We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Cozumeleno Beach Resort to your Saves list
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I took my 3 kids to Cozumel for my oldest daughter's college graduation present. This was our first time on the island. We had a great time. The hotel is very nice. The food is so-so. We had hoped to have a nice dinner in their restaurant, but unfortunately, you have to make reservations the same day between 8 am and 4 pm. We were out and about seeing the island and were told we couldn't have dinner there. It is a little far from downtown, and the taxi fares did add up. It would be nice if they offered a shuttle to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    1,588
    546
    242
    183
See reviews for
1,139
1,346
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The staff was very attentive and met all our needs. Our only complaint we have is that what we consider "adult only" sections of the resort (ie the pool bar and hot tub) were often occupied by children, some of whom were unattended by their parents.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the service elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We love Cozumel and this was our third stay on this gorgeous and friendly island but our first stay with El Coz. We had read TripAdvisor reviews saying how wonderful the staff was and we couldn't agree more. Everyone was super-friendly, helpful and smiling. The room was lovely. The view was so relaxing. Not a lot of restaurant choices, especially in low season, but what was there was tasty and plentiful. And we like to explore the restaurants in town, so this was not a problem. It is a little strange to have all the fish swarm you as you get into the water but this is because they are used to being fed. Only minor peeve is the hard chairs on the beach--after a while you really feel it. But if this is the worst thing I can say about El Coz, and I think it is, then it is a wonderful place to visit indeed! And the resort gave us bread to feed the fish with so that was fun, too! The pools were nice. The drink service was prompt. The mini-golf was a fun diversion. The gift shop was good. The piano playing in the restaurant was enjoyable. And we liked that we could order better wine, if we chose to buy it via a coupon we received that we could put toward it.

I would definitely recommend El Coz! The warmth of the staff makes it shine!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The resort was very nice. Everyone who worked there , worked hard and they were very friendly. We were greeted with complimentary drinks. The rooms are kind of dated and the toilet hardly flushed. The beds were really solid , but if you were dead tired(like I was) it was really nice. The food was either a hit or miss . The pools were kind of dirty , they cleaned it often . The beach was nice, it was hard to get a spot under the huts unless you woke up really early. You better wear sunscreen or prepare to get burnt. Overall it was a really nice trip .

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just got back from our fourth time at El Coz and it was just as enjoyable as all the others. Only one complaint was we had two rooms and one of them, the AC went out on the last two nights. Other than that, the entire trip was excellent. Service is always great and the cleanliness is superb. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The resort is fairly nice, they are constantly cleaning it. I give them credit for the hard work that they do keeping it up.

Their food is absolutely disgusting! The food at the buffet was constantly being eaten by the birds that are in there, or there were ants crawling all over it. The wife and I thought the restaurant would be better than the buffet.....big mistake! We totally dined & dashed after seeing what they brough out. The steak was as tough as shoe leather and my calzone was watered-down and filled with mystery meat. Did I mention the steak was mystery meat as well?

The drinks.....were completely watered down and their beer was served in plastic glasses. Pretty sure they barely washed them and the keg of beer was like water. I would rather take my chances on drinking water out of their tap than to drink their "all-inclusive drinks."

Room Tip: This was the most expensive weight-loss plan that I have ever tried! Don't tell me that I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at El Cozumeleno July 5 - July 12, 2013. We couldn't have been happier with the hotel! The rooms are large and the bathrooms are wonderful - large shower and separate dressing area with vanity. We stayed in the North Tower on the eighth floor and the view was spectacular! The food in the restaurant was good (not great) but certainly not bad. Drinks were not watered down and service was excellent - in the restaurant, beach and pool areas. There is an AWESOME waitress there named Lourdes. If you stay at this hotel, make sure you seek her out! Very friendly staff and VERY clean resort. The only half-way negative thing I can say is that we did have to go down early to snag a palapa on the beach - there aren't nearly enough. Water in front of the hotel is clear and cool - like a swimming pool. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone - couples, singles and families alike. There is an active pool with music and swim-up bar and then a quiet pool on the other side and then a semi-indoor pool with waterfall. Short $8.00 taxi ride into town - where we totally enjoyed the shopping and restaurants. We rented a car and drove around the island - if you rent a car, be sure to stop in at COCONUTS - the view is not to be missed. Whatever you do, you'll enjoy Cozumel and the El Cozumeleno Resort.

Ken and Patti Gazzaway
Conroe, Texas

Room Tip: Be sure you ask to be in the North Tower - views are better and this tower is newer. Ask to be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cozumeleno Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.