We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozumel palace steve&sue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cozumel Palace to your Saves list
Cozumel Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Rafael E Melgar km 1 5, Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Pepin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cozumel palace steve&sue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Outstanding place food excellent staff out of this world clean, can not think of a bad thing about it except our stay was to short. we will be going back. Brenda, Camila, Roger were excellent made our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: we stayed in 306 suite excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,987
    417
    96
    46
    31
See reviews for
645
1,382
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our third trip to the Cozumel Palace-we love it so much we don't won't to try anything else! The staff is so welcoming and by midweek they are calling you by name. The food and service is fabulous. We felt safe in the resort and throughout the entire island. We rented a jeep to ride around the island and walked to the downtown area. We even attended Mass at a local church. It was in Spanish...but we enjoyed it anyway!

We would definitely recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassopolis, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at Cozumel Palace from 3/20-3/24, 2013. It was amazing! The hotel is spotless, the views are incredible, and the staff are the best I have EVER had the pleasure to meet. Everyone there greets you with a smile and the utmost respect. We felt like VIPs (even though we were not)! The snorkeling at the hotel was amazing. We even got a free room upgrade because on our first day there there was some repairs going on down the hall. The food is good, especially the breakfast buffet. I almost cried when we had to leave! This is the perfect place to vacation if you want complete relaxation, pampering, and fun. The guests came from all walks of life (families, honeymooners, retirement folks) and everyone seemed to have an amazing time. I felt very safe and comfortable there. My husband and I highly recommend this resort!!!

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor jr suite - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Cozumel. I compare the Cozumel Palace to All-Inclusives in Cancun/Playa del Carmen, ( Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, Secrets Capri, Valentin Imperial, Royal Hideaway, Riu Palace las Americanas, The Royal in Playa del Carmen, Riu Tequila, Live Aqua Cancun) and Punta Cana (Iberostar Grand, Dreams Punta Cana, Majestic Colonial).

PROS- The pool is heated. This is a huge plus. All rooms except for a few garden (street) view have a marvellous view of the ocean from the balcony. Unfortunately, the balcony furniture includes only a string hammock and two plastic chairs which are quite uncomfortable. With decent furniture, it would have been a lovely place to sit. The fridge is well stocked, and liquors are provided in the room along with beer and wine.The property is small, with a private vibe. The staff is very attentive, and dinner service was always very efficient without being in the least obtrusive.Pool wait service was the best I have ever experienced.

CONS- Old property. There is no WOW factor anywhere. While it has been well maintained, there is no getting around the fact that the hotel has seen better days. Many marble floors are cracked, walls have been painted countless times with the associated paint smears on the woodwork. The windows in the very, very long hallways (only elevator or stairwell is in the center of the property which can make for a very long walk) have a frosted coating applied to them. The coating is bubbled in many places. The ceilings are low, as is the ambient light, giving the corridor a very dingy feel. Rooms are adequate, but the mattresses are terrible.
I prefer a small hotel, however this hotel is not only small in room numbers, but also in actual property area. The pool deck is tiny, with insufficient (and uncomfortable) plastic loungers given the number of guests. The towel game is in full force, and is also played by management who place special towels on prime chairs and even over all of one of the two small manufactured beach areas for the exclusive use of diamond guests. Even if the chairs are unused all day, the towels remain. There are an very few umbrellas, so it is difficult to keep out of the sun. I felt more like I was around a cruise ship pool on an at sea day than at a resort.

Dinners do not require reservations, which was a big plus. The food was beautifully presented and masterfully served, however once again there was no wow factor. The beef was always tough, the tuna obviously frozen and with a bit of a fishy smell. While there was always something tolerable to eat, none of my dinners was up to the level I have come to expect from an upper end All-Inclusive. Lunch was abysmal. You could eat outside at the Grill (hamburgers, sandwiches and nachos) or inside at the buffet where the exact same items were offered to be grilled 'to your order' every day, along with soup (this did vary) and a fairly simple salad bar as well as desserts and breads. I am never a big fan of a buffet, and certainly a smaller resort can not offer a huge selection. However, the menu could be varied from one day to the next. Most resorts offer at least one a la carte luncheon choice.

THE CREDIT - We had a $1500 Palace credit on our account given as a promo with the room reservation. We were aware that we would have to pay 11% tax on any credit we actually used. We could not use the credit to upgrade our room as our 17 year old son was travelling with us and the concierge floor is reserved for couples only. We did use the $300 allowed for the spa. The spa is marginal. We had a couples massage which was performed in two adjacent rooms with a sliding door open between them. The sliding door left the two beds about 6 feet apart from each other. The door was too small to let us actually see each other during the treatments. The massages were marginal. We also used the credits to upgrade wine at dinner. With the hotel fee structure, you pay almost as much in taxes as you would for the actual bottle of wine if purchased in the US. For example, you could pay about $8.80 in taxes to upgrade to a Rosemount Cab/Shiraz blend. The excursions are only run on certain days, (the snorkelling excursion is only run on Thursdays). Many excursions are on the mainland, so I would do them from a hotel in Cancun or Playa del Carmen rather that adding a ferry ride onto an already long day. Our assigned vacation consultant disappeared as soon as it became obvious that we were not interested in attending the time share presentation. At least he was not overly pushy. Reservations could be made easily at the front desk.

The Cozumel Palace is the sort of resort that one would want to like. They do have an excellent and efficient staff. Unfortunately, the mediocre meals, the over crowded and tiny pool area and the bargain basement outdoor furniture on pool deck and balcony prevents me from being overly positive in my assessment. The Cozumel Palace is not an inexpensive vacation option. Other choices give far more value for your money.

Room Tip: Higher floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a wonderful resort! We have not always enjoyed all inclusive resorts, but the Cozumel Palace provided so many dining options, ALL of which were excellent quality and delicious. The resort staff are incredible. Friendly without pretense and all anxious to make you comfortable and welcome! Each room has it's own jacuzzi, but careful with the bubbles! A little bit goes a long way! Lots of activity options or you can stay by the pool or sea! We did not miss a sandy beach as you can walk to the end of the pier and jump in for some snorkeling and a swim. We would definitely go back. The resort is clean and comfortable!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are facing the sea and overlook the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our 4th trip to Cozumel, staying at different places each time. We have now found our "go to" place and it is the Cozumel Palace! Loved it! We enjoyed the beautiful facilities, the staff was beyond belief - super customer service, we needed wanted for anything - they took wonderful care of us. The food was always, always delicious. We enjoyed the evening entertainment - I was amazed with how they transformed the pool area into a stage for the great entertainment every evening, as well as dinner - tables with linens and the works! The location of Cozumel Palace is walking distance to the shopping areas, and between the two cruise ports - beautiful scenery every evening with watching the ships come and go. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor facing the water and enjoyed the morning and evening views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just got back from a week at the Cozumel Palace in Cozumel, Mexico. Loved it! The room was amazing and the view from our balacony hammock took our breath away. The staff bent over backwards to make our vacation truly special.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 1 5, Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#1 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozumel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.