We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy Mattresses” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Allegro Cozumel to your Saves list
Allegro Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 16.5 Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
STACY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Moldy Mattresses”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently stayed here and I must say this hotel has gone down hill. We have stayed here three times before and this was terrible!! The roof leaked and our room was flooded. We had standing water on the floor and our beds were soaked. We pulled back the sheets and there was black mold on the mattresses!! We slept on Moldy beds and all got sick. We will never stay at this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Carolyn T,

Please allow me to express my deepest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We are committed to providing our guests with an enjoyable vacation and it appears that we fell short of this during your stay.

Our rooms are designed with thatched roofs to provide guests with an authentic tropical experience and our rooms are usually in very good condition, our maintenance and housekeeping team typically work diligently to ensure this. I have addressed your comments with our departments to inspect the issues you had in the room and confirm all are resolved.

I regret to hear that your fourth stay with us was not pleasant and I truly hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you,

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at socialmedia@mx.occidentalhotels.com I will make sure your next stay will be most enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    893
    491
    318
    274
See reviews for
798
746
52
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

inconsistent service - some staff bent over backwards to accommodate and some did not
decent food, need more healthy choices
beautiful location, beach and pool were kept in wonderful condition
equipment for diving and complimentary snorkeling was sturdy, well-made, and clean

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After vacationing in Cancun several times I was let down by this resort in Cozumel. I consider myself a very fair rater of hotels, resorts and restaurants. The Allegro needs a complete facelift. It is old and worn out. The draperies had holes in them, the tile is coming off of the showers as well as one of the pools. Just a bunch of tiles laying in the bottom of the pool. I am used to waking up in the morning and the resort being "refreshed". At this resort the workers don't start cleaning up the pool and beach areas until well after 9:00 a.m. from the day before. Here is something interesting........I put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door one day to take a nap. The housekeeper came and tried to get in and when she couldn't she had the desk call the room to find out if we wanted the room cleaned! What part of Do Not Disturb do they not get? The walls were paper thin. Could completely hear the conversation next door verbatim. So I guess that meant they could here mine as well. Our air conditioner had a loose belt or something and made a terrible noise 24 hours. I asked to be moved and they said no. The food was good and the location outstanding. Despite the lackluster of the hotel no one can take away from the beauty of the caribbean sea and fantastic weather. I won't stay here again, but I will go back to Cozumel.

Room Tip: Be a time share member. That is the ONLY way to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Allegro Cozumel - March 22 to 29th.
The facts: Airport taxi drop off at multiple resorts - $11.50 USD
Allegro Cozumel taxi to airport - $290.00 Pesos
Taxi to Punta Lagosta (shopping centre w/Starbucks) - $180.00 Pesos or $17.00 USD
Intenet at resort - $20.00 USD per day.
Average temperature curing stay - 27 Celsius
Breakfast @ 7 AM /Lunch @ 12 PM /Dinner @ 6 PM
Studio room equipped w/ LCD TV; Dvd player; stereo; fridge; microwve; coffee expresso maker; safe  

The Allegro Cozumel is very similar to the Allegro Playacar in Playa Del Carmen, except with a few more ammenities. What it doesn't have is close proximity to town, as it's located in the playa region of the island. There are more pools than Playacar with additional jaccuzis, as well as a kids water slide park, instabank machines (they're safe to use - USD & Pesos) and a 24/7 laundry mat and a gym, which is great!

While this is the place for snorkelling or scuba diving to the reef, the beach is not as nice as Playacar, especially since the reclamation of Playa Del Carmen beaches after the hurricanes. If you run out of sun tan oil, don't waist your money on the  town tourist strip, head to the Mega Super mercato, just before Punta Logosta. Prices are like Walmart there. Mega is also found in Playa Del Carmen, next to Walmart. If you are looking for Starbucks and wifi in Cozumel, it's located at Punta Lagosta.

Word of caution at the resort, line ups for lunch at the pool snack restaurant is long and I've never seen so many people waiting for breakfast at Topas main buffet at 7AM. The nice thing about the Allegro Cozumel is that there are no other resorts right next to it. You have to walk about half mile along the beach before you get to the next resort. The food is pretty consistent with other Allegros, neither great nor bad, just don't expect gourmet and remember, it's never as bad as Cuba!LOL

The staff at all Allegros are the asset of the resort, they will go out of their way for you! The grounds are always luscious and the beauty of these mid sized resorts is convience of everything within walking distance. You don't have to take a golf cart to get to the beach or dinner. Rooms are adequate, I'll post pictures of mine with microwave, bar & fridge. Airconditioning worked well and I had a hot shower, when I needed it. Mosquitos weren't much of a problem here, maybe because I had a friendly gecko in my room taking care of them. Don't worry, they're harmless, if you have a top floor room, they stay near the thatched roof. Word of caution, if you don't like noise, ask for a ground floor room!

All in all, it was a great stay and I got what I needed,  much needed R&R. Stay for the sunsets, they are spectacular! The next time I'm back, I will visit Stingray beach and play with the Stingrays! Cheers, you've now got the scoop!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Generally the place was very clean, food was excellent to us, snorkelling trip was amazing, and apparently it is one of the best place for scuba diving as I overheard from everyone who went.

The rooms were very well kept, small, but plenty of room for the amount of time you spend in there. The only odd thing was the sulphur smell for the first 2 minutes when you turned the water on. Mattresses very hard, too bad it took us 3 days to figure out they had foam toppers that could go on the beds, that made it more bearable.

Buffets were very good, sometimes a line due to the fact they wanted to seat you. the waiters were excellent, very attentive, food choices were always pretty good. The Oriental a la carte was fantastic, I recommend the sweet and sour pork dish.

Grounds, pools, were the same as every other place we have been to, the kids water park was great fro little ones. Some lineups at bars, seemed like they should have had a bar opened near the front of the resort all day, that would have helped a lot.

Beach was great, gets deep a little quick, but there were always fish, stingrays etc to see right around the shore.

Excursions, we went on the 3 reef snorkel trip, was amazing, $40 a person + $3 for some eco marine deal i didnt understand, you see some really great stuff and swim in above reefs that are 40 ft + down, really cool.

We also rented a jeep and took a tour around the island, not much to see, we went to an eco park by the lighthouse for $8 each, and saw some crocodiles, local wildlife etc, were only there for a 1/2 hr so wasnt really a big deal. Went on a sunday with the jeep and that was a mistake since most things in the city were closed.

If you are going to buy something there be aware that they want to haggle, take their price and offer 75% less, you will always end up at 50% of what they are originally asking. (that tip thanks to the Nolitour Rep) Also the cruise ships stop in the city, so make sure the vendors know you want the non-cruise ship prices, they jack everything up for those people.

One bit of a warning, they are trying to sell Vacation packages for 25 years here sort of like a time share thing, they take you for 2 hours and show you around the Grand resort next door, save your time and dont bother, they will offer you free massage, rebate on a car rental, its NOT WORTH IT. They told us at the end of the presentation they wanted $79,000 USD for this club and wanted 30% right away, I couldnt stop laughing, finally after a bunch of laughter and when we were walkig out they lowered the price to $59,000, then to $29,000 and finally $17,000 for a used club package. They must be doing some business because the room was always full and it looked like they signed people up for this. Very high pressure sales tactics and they make sure you have a credit card before you go so you have no excuses about putting down the 30% deposit right there. JUST SAY NO, unless its for you.

All in all we had a great time, for little under $1000 each adult. First time in mexico but have been to Cuba 4 times and Domican once, so we had some good comparable places.

Room Tip: All superior rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the resort, the second trip there for us. Rooms have been upgraded, and all are nice, except when it rains heavy, the roofs leak, but I heard they will be doing renovations... Staff are very friendly and helpful, food is great, a good variety for everyone. Nice and relaxing, and lots to do,. Take a trip to the other side of the Island, extremely different, and interesting.

Room Tip: If no rain is expected, top floors have a nicer view...love the hammocks on the balcony. All rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've been vacationing at Allegro Cozumel for 20 years, and we consider it our vacation home! The staff -- particularly in First Club -- are thoughtful and friendly. The atmosphere at this resort is more laid-back and relaxed -- just perfect for being rejuvenated! The room accomodations are comfortable and clean. Allegro Cozumel has a wonderful beach -- the sand never gets hot and you can walk forever in either direction! Danny and Maddy are in First Club and will help you with any questions and requests you might have. We love it here and look forward to our next vacation as soon as we leave for our "real" home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Address: Km 16.5 Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegro Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel resort. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegro Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.