We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palancar Reef

Palancar Reef
Parque Marino de Cozumel | One mile off the southeastern coast, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Improve this listing
Visit Palancar Reef like an insider
Top Rated
$48*
and up
Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset
Ranked #1 of 146 things to do in Cozumel
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful reef sits in about 80 feet of water and is a popular diving spot.
San Miguel de Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I went there to go diving and it was amazing! I liked the reef and there was a lot of fish. It is a really good place to go for diving and snorkeling, you can go there with all the dive companies.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,045
    198
    46
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Probably healthiest reef I have seen just after Wakatobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Amazing coral formations, very healthy reef. Incredible sponges and an explosion of color and marine life. This place is a must, especially for anyone visiting the island. Make sure you take a professional scuba caterer with fast boats, the ride is typically about 1h from downtown.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great dives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Palancar Caves has great swim throughs. Sharks, turtles, eagle rays and stunning coral formations. Besides Columbia Deep my favorite dive in Cozumel

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breath taking place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Everything was spectacular. What an experience! Our guide Pancho was soooooooooo much fun. I will go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Dived here several times...an easy reef to take beginning divers to. Lots of animal life and interesting corals.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palancar Reef also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Palancar Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palancar Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.