We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Food, and Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cozumel Palace

Save Saved
You added Cozumel Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Rafael E Melgar km 1 5, Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service, Food, and Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Cozumel Palace. My husband and I traveled with our 7 month old son, and another couple/close friends to us. We wanted to stay at a place that was low key and relaxing. This was the place!!! We enjoyed the food tremendously. We have done other all-inclusive resorts in the past, but Cozumel Palace by far had the best food choices and quality. I'm not a big seafood person, but nightly I would order fish for dinner..and every night the food continued to be delicious and of great quality. The pool side food was good too. We enjoyed the quality of the alcohol being offered and were able to enjoy drinks without the awful hangover the next day from poorer quality alcohol.

The service was WONDERFUL! When we landed in Cozumel, we found that the airline had broken our stroller we intended on using during our stay. When we got to the hotel, we told the staff to handle the broken stroller with care. However, Pascual (bell hop staff) not only offered to drive my husband to a local hardware store, but also assisted in helping him fix the stroller again. We were then able to use our stroller without any other hiccups. We had to sterilize our son's baby bottles once a day, and the staff of Cozumel Palace would sanitize the bottles for us (I packed the bottles in a steam bag designed for baby bottle sanitation that needed a microwave) and then deliver it right to the room. They were always accommodating in bringing up bottles of water to the room when we needed to make the baby's bottles. Everywhere we went, the staff in general, whether it be the pool, spa, or room service went over and beyond for us. We really felt spoiled and pampered and really enjoyed the all-inclusive aspect of it all.

The upgraded our rooms using our credits and ended up with a fab room with great ocean views and a hammock. The room also had a jacuzzi and was spacious enough for myself, husband and the baby's items.

I would definitely recommend this resort to any one, whether they be a couple, family or friends. We really had a great stay and I am sure we will return in the future!

Room Tip: Use your credits to upgrade to a better room. Ask to see the rooms first before you upgrade so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,834
    380
    87
    40
    29
See reviews for
593
1281
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is hands down the best resort we've ever been to. It's impeccably clean, the staff gets to know your name, the food is better than the food we eat in Canada, and it's so nice inside.

We traveled April 29th - May 5th for our honeymoon.

The staff is super friendly and the best customer service I've had in a long time. The resort is smaller, so they get to know your name personally! Therestia (I'm probably spelling her name wrong) the hostess at the restaurants is adorable! She is so sweet and kind. Abraham the doorman is great. Loronzo the pool waiter is attentive and hardworking. Carlos at the Mexican restaurant is great as well, and their entertainment staff are FANTASTIC. They are too much fun! We really enjoyed playing cards and volleyball with them.

The resort credits are nice, but you have to pay the 11% tax on your spa visits or trips. Which is fine - $30 for a couple to swim with the dolphins is a great price. You can only use $300 of the resort credits at the spa however, so don't think you're going there for massages, pedicures and facials every day like I thought, haha.

Rent a Jeep and drive down the coast. It is beautiful. You cannot use the resort credits for this, but it's worth the $99.

Let's go back to the food again - the buffet is out of this world. It's so fresh and changes often. We did not get bored of the food there. The restaurants have many gluten free options which is nice. However, they do not have very many vegetarian options - maybe 1 or 2 on each restaurant menu.

The rooms are beautiful with the spa tub in the middle - definitely a couples thing though. If you have a family with children, it might not be your cup of tea. That being said, I think I only saw 5 kids the week were there. More of a couples place.

You get to use their sister resort, PlayaCar Palace, if you want to take a day trip to Playa del Carmen which is a nice perk! All inclusive drinks and lunch on the mainland is a great idea! Plus, they have the white sand beach Cozumel dose not, so it's nice to be able to swim in the ocean.

We chose Cozumel Palace because we love snorkeling and we were drawn by the fact that we can jump off the deck into the ocean. That being said, the snorkeling was just okay. Maybe the time of year was off for us. We went to Chankanaab National Park, and the snorkeling there was better, even though it was really choppy and rough in the water that day (there were a few storms when we were there).

The ferry ride to and from Playa del Carmen is ROUGH. Bring Gravol and watch the horizon to get through it. We both almost got sick.

Overall, one word to describe this place: AMAZING. We will return to Palace resorts because of our outstanding visit to Cozumel Palace.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful staff and great service. Food was amazing. It was so much fun. Can't wait to go again. Every day was a new adventure. We felt very safe. The staff were very helpful and it was very clean. The pool area is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Last year I spent 5 days here. This was my first vacation at an all-inclusive, and I must say it was an awesome experience. The staff is super friendly! Always there to serve your every need, and not once did I feel pressured to tip. The pool side service was superb. There was always someone coming around to ask if I needed a refill. This resort is on the water, but it is not beachfront. There is excellent water access for snorkeling though. The rooms were impeccable! We had a huge Jacuzzi in our room too. Food was awesome, and there were like 4 (I can't remember exactly) restaurants for just about every taste.
This is the place I will compare all my vacations to from now on. It will be a tough act to follow!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have you ever tried to make 20 people happy on vacation? Well this Spring Break was one for the record books - 5 families - 20 people and everyone had an AMAZING experience. Whether it was diving, relaxing by the pool, sightseeing - everyone at the Palace make it special! Every room in the hotel was booked and we expected to wait for dinner due to the amount of people in the hotel, but each night the restaurants were accommodating and had planned for the large crowds. The food was excellent as was the entertainment. Daniel did an excellent job with entertainment that week! He planned for the large crowds and each show was exceptional!
I would recommend the palace to all ages! The staff is outstanding, rooms are comfortable, and drinks and food are exceptional. The price might be a little more than other resorts on the island but WELL WORTH IT!

Room Tip: Ana at the front desk is fabulous she always makes sure you are taken care of! All the rooms are exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got married at Cozumel Palace this past March and stayed for two weeks to honeymoon there as well. Our wedding was everything we could have dreamed of and more. Belem, the wedding coordinator, did a fantastic job and made sure every little detail was accounted for. The backdrop was gorgeous, the food was wonderful (and even better than what is served at the normal restaurants on the resort), the photographer did an amazing job, and all 35 of our guests had a blast. Our group was the biggest wedding they had ever had, but you wouldn't have known it. All in all, any reservations I had about doing a destination wedding were gone 2 seconds after stepping on to the resort. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a wedding, honeymoon, or just a great vacation! It is family-friendly as well.
Overall, our entire stay was amazing. The hotel staff were so friendly and accommodating during our entire trip--greeted us by name, opened doors, thought of things before we even had to ask. And although the resort is somewhat small, it still has a nice spa, 3 restaurants, 260 rooms, nice pools and a GREAT view. The only small downside was that pool chairs were at a premium since the hotel was booked for Spring Break and the hallways echo a bit so things can get a little noisy when you're trying to sleep. But the nightly shows are fun, the activities staff works hard to keep everyone entertained, the food/drink quality is top-notch for an all-inclusive, and the hotel is located walking distance to downtown. Just fantastic in every way!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are smoking. Rooms at the end of hallways are typically near the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic valley, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel was great. Dive shop was very accomidating. Diving was very easy to book and use. I dove 17 times in 11 days. All the staff was amazing and we loved our stay. Ana from front desk went out of her way to accomidate us. She is a great asset to the hotel. Food was great! We ate in Mexican restaurant mostly as Ronny our waiter had my beer and queso ready when we sat down every time. Asian restaurant was great too. Breakfast buffet was wornderful but the included roomservice was perfect for my early dive schedule. They also delivered wine to our room on request. Resort credit made this vacation a really good deal. Diving is really cheap if you use the credits for the 8:30 slow boat dive. We laid out in the sun while we traveled to the reefs. Dive master Chino was really funny and took his time making us feel comfortable. He is a great member of Aqua Safari staff and deserves recognition for his style and patience. Overall excellent vacation.

Room Tip: we stayed in 439 which was the quiet side of the resort. Great view from our deck where we ate brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 1 5, Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#1 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Regatta Hotels, Tingo, Amex, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozumel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.