We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT! Friendly, good food (must diet asap...LOL), gorgeous property.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Allegro Cozumel to your Saves list
Allegro Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 16.5 Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVED IT! Friendly, good food (must diet asap...LOL), gorgeous property.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days per a reccomendation of Dr Hammer whom stays 2 times a year. GORGEOUS. Pure and simple. Plenty of food, clean as a whistle and the sites are to die for. Never in my life have I met such friendly people willing to help with a smile. We didn't have many needs bc our day was-eat at 8am and ran to a pool or ocean, eat lunch and repeat, eat dinner and repeat!!!!! Up by 7 and out cold by 9pm-wore out:) Ocean bar was fun!! The property is so large that you feel very much not in a resort. Yes, beds are a bit firm BUT I put the plush extra comforter until me and all was well. The food was good and differnet every night. Ribs and wings was yummo! Being a no carb eater....I ate nachoes by the plate full!!!!!! Pico to DIE for...and now I must diet-worth it! The kids loved the little cakes, cheese fries and french toast daily. Worth every red cent!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    892
    491
    318
    273
See reviews for
797
746
52
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I would like to take the time to thank all of the staff at Allegro Cozumel. Thank you! This was our family's second time visiting Allegro and was again a wonderful time. Allegro has the best beach on the island. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The resorts layout is open and clean. I would like to thank David who was the entainment director and was great with our kids. He kept kids busy with soccer, beach vollyball, spanish lessons and bingo. Just a great guy! We'll be back again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at the Allegro May 4th-9th. I was very pleased & would not hesitate to stay here again. I've been to Cozumel several times before & I've stayed at the Iberostar & the Occidental Grand (royal club). As far as I'm concerned this hotel was not that different then those two. It does not have the entertainment that you find at the Iberostar & it does not have the gated off Royal Club you'll find at the Occidental Grand. But what it does have that I felt was better then both of those resorts was the beach. So for me it was well worth sacrificing the entertainment & royal club. It's the beach most of us go for anyway. Oh yea if you have children they have a great water park & playground for them. And at night they have a mini disco for the kids in the theater area. We don't have children but I could tell the kids were really enjoying themselves. The staff were all so friendly & helpful. The grounds are beautiful with lots of beautiful greenery & iguanas to admire when walking. The rooms are average in size but serve their purpose. The beds are hard, but we like a firm mattress, so no problems there. Housekeeping did a great job. Sometimes there is a mildewed, moldy & occasional sewage smell you may get a whiff of. But it's the same smell I've experienced at other places I've stayed at in Cozumel. The food is average & comparable to the other all inclusive resorts. The food is just different in Mexico so don't expect what you get back in the states. Even if it looks the same it may not taste the same. We always found something to eat & enjoy at all of the buffet times. I would not hesitate to stay here again, & next time we'll bring family & friends. Thanks for the wonderful vacation Allegro staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just returned from a week in the Allegro Cozumel. This was our second stay and like last time, I felt really comfortable at the hotel. Whether you're going to enjoy your stay will depend on your expectations - the Allegro is not a perfect luxury hotel. It is however beautifully laid out, with well kept gardens, good sized rooms with a balcony or terrace and hammock each. The rooms were clean with plenty of fresh towels every day. The beach is lovely with enough space and beach chairs to enjoy spending the day there. Great cocktail menu and good quality - used real fruit and fruit puree unlike some other places which used articficial flavours for the Margaritas & co. The dive shop on site provides good service and easy access to Cozumel's dive sites. We also enjoyed the food for breakfast and dinner - but don't go too late in the evening, the quality and selection was far better during our normal dinner time between 19:00 and 20:00 than the one night we went after 21:00.
If you're looking for a nice place with a relaxed atmosphere to do your diving from the Allegro is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Allegro Cozumel is one of our favourite return destinations. The newly renovated 1st Club suites have been tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The Allegro staff are friendly and always happy. Raul ensured we enjoyed the best dinner service and the staff and management in the first club worked to make our stay most memorable. Met some great folks from all over too. Thanks to everyone for a great holiday!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great staff, very attentive. Beautifully kept gardens. Good location for divers, near the reefs. Beautiful beach with plenty of lounges. Corona beer on tap, A hammock on every porch! Breakfast ok but ............poor food selection available for lunch and dinner!! Not sure what some of it was. Two restaurants had minimal reservations available. It is a $16 taxi ride to get to town to find a restaurant. Beds were hard on cement pedestals. The dive shop, although we paid in advance, had no room for us on the boat the first morning! And lastly, I didn't enjoy being harassed by time share people who some how had a desk in front of the lobby and cafeteria!! (Those people should be back at the airport)!!!
ie. nice hotel, poorly managed

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela S, Social Media Coordinator at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Mr Caribean_man
We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments and impressions during your recently stay with us. Rest assures that our Food and Beverage manager is considering your review to improve the service. We apology to hear that you have not good experience with the Dive shop; we will send the review to the management. Our management will take the necessary measures with the Time Share staff.
Hopefully give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Thank you to all the great staff especially David how make sure that every time we cross him by was asking if everything was OK.

We have visit Allegro Cozumel in March 2013, and we had another wonderful time in Cozumel. My wife and I have stayed in different resorts every time we come. The Allegro is by far our favourite. The beach is perfect (one of the nicest in Cozumel. The room staff were great and had our room cleaned well every day.

The buffet food was very good with different themes every night. The 2 à la carte restaurants, Chinese and Mexican, were excellent. Make your reservation and give them a try... you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Address: Km 16.5 Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegro Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel resort. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegro Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.