We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service in El Cozumelino rocks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added El Cozumeleno Beach Resort to your Saves list
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Trenton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service in El Cozumelino rocks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We travelled here as a group of 9 (ages 25 to 60). We were all very happy with the excellent service from all servers in bars and restaurants. The rooms are dated but very clean and quite large. Our view from the 8th floor balcony was spectacular.
Our group had a great vacation but most of us were disappointed in the food. Buffets and restaurant food was never hot!
Lack of chairs was certainly an issue. There are not enough on the beach or by pools. We feel this could be an easy fix by just purchasing more chairs. If you weren't up marking your spot by 2 or 3 in the am you were lucky to find somewhere to sit.
El Coz is a lovely little resort with (small) but nice beach.
Again we had a great time but thought that I would be honest with our few disappointments!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    1,509
    517
    221
    174
See reviews for
1,092
1,275
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I loved staying at El Cozumeleno. The service was great! Snorkeling was amazing! I especially loved having a beautiful view of the ocean AND the pool!! We enjoyed the SOUTH (new) building it overlooks the main pool (swim up bar). I believe quieter people would enjoy the older (North) building more. The rooms are nice, and they are big (I heard the older rooms are even bigger, WOW that would be a BIG room).
The food was ok.....there was always something, for even the pickiest of eaters. The beer was good, and it was cold.
Another added bonus is the proximity to the airport, and town. Less than 10 minutes!!!
The only things that I think El Coz could improve on is:
1.) night life (a little more entertainment at night)
2.) Putting bar fridges in EVERY room.
(Although they gave us a styrofoam cooler to use instead).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a great time at Cozumeleno. We stayed in the older part of the resort. Very quiet and very clean. I can't say enough about the staff, 95% of them always had a smile on their face and made you like they wanted you to be there. We were in room 604 and be aware that the elevator does not go up to the 6th floor, you have to walk up 1 floor, but we found that view and the quiet was well worth it. Food at the buffet is OK lots of Mexican, and lots of choices. The ocean is cristal clear and great for snorkeling. A few of concerns is limited outlets in the old section hard to charge stuff, TV has very poor reception and I really miss a coffee maker in the room, not near enough lounge chairs you need to be up at 6am to get one. But even with the few concerns this was a great time and we'll be back.

Room Tip: room 604 limited outlets, poor TV very snowy, Great ocean view, good AC, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at El Cozumeleno Jan. 14-21. We travel quite a bit and this is one resort we would actually go back to.

Staff: Everyone was very helpful and all services, bar, housekeeping, front desk, groundskeepers,etc. were very approachable and made you feel very welcome.

Room: Absolutely loved our room. We had an oceanview and it was well worth the few extra dollars. Having keys instead of swipe cards for the room and safe was a bit cumbersome but we still felt safe and did not worry about what was in our safe when we were not in our room.

Food: Totally amazing! My husband is gluten, grain, sugar and lactose free and he had such a huge selection of food choices. The cactus was so delicious. The buffet always had a large variety of tasty treats and the a la carte restaurant was worth a booking as well. One of the front lobby bartenders could use some people skills. He didn't like to give you the Bacardi or Shmirnoff that he keps in the back cupboard. Alot of eye rolling and sighing.

Grounds: My husband and I rarely wore footwear. The beach was right there and the buffet did not require you to have shoes on. Staff were always sweeping, scrubbing and washing the floors which is no easy task considering the closeness of the beach.

Beach: The snorkelling right at the resort was amazing. We saw pods of dolphins, manta rays, large schools of fish, gar fish and sooooo much more. They have a statue in the water as well. Tons of beach chairs, beautiful sand, and clear water.

Tours: I will just speak of the the two tours we booked. The catamaran "Fury" excursion is worth the money. Crew were very friendly and certainly knew how to make a margarita! We stopped at two reefs for snorkeling. Aquatic life was plentiful and everyone was excited to see the sea turtles in their natural habitat. Experienced dive masters. Had a great lunch on the beach with tons of water toys to enjoy. I definitely suggest this tour.

The second tour was an all day tour of cozumel in a dune buggy. You could chose a jeep, polaris, smart car or dune buggy. There were 14 cars in our train and we found that we didn't have to wait for anybody. We did have a couple of break downs of the polaris but the guides were quick to the rescue and a new vehicle was waiting for them when we reached our next stop.
The first stop was the Mayan ruins. Not as grandiose as on the mainland but still very interesting. NOTE: Staff at the gate will charge you $4 US if they think you are taking a video camera. We did explain to them that every phone, camera, etc. has video capabilities but they
still will grab you for the money. Put your camera in your pocket.
The second stop was a tequila museum with some taste testing at the end. A souvenir shop was attached.
You do get to drive along the coast for about 20 mins. after that. Gorgeous.
The third stop was a crocodile sanctuary. Not very exciting as they were just fed before we got there.
The fourth stop was snorkeling and lunch at a beach on the southern tip. You could get a massage, shop or hang out in a hammock.
The fifth stop was a lighthouse. Excellent view.
Great day but the stops were a bit anti-climatic. Loved driving around in the dune buggy!

Overall we loved this resort and would highly reccommend this to families, couples and people with disabilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great time at Cozumeleno, older resort but well maintained. We had a large corner room with ocean view, worth the upgrade. Service at the front desk was hit or miss, but the rest of the staff did a wonderful job. At first we were concerned about only one restaurant and a buffet. The buffet had plenty of food choices and the restaurant was excellent, different choice each evening and exceptional service. Rented a scooter and spent a day visiting the Island, what a great experience. Make sure you go to Coconuts. Would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Note that there are two parts of this resort...a much older outdated section and a new slightly updated tower. A mini fridge is not included in the all inclusive rate it is an additional daily rental fee and a fee to stock it. There is limited bottle water provided as well. The resort does not provide an ironing board nor do they have them. The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. The pools were very clean and the ocean was great. Pros out weighed cons by far. The food was good and always available. Make your dinner reservations early in the morning and get out there and save your self a chair on the beach or you wont have one.
The drinks are average and we never had to wait to long for them. I would return to this resort again and would reccomend to friends and family. If your are looking for luxury maybe this is not the place for you. The hotel manager is fantastic if we needed anyhting he made it happen. The beds are kind of hard and are only doubles.

Room Tip: ask for the newer section!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is amazingly clean at all times. Staff is always very helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay perfect. The water is crystal clear which makes it perfect for snorkelers. We were a group of 10 and everybody was happy with the food both at the buffet and the restaurant.

If you are looking for night life this is not the place for you as there is very little entertainment.

My only complaint would be the shortage of beach chairs but the good news is we were told they are expecting more shortly :)

Room Tip: The higher floors obviously have a better view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cozumeleno Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.