We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palancar Reef

Palancar Reef
Parque Marino de Cozumel | One mile off the southeastern coast, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Improve this listing
Visit Palancar Reef like an insider
Top Rated
$48*
and up
Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset
Ranked #1 of 144 things to do in Cozumel
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful reef sits in about 80 feet of water and is a popular diving spot.
Spring Valley, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you're a diver this is a MUST! There is so much to see on this beautiful reef. I've gone both times I've been to Cozumel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,043
    197
    46
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Carribean Diving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Caribbean diving, do I need to say more? Gin clear water, big deal. You still need to get within 15 feet(5 meters) to really see anything. Give me south pacific diving any day.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good dive shop but all one tank dives”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This Dive shop in the south does all one tank dives if you like that. They are close to the best sites, so you won't have a long boat ride to dive site.There boat is very slow but, bigger than most shop on island

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Atlantis Submarine Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have done this twice and both times it was breath taking. I cannot dive so this is the only way I can see for myself what the reef looks like. It is a little pricey but sooooo worth it. I have some pictures but they did not come out very well because of the low light but the visibilty from the submarine is unobscured.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some of the best diving anywhere in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Beautiful coral and sponge. An abundance of fish, turtles, sharks. Currents are persistent and sometimes very strong.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palancar Reef also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Palancar Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palancar Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.