We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Presidente” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera a Chankanaab km 6.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
broadlands,va
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Presidente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We just got back from a week at this wonderful hotel. We absolutely loved this resort. Everything about the place and the staff was excellent. The room we had with outdoor shower area and lovely patio was great. The staff was outstanding from the wait staff,the grounds crew,housekeeping and front desk could not have been friendlier. The grounds and beach area were so beautiful. The snorkeling from the beach was great. You just walked into the clear, warm water and could see many colorful fish. The place was so wonderful we never left all week. The food was very good and the service was excellent. True the prices at the hotel are higher then in town but you are at a lovely resort away from all the bustle of downtown. To us it was worth it to stay at the resort and enjoy the quiet beauty of Cozumel. Loved everything about this resort. Highly recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet place with great service,beautiful small beaches,good food and beautiful water. One thing you need to know is this resort has little night life unless you go downtown.Sunsets were spectacular from the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciated comments about our staff and our property.

We are always looking to meet and exceed expectations of our valued guests, and believe me, comments like yours make us feel proud of the work performed every day.

Hopefully, during your hard work time at home, you will be able to give yourself a break to visit us once again soon, at this, your home away from home in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    226
    61
    21
    15
See reviews for
310
459
15
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
knoxville, tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at Presidente since 1995 and have visited as many as three times a year. It is truly a second home to us, not only because of the beauty of the beach and rooms, but because of the gracious hospitality from all the staff, from the gardener (Jose), to the bartenders (Manuel and Jorges), the concierge staff, up to management (Martha). While we usually stay on the South side, this time we stayed on the 5th floor of the tower in a suite for our 33rd anniversary. If you are traveling for a special occasion, I strongly suggest one of these rooms. There is a picture window above the double tub where you can watch the sunset while having a glass of wine and preparing for the evening. You also wake up to a gorgeous view overlooking the ocean from your bed. We love everything about Presidente and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cozumel.

Room Tip: Our favorite areas of rooms are 5210 - 5214 for the view and privacy, 5110 -5114 for view and direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay with us at InterContinental Cozumel. We really appreciate your time.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcome you again very soon, to this “su casa” in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I spent 11 nights at the Intercontinental in Cozumel. We had an upgraded superior room facing the small beach area, near the dive shop. The room had its own patio, where complimtnary coffee was served every morning, delivered by staff members on bicycle. The patio had a table and chairs, two lounge chairs, and a hammock. It was lovely. The room itself was quite spacious, with a king bed, good storage, and a comfy upholstered love seat and large round coffee table with lovely vase and flowers on it. Decor is dark wood, pure white bedding, very calming effect.The flowers were refreshed regularly. There was also a large table which my husband used as a work surface. The bathroom was very large with a separate jetted tub and shower, as well as an outdoor shower - one of the highlights of this hotel!!! The large outdoor shower has greenery growing in and around it, and has a lovely rainshower head - the blooming flowers were so pretty - I saw a hummingbird in my shower one day!!!
The bed was comfy and had really lux feeling white sheets. The hotel supplied a large straw tote and beach towels - the beach was just astepas form our room. On the beach, there are thatched palapas - each has a flag which you can put out of you want service! or you can sit at the small each bar and have lunch or drinks. The food overall is very good although not exceptional, but all ingredients were very fresh and there were many choices. The main dining room is a huge thatched affair with lovely views. Staff are friendly and they remember what you like, whether it is milk for your coffee, a certain wine, etc. There is also an Itailian white table cloth restaurant which was overly air conditioned and too empty when we ate there. Nice guitar player, though. Room service was good and prompt.
The landscaping is lush and lovely, and the arrangement of the buildings, pools, beach etc. very pleasing to the eye.
The overall atmosphere is one of serenity and simple, classic, low key comfort. It is luxury without glitz. It is soothing, filled with blue water, lovely views, and good service. Lovely.

Room Tip: The superior rooms with patios are in a wonderful location and the patio itself is a treat - I had b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really apreciated every single word you wrote on your comment, thank you very much for coming and hopefully we can have you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I had beeing planning this trip for a long time and we found that the Presidente Cozumel has snorkeling facility just ourside your room, this experiebce was very nice. All the Staff at the hotel are very Friendly and help you in all you need.
We are ready to come back to the hotel and invite some friendas

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to sharing your experience you had. I am sharing your nice comments about our service with them.

We are going to be ready as soon as you decide to come back, hopefully in a near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I researched a long time for a hotel in Cozumell that offered a relaxing atmosphere with good food and most importantly one that has snorkeling right off the beach. We found it at this hotel. The service was GREAT and the staff VERY FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. The Concierge, Carlos, was very helpful with information and serivce before we arrived and during our stay. Guest Services, Jorge Luis, was very helpful and committed to our comfort. The restaurants had the most friendly waiters. While at the beach, your personal belongings were very safe and the service at your lounge chair area was great - within a minute of putting out your flag, a friendly waiter was there to service you. Our stay was excellent.

My only concern or complaint about our stay was the attempt to have us attend a high pressure condo/timeshare presentation during our check in. We refused but that experience of the pressure to join a session and get discounts on thing put a damper on our vacation and our stay at this hotel. My advise - if you are asked to get an overview of the hotel during your check in - REFUSE IT as it will be an attempt to bribe you into a high pressure sales opportuntiy.

Room Tip: Most of the ocean/beach view rooms are obstructed with lots of palm trees. Stay in the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about our staff & Resort.

Hopefully, we can have you back to your temporary residence very soon.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Setting is perfect. Able to walkout to the ocean in several locations - a wonderful boon! Wonderful sand! Snorkeling access is probably the easiest I've ever had - the stairs were easy and not at all slippery! Tropical garden effect and well thought out walkways give it an old grand dame resort feel. Exercise room was great. Rooms were extraordinarily nice. As an ambassador, all the extra treats were great fun and a daily little surprise. View from suite was incredible. Pools, particularly adult pool, were nice. Adult pool was like having your own private place. Even the pottery painting lady at the other pool was nicer and friendlier than any we have had in 25 years of cozumel visits. Staff could not be nicer. Front desk was extremely accommodating. Bellman incredibly nice and helpful. Even timeshare type sales people were nice. Best part though had to be hanging out on the beach under thatched umbrella with wonderful rolled towel pillow under head - occasionally walking in to the ocean to cool off. Felt like we were the only ones there, but observant staff was always there to bring a towel or drink. Restaurant and bars were good, but pricey. The family sized guacamole may be the best on the island! Desserts - opera cake-was amazing. Tacos with the meat and fruit were a big hit!
Believe that 1200 pesos for a very average cup (not fancy, fruit decorated glass) absolutely nothing special sangria a bit outrageous. Also seemed that service was not as good when we requested just plain water - at one point needed to ask 4 times for a refill on water.

Room Tip: Inquire about food/drink plans
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to sharing your experience you had. I am sharing your feedback with all my staff in order to take note about everything you kindly pointed about our service.

I look forward to see you in a near future celebrating not just a second visit.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just returned from a week long vacation at Presidente Intercontinental in Cozumel. In a word SPECTACULAR! It was our first time to the island and to this hotel. It was our best vacation ever. We were there celebrating our 20 year anniversary and we brought our 2 kids as well (ages 12 & 14). Not enough adjectives to describe how good of a time we had. The resort is impeccable. We opted for the beachfront room and were blown away with it opening up to the most amazing view we'd ever seen. Room was awesome, plenty of room for the 4 of us, beds were comfortable, outdoor private shower was fantastic, and the cleaning staff did a great job making the room everyday. They would come a few times a day to replace towels, turn down sheets, and check in to see if we needed anything. If you’re considering going to Cozumel this hotel will not disappoint and I would highly recommend spending the few extra dollars for the beachfront room- simply unbelievable! The entire staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible. The service by the entire staff was outstanding! We did not encounter any of the timeshare vultures at the hotel that I had read so much about in other reviews. Maybe the hotel is not allowing them on the property anymore? Food at the restaurant was excellent, a bit pricey, but we only ate a few meals there as we wanted to eat downtown for a variety. Drinks were on the expensive side but strong. We figured with it being spring break across a good portion of the country that the hotel would be busy. Not the case at all. We shared the beach with maybe 5 other people all week, had the freeform infinity pool literally to ourselves all week any time we ventured over to it, and the restaurant was nearly deserted anytime we went for a bite to eat. The snorkeling around the hotel was great and the shades of blue water left us in awe. Most beautiful water we’ve ever seen and we’ve been to Tahiti, Hawaii, Jamaica, and Bahamas. The hotel grounds are secure and they check all vehicles in at a gate. We did not rent a car but used taxis all week. There was always one available at the hotel without a wait. It cost 90 pesos to go downtown for 4 people. We explored downtown every night and ate at some great restaurants that were also mostly empty. It was a little busier when the cruise ships were in but mostly just at the shops across from the port. We felt comfortable walking around downtown at night and everyone was so friendly. On the main drag the vendors can get pretty aggressive in calling to you to come into their place of business. Saying ‘no thanks’ and keep walking worked fine for us. Plenty of taxis available at anytime and on any street corner to go back to our hotel. I did take convert some USD to pesos before we left the US so that I wouldn’t have to mess with atm right when we got there. Most places will take USD but having the pesos for taxis, tip for house keeper, etc was helpful and it seems we got a better price when paying in pesos. We took our kids to the Dolphinaris interactive dolphin experience and while it wasn’t cheap the program was excellent and they spent nearly an hour in the water with the dolphins. They absolutely loved it and we felt it was well worth the price to do it. We took one day and went on a sailing/snorkel excursion with Cozumel Sailing company (more sailing than snorkel but we wanted that) and had a blast. 6 hour tour sailing to the north part of the island, with a beach stop, great lunch on the boat, stops for snorkeling and a great sail back. Highly recommend these guys they did an awesome job. I would caution to take a Dramamine even if you do have your sea legs. Once you leave near shore there are some very big ocean swells that can make you sick if you’re not used to it. We had a great time in Cozumel and definitely have plans to go back. We would not consider staying anywhere else but at the Presidente, it was that good. One thing that sealed it for me at the end, is that the bill they presented me with at checkout matched exactly with what I had tracked all week as far as charging food, drinks, etc to the room as well as the daily hotel charge of $12 that they tell you about up front. I liked the fact there were no surprises when I had to pay the final bill and everything was on the up and up. When we first arrived at the airport to start our week I was prepared for the timeshare people based on other reviews I had read. They were aggressive and acted like they were going to give us a ride to the hotel. Bypass them and look for the big sign that says Shuttles with a lady behind the counter. It is expensive, about $10/head, but we didn’t know exactly where to walk to outside of the airport to pickup the taxis (which aren’t allowed on airport property) so we reluctantly paid the shuttle to get our vacation started. They have a monopoly there so you either have to pay or walk a good bit outside of the airport to track down a taxi. You can take a taxi to the airport, which we did when we were leaving, and that cost us about $16 in total so quite a bit less than shuttle charged us when we arrived. Honestly we have no complaints or gripes with any aspect of our trip, the island, or the hotel. One other point, many reviews made mention of the mosquito problem and getting bit quite a bit. We came armed with plenty of maximum strength bug repellant. We did not use 1 drop all week much to our surprise. Not sure if it was just the time of year or what but no mosquitos or any bugs of any kind. Someone was smiling on us I guess. Weather was perfect all week, warm 80-85 but no humidity and just as pleasant at night as it could be with a gentle breeze. The sun is very direct here and will burn you very quickly, we used plenty of sunscreen and hats and escaped with no issues. I highly recommend Cozumel and the Intercontinental!! We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Spend a little more to get beachfront room- well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cozumel. We really appreciate your time.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcome you again very soon, to this is “su casa” in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera a Chankanaab km 6.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa is the perfect balance of energy and ease. Adventurers love the scuba centre and nearby Chankanaab Park. Bringing the kids? The resort s Chiqui Club will keep them busy all day. When you want a slightly slower pace, you can head for our stretch of white sand, the exotic Mandara Spa or Cozumel s shops.After a 25 million dollar investment, this resort offers upgraded facilities and a unique vacation experience for the discerning traveler. The place to discover three experiences: great Dive, unique Spa treatments and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Resort And Spa
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Intercontinental Cozumel
El Presidente Cozumel
Cozumel Presidente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.