We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cozumel Palace to your Saves list
Cozumel Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Rafael E Melgar km 1 5, Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Buffalo, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

A girlfriend and I just visited the Cozumel Palace and had a wonderful time. The resort is extremely clean, the staff provided excellent service without being intrusive, and the food was great. The amenities are vast....from included snorkeling trips to liquor dispensers in the room. It is a short walk in to town. The spa is small but the massage I received was wonderful. I have nothing negative to say about this resort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    417
    96
    46
    31
See reviews for
645
1,383
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle,wa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Cozumel Palace is an amazing place to stay. The hotel is very nice, the staff is above excellent, the food was great, and the location was awesome. Snorkeling just off the pool deck into the ocean was one of the funnest things to do. My wife and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We have been going to the Cozumel Palace (formerly Plaza Las Glorias before Palace bought and renovated) for over 19 years. Unlike other massive Palace properties, this is a small resort so all the amenities are within close proximity. Because of its size, the staff makes an effort to learn your name and your preferences for food and drinks, personalizing the experience. If there is something you don't see on the menu, the staff will do their best to accomodate you. If you like your table service a certain way, just inform the dining room manager. You are in Mexico so yes, the Mexican restaurant is the best for evening meals. Breakfast and lunch at the restaurant offer a wide range of foods - try Maria's Mickey Mouse pancakes for breakfast and the wonderful breads.

I believe all the rooms face the ocean and have a balcony with a wonderful view of the sunset- I'm not aware of any exceptions though there may be. While there is no beach in the traditional sense, there are areas at both ends ot the property with sand and palapas as well as peace and quiet from the pool music/activities. In the center of the property is a bi-level pool with a swim up bar. There are stairs down to the ocean where you can snorkel (equipment provided at the activity desk included) and enjoy part of one of the largest reef systems in the world. Cozumel was a scuba diver's destination long before the cruise ships ever docked there. The property is also within walking distance of the downtown area and multiple bars and restaurants so a taxi is not necessary. Phone calls back to the U.S. are free and the property also has free wifi so turn off your international data roaming on your iPhone and use their wifi to avoid excessive dara charges.

The staff does a very nice job of providing a variety of activities for everyone throughout the day. Say "hi" to Teresa for us! I would like to see a lot less water volleyball though as the more ethusiastic, alcohol infused players have a tendancy to endanger the other occupants of the pool. Almost every night tat 8PM here is a free floor show of some type - don't miss the fire show.

As with all hotels, it can be noisy if your room is by the elevator, ice machine, service elevator, etc. so insist on being moved it you find it bothersome. Be very careful on the stone floors both in your room and in the common areas- they get extremely slippery when wet. The hotel should have more rugs covering the areas from the front door/elevators out to the pool areas to avoid accidents. The sun is intense - bring your SPF 50+ and apply liberally and often - don't forget your back and legs when snorkeling as the water intensifies the sun's rays.

Palace doesn't offer lobster so eat out one night at Prima's located in the property next door. If you are more adventurous, try El Morro for local Yucatan food and ambiance - you'll need to take a taxi. No air conditioning so dress casual (shorts/tshirt OK) . It is run by a very nice family and has been there for years (closed Thursdays). On Sunday nites, walk into town for the local fiesta in the square. Rent a Jeep one day and dirve around the island - go to Coconuts for the best conch on the island. Stop at one of the many beaches on your way back.

Some of the shopkeepers in town can be very aggressive, maybe due to the cruise ship activity and general downturn in the economy which is increasing competition for your dollar. Just smile and say "No, Gracias" and continue on your way.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The ONE and ONLY thing I would like to see is better food. The patio dinner was always fabulous. The breakfast buffet was always wonderful. The other restaurants were not as impressive. I would and am planning on returning, and I would still have chosen the resort for our honemoon!! Not a single worry here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We visited Cozumel Palace in February 2009. We were there the year before and could not have thought of a better place to re-visit. There are so many reasons ... the snorkeling, the scuba diving, the personnel, the location to the town, the proximity to the airport, Cozumel ...

We have 3 children, 16, 12 and 10. Dad went diving with the 16 yr. old and I stayed back with the two younger ones. We had a blast meeting people around the pool, taking little day trips and enjoying the great snorkeling right off the pool area. We later met up with hubby and daughter for lunch and/or dinner.

Why twice? It just felt like going "home"!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel was just what we were looking for! The service is great..basically EVERYTHING about it we enjoyed and loved it!
I would recommend if you are wanting to go to a place where you can relax !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Great ambience, great food, activities all included. Would recommend to anyone planning to stay in Cozumel looking for an All-Inclusive Hotel. It was a PALACE and beautiful!!!

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 1 5, Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#1 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozumel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.