotel provides to all its guests. This is the first time that other family members have joined us, and we were not sure what to expect. Ages ranged from 27 to 81 years old-- and our niece was 6 months pregnant!! Everyone had a TERRIFIC time!!
Breakfast was a hit! We just love those omelets. Even those who didn't usually eat breakfast got up to join the group. Lunch was usually eaten at the pool snack bar. Love those taquitos (fish, beef, and chicken) All were delish!! We also loved the fresh pico de gallo salsa, the guacamole, and the nachos topped with jalapenos! A few of us also would go over to the beach restaurant and check out the soup of the day! All the cream soups were excellent! Dinner was pretty good too. Even the picky eaters of the group found something they liked from the buffet line. Don't forget to get the ice cream. Yummy! As for drinks, most of us are beer drinkers and we really enjoyed XX draft beer. When we were at the pool, waiters never let our glass go dry! Even though some of us were hydrating with water, the friendly waiters would pass by and fill up! Thank you guys:) We stopped a few times at the bar too. Tried other drinks like pina coladas or just scotch on the rocks. Again everything was great! The bartenders were always ready to serve:)
We also enjoyed the entertainment. The staff puts in a lot of hard work and time into their shows. They do a fantastic job! They coordinate different activities during the day like snorkeling lessons, dance (salsa) classes, water aerobics; very few people take advantage of these. One of our family members took a snorkeling lesson and had a private session. She never had done this, but loved the experience! We were happy to see that, being that we love the Cozumel waters! Our nighttime entertainment included Trivia night, Mexican night, Caribbean night and karaoke night. Trivia night was a blast! We had 3 winners from our party! Mexican night we had a runner up and on Caribbean night we had our pregnant niece and her husband win the dance contest! I'm sorry more people don't participate since you can really have a fun time. Karaoke night was very entertaining. There was a woman from New York and she had a beautiful voice. Of course our singers included my nephew and his wife and they did an awesome job of "La Vida Loca":) We feel the entertainment staff doesn’t always get the appreciation they deserve.
As for the rooms, we all found them to be comfortable and very clean. Yes, the beds are firm, but my sleep was great. The AC was nice and cold in everybody’s room. We did have a problem in our room where the AC froze, but they moved us into another room.
Hotel Cozumel Resort does not necessarily have the most elegant or largest accommodations. However, for those of us that have stayed here over the years, it offers a very appealing place to stay. It is a friendly and cozy environment with great staff which made our stay very memorable and enjoyable! Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Cozumel & Resort!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Date of trip - Aug 25 - Sept 1 2012
Hotel Cozumel and Resort is an average resort. I stayed at this resort 5 years ago and not much has changed. The rooms are clean but could stand to be updated. The food is poor at best. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the resort itself needs to be overhauled. \
This resort uses Dive Paradise as their dive operator. I will never use this company again. Please refer to Trip Advisor Dive Paradise for my review.

Find somewhere else to stay. This resort is not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We loved the location of this hotel. We walked downtown and enjoyed the shops, about 1 mile to town. Dive Paradise was very convenient (across the street) and were wonderful to dive with. The resort was clean and the staff are very friendly. The food is good but has a limited variety. If you are wanting a high class resort and are use to someone being at your fingertips you should look elsewhere. Only down side was that the beds and pillows were very uncomfortable. Bring your own pillow with you. Even with the "all inclusive package" you are required to pay "extra" for the top shelf alcohol (only available at one bar. Great resort for the value and will likely return in the future for another dive vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After spending 5 days all inclusive on a dive package, I am happy to say that this hotel lived up to all expectations. The room was clean, spacious with the most amazing air conditioning and en-suite. The food was basic but exceptionally well cooked, the staff went all out to make sure there was something for everyone. You're greeted at the entrance to the restaurant and shown to your table, with a drink of your choice immediately following. The diving was second to none and as a lot of the guests were divers there was always plenty of conversation flowing. The pool is huge and looked to be very clean. Access to the beach side is either by crossing the road or the subway, both very easy. The beach side is beautiful, plenty of sun beds and easy access to the crystal clear waters. There's a small area that is perfectly safe for younger children or those not so confident in open water, with plenty of fish and sea life to see.
The hotel dive centre, Dive Paradise was brilliant. They allocate your dive boat before you arrive, you then just have to grab your gear and wait for the boat to arrive. Once on board you are given a choice of dive sites it is then up to the divers to agree which site they want to dive. You take care of your own equipment and keep it locked in your own locker, there's plenty of drying space and the dive centre is pretty much secure as once the shop is closed the only way to access the beach area is through the subway from the hotel.
I travelled alone yet felt perfectly comfortable at all times. There was no pressure from the owners of the gift stalls around the hotel pool to buy their wares, they were happy to let you browse and happy to help when required. Also the many tour guides situated in the hotel didn't appear to be there to push you into buying their trips. The whole atmosphere here is very relaxed and comfortable, definitely somewhere I'll be going back to at some point in time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I went to Cozumel for a dive trip set up by Bay Adventures. The Hotel Cozumel and Resort was well worth the cost and service was wonderful. All the employees were very friendly, professional and willing to help with anything. Room was not fantastic but you can't expect high-end accommodations on a dive trip all inclusive at such a great price. Food was great with a changing menu daily for all meals. Taxis to the main square were easy to get and on cost $6.00. Dive Paradise right across the street was well coordinated and extremely professional and helpful with all our diving needs. The only complaint we had was the fact that there was no fan in bathroom, which speaks for itself in a hot and humid environment. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Hotel Cozumel & Resort
Cozumel Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst the 4 Star Hotels on the island, Hotel Cozumel & Resort has many good things to be proud of. Things that have made of this friendly resort the best option for families and divers. Wondering why? It is simple: the best location and the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cozumel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.