We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa del Mar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel to your Saves list
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Terrell, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casa del Mar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed at Casa Del Mar at least 10 times and it is great. The staff is kind and goes out of their way to help you. The dining room is very nice and the food is good. My husband dives, so he loves the fact that they have their own dive shop just across the street. My sister and I went together this last time and they did everything they could to help us arrange all of our excursions and trips to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    160
    60
    21
    17
See reviews for
72
112
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moodus, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have been going to Cozumel off and on since 1985 , mostly to go diving . I have never committed to a dive package in the past because I did not want to be locked in to an operation I might not like after the first dive . A friend recommended I try Hotel Casa Del Mar , and to be honest I am glad I did . I initially stayed and dove in August , but I enjoyed myself so much I went back this October 19-26 . It is important to point out that this is the first time in 37 years that I have traveled and vacationed by myself.

Sandra from Casa Del Mar handled all my arrangement and requests , which for me made it very very easy . From the moment I stepped out of the taxi , I was made to feel like family , which for a single traveler , and not knowing anybody , helped a lot . When I asked about the dive package , Sandra recommended that , due to the iffy weather I purchased my diving on a daily basis , which made perfect sense to me , and was also a good value .

The condition of the grounds is addressed on a daily basis and are very well kept and clean . I stayed on the first floor and had a giant bed , plenty of hot water , cold air , tv , and a very well kept room .

During my stay I had a problem with my air conditioner , and happened to mentioned it in passing the front desk . I had been in my room about five minutes when a knock came at my door . It was the maintenance man who took care of the problem right away. The other issue I had was really funny . I do not knowingly consume caffeine because it makes me sick . So I only drink decaff coffee . One day at the restaurant I found out that they did not have decaff coffee . No big deal . The next morning I was walking by when the waitress grabs me and says Sandra went out and bought decaff just for you . Now that's customer service.

Had a great time , and am looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on a quick trip to the Island. The staff was fantastic, efficient and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable for one - all in all a great place to stay while I was here diving. I did have lunch at the restaurant even though I should have known better but it was raining so...........my bad :(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Spent a week in this tranquil paradise with the dive shop of Fairfax va. Loved the staff and their attentiveness. Great diving staff with the Dive House. Went backward to please all of us. Will definitively be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

One of my daughters and I stayed here again in late September. September and October are VERY slow months in Cozumel. We booked the combined room and dives, and we're wonderfully accommodated by Casa del Mar, as well as Del Mar Aquatics.

The rooms are a great value, with tile floors and balconies, that handle dripping scuba gear well.

There is an Onsite bar and restaurant with good, reasonably priced food and drink, right next to the pool - both with ocean views.

They have a private bridge that crosses the street (almost all hotels sit across the street on the island), right down to their private beach, Onsite dive shop, and snorkeling area.

The dive shop is pretty good. Dive masters Renee and Juan are simply awesome, asking you what you would like to see, then having the boat go there.

If you want to go into town, it's a cheap taxi ride, or the front desk will help you with a rental.

Very good overall place!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times (the 4th is coming up).

This hotel is a few miles south of the City center. However, that also makes it closer to the dive sites (shorter boat ride).

The hotel has it's own dive shop, which located across a bridge from the hotel (the main road is along the beach). There is a private beach, where you can swim, snorkel, or shore dive (have a surface marker, as you swim under active boat lane).

The hotel staff has always been very friendly, attentive, and helpful. They can arrange cars for you (there is a rental place across the street), scuba trips, trips to their private resort to the south (and big discounts, too), and much more. It is an inexpensive taxi-ride into the main town, if you'd like. There is also a lot of shopping to the south, towards the cruise-ship pier (can also shop in the main town).

There is an onsite restaurant and bar, which actually has decent food and pricing. You can either opt for the "all included" meal plan, or go ala carte.

There are two types of rooms; some are private "cabanas" which are located poolside, and the rest are in the main complex. Most of the rooms have balconies where you can hang your scuba gear. The beds are the typical "firm", but are pretty comfortable. There is a safe in the room for your valuables (you check out a keyed lock from the front desk). The room service is very good, and it's fun to come back from a day of diving, and see what they have made your towels into (various animals).

There is a large pool, with a great view of the ocean, complete with a swim-up bar (sometimes the bar is not open).

If you want to make a day trip to go to Playa del Carmen, it is a short ferry ride from the docks in town (inexpensive cab ride). Ferries are very modern and fast, covering the 12 miles across the channel pretty quickly.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view room, but all of the rooms are pretty decent. The lower floor rooms, towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pijnacker
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is 90% used by divers, which means that there are plenty of free sunbeds for the non divers. Garden and pool area was well kept but it would have been nice with some parasols for shade by the sun beds. Reasonable prices in the restaurant but limited menu. Breakfast is rather bland. Shower was not hot. On our arrival we were greeted by a moldy smell in the lobby.

Dive with Roberta's Eco-Dive just across the road to the left of Atlantis. They were a lot friendlier than the dive shop of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel

Address: Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel is a charming Mexican hideaway facing the magnificent Caribbean Sea. Situated across the main boulevard with 98 comfortable rooms and eight recently restored Deluxe Cabanas, the property is surrounded by beautiful and exotic garden area with a Mexican town feeling. Casa del Mar Cozumel is located two and a half miles south of downtown, less than five minutes away from the famous "Paraiso" reef. Our hotel is ideal for vacation, business, honeymooners and divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Resort Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.