We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelito Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelito Cozumel to your Saves list
Hostelito Cozumel
#42 10 Th. Avenue between Juarez and 2 nd. Street, Cozumel 0.777, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Valladolid, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Nice, spacious rooms in the hotel part. Clean. Working TV, nice cool air. There is a kitchen available for use (since it is also a hostel) with a really nice outdoor area to relax/layout. It is located one block from the ferry and just around the corner from downtown Cozumel. I will be staying here the next time I am in COZ.

Room Tip: 1A had a nice, big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    11
    2
    10
See reviews for
6
22
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in Cozumel for a couple of nights and this hostel was great, good price for backpacking and amongst lots of restaurants and close to the town center and port where you get off the ferry. We stayed in a double room which was really nice and had its own bathroom. The hostel also gives discount for the Hostel International card, and provided a breakfast each morning. Although we were far from the beach we rented a motorcycle from a store near the hostel and saw some beautiful beaches and had a great time. Would definitely stay here again,.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The location is great.
Very clean.
Staffs are very friendly.
Easy to make friends.
Very cozy spaces to relax.
Good & free WiFi
They have a sharing kitchen.
Cheap:)

Dorm: 150peso per perso.
Double: 450peso per person

I will definitely come back here to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My latest experience with Hostelito was world's apart from my experience of last year. This year, maintenance and management issues abound.

1. The place is no longer very clean and well-kept. Hostelito is not yet shabby, but in two years, if the downward trend continues, it probably will be.

a. the kitchen area is deplorable. it is not thoroughly cleaned every day and the sink arraignment has numerous leaks and operational problems. (faucet, faulty traps, etc.)

b. In my room the fan and a/c unit were both decrepit. Bad bearings on both rendered them so noisy they were unusable.

c. Other room defects, such as warped doors and missing shower tiles, which last year we considered charming, have accumulated to the point of decrepitude.

d. Regular room service is apparently a thing of the past. I realize this is a Hostel, but the private room was said to include daily cleaning. We went 4 days between cleanings.

The staff are all still friendly and helpful. But overall, my most recent experience left me wondering if the ownership of the place had recently changed. If felt as if it had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This was a solid hostel. It is conveniently located quite close to the ferry harbour. I stayed in a private room on the third floor. With two people travelling together it was only slightly more to get a private rather than dorms. The dorm room was quite large with many beds. The private room was good, but the bathroom wasn't cleaned as often as I thought it should.
The hostel has a fully equipped kitchen which is helpful when saving money. There is a beautiful sitting area but the chairs/pillows are often wet or soggy. A nice hammock area improves the overall ambience.

Note: While this is a hostel review, I would like to point out that the beach is very far from here. Most beaches are on the other side of the island, and you must rent a car to get there. If you are thinking about staying at this hostel and walking down to an amazing beach, you may want to rethink your plans.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I been there tow days with tow friends, the staff and the owner are very nice and honest people, the room that we slept on was fine + air condition, free wifi and nice kitchen.

Good value for your money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was my third visit to the Hostelito. I only stayed three nights this time because there were some issues that arose that I hadn't encountered there before. Bed bugs being the first of them. I know it is becoming a bit of a world epidemic so I wasn't too concerned, albeit getting more uncomfortable as the bites accumulated. Certainly it wasn't as clean as it has been in the past, but then I've stayed in places that were dirtier. Then there was someone who was stealing things in the dorm. The staff knew about it, were pretty sure who it was, and had informed other travelers of it, but forgot to tell me. I generally lock my stuff up as they have great lockers, but had left my basically new running shoes out after a long hike in the sun. They were gone within 2 hours and in broad daylight :( Then there was a young man who would sleep all day, and then be up all night with lights on, playing music and burning incense. I am not much of a complaint person and my Spanish is minimal, so I just decided to go elsewhere. I was looking for a monthly rental anyhow, as I was staying for 3 more weeks and there was no real good deal for extended stays at the Hostilito. I found a place at Casa Nostrom for 3500 pesos for the month, including everything - taxes, AC, wireless, two beds, TV, kitchenette, secure entrance. I would go back to the Hostilito as it is in a great location to down town and my previous experiences there have been great. I hope they decide to clean it up and tighten up on the rules a little so everybody can have a safe, enjoyable stay there.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the private rooms upstairs. If you are traveling with one or more others, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelito Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelito Cozumel

Address: #42 10 Th. Avenue between Juarez and 2 nd. Street, Cozumel 0.777, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostelito is located in downtown Cozumel, only two blocks away from the ocean and the main entrance to the Island, the local pier. From our affordable and clean hostel, it's only a short walk to San Miguel Historical Church and the Main Plaza where most of the restaurants, bars, banks, dive shops, and all kind of services are located.Información GeneralOur hostel is ideal for the budget conscious traveler, who is looking for comfortable, clean, spacious, and well located accommodations. Hostelito has 26 beds in a dorm, with separate showers and hot water all day. Each bed has its own extra big locker with its own padlock, in the dorm which is an open space area with plenty of ventilation.We provide 24 hours front desk service, and luggage storage room. All of our new orthopedic beds come with clean linens, sheets, and pillows. In our lobby you will find books for reading, wireless internet, cable TV. We have common kitchen totally full equipped, sundeck roof, hammocks where you can relaxing and chill out. For our guests looking for privacy, we offer a group room, for groups from 4 to 9 people, with their own locker, private bathroom, fridge and A/C. We also offer private single or double rooms with two beds, closet, private bathroom, fridge, A/C and cable TV. Jr.suite room with 1 double bed, interior kitchen, cable TV, A/C and private shower. Suite whit a bedroom, private shower, living room, interior kitchen, A/C and private balcony. . Safety box service at reception.Cozumel heaven on earth gives you a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelito Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelito Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.