We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time with Andrea!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Firestone, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun time with Andrea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've been going to Cozumel almost every year since the early 70's and the last five years we've been staying at Casa Del Mar. This year we stayed at Casa Del Mar from May 31st to June 10th and got to meet Andrea the FIRST tropical storm of the season! Though Cozumel only caught the edge of the storm we still had SEVEN DAYS OF RAIN! Even through the lousy weather, the staff at Cas Del Mar kept their smiling faces and super friendly service that definitely help keep our spirits up and still make it a very enjoyable time!

I took a small group with me this year of customers and friends and many of them had not ever been to Cozumel. The diving was still great and with the help of the staff every one had a FANTASTIC time despite the weather! At the end of our trip everyone in my group told me to sign them up for "next years trip"! THANK YOU to the STAFF at CASA DEL MAR from the Catfish Charlie's Tropical Fish group!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENTAS C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Friend,
We appreciate your time for sharing trough tripadvisor your experience at Casa del Mar. Certainly, the weather was not very good however we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and diving with all you group. You are part of our family, we hope see you very soon in your second home and We hope your stay will be even more enjoyable.

One again, thank you for your comments and we would like invite you also to keep in touch with us through Facebook – Casa Del Mar Cozumel.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    129
    48
    18
    13
See reviews for
51
86
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Rio, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The pool is NOT 'tiny' it's adequate for the size of the hotel. The food is NOT 'mediocre'...it's very good. We ate the coconut ice cream everyday...and enjoyed fajitas, grilled fish, tampiqueno steak, shrimp cocktail, beautiful and delicious fruit platters etc. etc. Breakfast is sometimes a buffet or partial buffet depending on how busy the hotel is...there's always somebody to make you a fresh omelette w/ the filling of your choice.
If the previous reviewer had researched properly and looked at photos they would know that the manmade beach area is small. We had a car to go elsewhere when we wanted. You can still enjoy sunsets from Casa Del Mar and relax in a hammock.
This was our 2nd visit and we chose to get 2 cabanas and the 'penthouse' this year.... and they were lovely. Very spacious and decorated so nice! Last year we had a standard room and while it was O.K. the bathroom was tiny and water pressure pretty bad.
This hotel is small...which is what we like. Caters to divers...so it's usually quiet. Grounds are so pretty and well kept. Rooms are very clean...A/C ice cold. ALL staff were very kind and nice and we tipped accordingly.
If a person was looking for a resort/hotel w/ a great view, not near the cruise ship pier, wants more than one bar/restaurant and more than one pool...this place is not for you....but we LOVE it!! And we aren't even divers!!!
There is some road noise if your room is near the front of the hotel...we are early risers so it didn't bother us...take ear plugs.
We like that Casa Del Mar is not too far from town or the southern beach clubs.
We'll be back...you should try this place!!
Thanks to all at CDM.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ask for a superior room on the 3rd floor...specify a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENTAS C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for taking your time to share with us your friendly comments and your experience through TripAdvisor. We really appreciate each opinion regarding our services and facilities, and the most important for us, is that you have enjoyed your second stay in casa del mar with all your family, thank you because you love Casa del mar, Cozumel, we are glad to know this of you.

Kindly, be advised that we will continue with the commitment to mantain our best services for all our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home... and once again, thank you for choosing Casa del Mar!

Finally, I would like invite you also to keep in touch with us through Facebook – Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Have a wonderful day.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just got back from a week's stay at Casa del Mar. Our room was great, the staff was wonderful, and we loved the ease of walking over the bridge to our dive boat every morning. We took advantage of the Full American food plan, and while the food was nothing to write home about, it was better than I expected, always served with a smile (loved Wilbur!). In addition, the cost was so reasonable, we were able to go out for some nice meals in town. Overall, a very good experience and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENTAS C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Barb,
Thank you for take your time to share with us your comments regarding our services and facilities and your experience in the Hotel trough tripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed all your stay in Casa del Mar.
We look forward to see you very soon in your second home in Cozumel.
We invite you also to keep in touch with us trough Facebook – Casa del Mar, Cozumel
Our best wishes! Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is great if your DIVING. DO NOT go here if your wanting an all inclusive VACATION. The food in the one restaurant is mediocre at best. The "all inclusive" package isn't really all inclusive. You have to pay for any premium liquor you order at the one bar. There is no beach and the pool is tiny. They do however have a deal with Nochie Cocome beach club 5 miles down the highway were you can get on a beach but you have to pay for all your drinks and food there.

For the money you pay, stay at one of the actual resorts in on the mainland in Playa Del Carmin or Cancun. Unless of course, your diving. Even then take the ferry to where you wanna dive and stay at a nice resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I came back to Cozumel, which is one of my favorite places to dive.

First, this place is a hotel that caters to divers. It sits across from the beach, but has a private bridge to a private beach, with a scuba shop right there where you can do your check-out dives and shore dives. There are now 3 dive operators that operate right out of the palapa that sit across the bridge, and they will all take good care of you.

The hotel is about a $6-8 cab ride south of town. The staff is very courteous and helpful, and will help you book other activities on the island, offer off-site restaurant tips, etc. The lobby is the only place that has internet, and there is one pretty tired computer, so it's a good idea to bring your own iPad or laptop to get decent web-browsing.

They furnish nice beach towels for the beach, and are very good at letting you swap them out if yours is too wet.

The pool is pretty large, and has ample deck/lounge chairs to hang out on, as well as a swim-up bar. The bar prices are reasonable, as well as the prices in the open-air restaurant.

The floors are all tile, so they don't get on your case if you come it dripping wet from a dive trip. The room service is excellent, with the rooms kept spotlessly clean. An added bonus is the towel animals the cleaning staff makes for you each day.

The hotel has restaurants within walking distance (one is literally next door), as well as bars. If you want to go into town, taxis are generally staged out on the street for you, or the front desk will get you one quickly.

The hotel is located just north of the cruise ship terminal, so you will probably see some ships (they don't block the view) on some days. There is ample shopping down towards the cruise ships, and also plenty in town.

Rates at the hotel are pretty good, and you can book directly through them with various packages for room/diving/car/submarine (or any combination thereof). Rooms can sleep up to 4 people, although it would get a bit squishy, as there isn't a lot of drawer space (but plenty of places to lay a suitcase). Considering you're at the beach, you're probably wearing shorts/t-shirts anyway.

I will continue to come back here, as I like being away from town, somewhat, and I think they offer a great value. Many dive shops book through here, due to good pricing and service.

I'll be back, again!

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms all have good areas to hang out your dive gear. The lower floors have no raili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENTAS C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Friend:

First of all, thanks you for your preference at Casa del Mar, Cozumel . We are glad for all your comments that you have shared through tripAdvisor, we appreciate your interest and confidence.
We hope see you very soon in this wonderful Island and your second home: Casa del Mar.
We would like invite you also to keep in touch with us through Facebook – Casa Del Mar Cozumel.
Once again, thank you for your time and valuable comments. Have a wonderful week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Rooms are fairly nice and have the basics. I liked the AC, TV, and free safe. I did not like the super hard bed and uncomfortable pillows. The upkeep on the complex was good, but the pool area and swim-up bar could have been better (e.g.: need some more sun umbrellas). Having to exchange pool towels every time was a bit annoying. Food at the restaurant was mediocre and servers were nice but sometimes slow and forgetful. Location is not ideal - always needed to cab everywhere. Overall, it was a good value for the deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENTAS C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Alex,
Greetings from Casa del Mar, Cozumel!
First of all I would like to thanks you for staying with us during your last visit in Casa del Mar, Cozumel. Also thank you for your time and valuable feedback. Your opinion is always welcomed and listening to our guests is the most important to improve and make the relevant adjustments in our operations.

We hope see you again in Casa del Mar, and give us the opportunity to satisfy your next stay here. Thanks again and have a wonderful week.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ORLEANS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our stay at Casa del Mar was excellent as always. That is the reason that we return there so often. The staff are what makes the place have such a homey atmosphere. Anyone can build a hotel, but it takes great people to make it a resort. They are well trained and sincere about helping you achieve a great vacation. The place is neat as a pin and well managed.

We recomend it and bring our friends there knowing that they will not be disappointed. (we stake our personal reputation on it)

It has been home for us for the last 15 years and will continue to be in the future.

Room Tip: The cabanas are a good choice for families or small groups of friends. They have a seperate level wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENTAS C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Jorge,

First of all, behalf all our staff we want to thank you for your preference in Hotel Casa del Mar, Cozumel.
Thanks in advance for your special comments trough TripAdvisor, also we are glad that you are part our family for the last 15 years and that you enjoy your stay each visit in your second home. Your family and friends always will be welcomed.

We wish you a great day and send a big hug from all our staff.

We would like invite you also to keep in touch with us through Facebook – Casa Del Mar Cozumel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel

Address: Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel is a charming Mexican hideaway facing the magnificent Caribbean Sea. Situated across the main boulevard with 98 comfortable rooms and eight recently restored Deluxe Cabañas, the property is surrounded by beautiful and exotic garden area with a Mexican town feeling. Casa del Mar Cozumel is located two and a half miles south of downtown, less than five minutes away from the famous “Paraiso” reef. Our hotel is ideal for vacation, business, honeymooners and divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Resort Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.