We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing, beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas El Encanto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villas El Encanto to your Saves list
Villas El Encanto
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Calle 21 Sur no. 44 | corner Av. 5, Cozumel 77663, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I'm sorry Ana for not writing a review that I promised almost a year ago! The owner, Ana was very kind and hospitable. Helped us many times for activities and food. When she was not around, her sons would help you with anything you need.

The hotel's interior was impeccably clean during our stay. The property were nicely maintained. It was very private, relaxing, and cozy. The dogs were very cute and peacocks were beautiful (if you are not an animal person, not recommended). A little rusty, but functional bicycles were very helpful riding around in town. It was fun! There is an art shop on site, and the collection there was beautiful. We bought one huge oil painting for a good price.

The only complaint was that our private pool was not really cleaned until almost the end of our trip (though it was still clean enough to enjoy it every night, watching stars).... But overall, it was one of the greatest places that we ever stayed at!

Room Tip: The room with the private pool was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encanto44, Owner at Villas El Encanto, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for your coments , I so happy you stay with us and I hope to see you again,
my best for you and your family.
ANA
VILLAS EL ENCANTO COZUMEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
29
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

In July the property was serioulsy overrun with mosquitos. We shortened our stay there and seeked lodging elsewhere on the island, closer to the ocean/ on the water and significantly reduced our exposure. My son counted the bites on his body in 3 days and there were over 100 of them.The kitchen is not air conditioned, the refrigerator did not cool properly and we paid extra for our private pool which we never could use due to bugs and having frogs in it. The dogs bark frequently and it was not the peaceful outdoor oasis we were hoping for. We woke up to find dog / peacock poop on the patio - it was promptly cleaned and upon check in my 1st night there was a gecko that had nested in the bed. I am not a squeamish individual ( Army RN) and the owner was empathetic but the property is far more rustic than advertised. We tried to sit outdoors numerous times and were unable to do so due to the mosquitos. Bring plenty of repellant - long sleeved clothing if you chose to stay there.

Room Tip: Do not spend the extra money on the "suite" with the private pool. Upstairs may have a cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

For those who love a "homey" feel..that include dogs, peacocks, and a cheery "Good Morning" from owner Ana, son, Martine, and the assorted staff......this is IT!!
We stayed in the upper apt. The small kitchen is basic. It has a good refridgerator, and we enjoyed the ability to easily eat outdoors .
Being on the second floor gave us a breeze on those sultry nights while playing angry birds and sipping rum.
The fresh linenned beds were good.
It would have been nice to have the air-con working up to snuff because of the perviously mentioned humidity. Though there were ceiling fans.
The Beautiful pools were a welcome relief after a hot morning of shopping.
They had a rince tank for scuba gear and were great about letting us dry our stuff. They can also put you in touch with excellent dive & snorkel people. We have dove for years with a good friend of Ana's.
We had a car that we parked safely on the street.
If you like bike riding to get groceries or sight seeing, bring one down , use it ,and leave it here!!
The property is nicely located. Easy walking distance to downtown and to lots of Great restaurants.
I would go back in a heartbeat. Miss you Bekka

Room Tip: If wi-fi is important ask for a room with the best reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenora
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The jungle setting comes with its problems.We stayed in the upper of two apartments and the only table to eat from was outside...where the peacocks often left their calling card.The kitchen was small with no table. The 6 dogs barked on many occasions, when anyone entered or to answer neighbouring dogs through out day. Mosquitos were bad in evening. Internet was only available within 6 feet of back windows; not on balcony. With monthly rental we were charged for drinking water and electricity, which was not documented with a accurate bill; in fact our electric meter turned with ALL power consumption appliances unplugged!
The view was poor and breezes were minimal due to trees and orientation of balcony.

Room Tip: Read your electric meter at start and finish with owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Spent three nights here in May and they couldn't have been better. From the moment we checked in, Anna was there to make sure our stay was perfect -- from bringing a hammock into our room to driving us to the ferry at the end of our stay.

We were the only guests during our stay so we were able to spend a lot of time outside in the courtyard swimming and tanning. Overall, the property is lush and lively (Anna has a few dogs and peacocks) but quiet and relaxed.

I definitely recommend staying here to anyone looking for great service, a great place, and at a great price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I was looking for a place that felt relaxed and original, and I found it. The place is not exactly in the middle of the town, but in Cozumel this is not really a minus, but a plus, since you get a better value and you don't want to be staying around the docks, anyhow. Even if the island itself is beautiful, I think that the best part of Cozumel is not directly on the island, but around it, underwater. Snorkling and diving around the island is a must, taking short breaks to "suffer" in the beach, maybe with a margarita and some delicious shrimp tacos. You can do all this from this place, and enjoy still of relaxing nights and a sultry environment in this hotel!
This hotel is small, some 8-10 rooms I think, and that enables the owner, Ana, and her son to give you a personal and UNBELIEVABLE service! You only need to mention roughly what you want, and she sorts it out, with a smile. She really made our stay a memorable one. And the place itself is really nice, with ample rooms with mini fridge, a common kitchen (we didn't actually cook while we were there, but it's great to be able to do it if you feel like it, or want to save some money by eating in), a great eating area beside the pool and tons more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Anna is so friendly and helpful. The property is beautiful with an amazing pool and lounge area. Kitchen is so nice to have on site and has everything you need!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Encanto

Address: Calle 21 Sur no. 44 | corner Av. 5, Cozumel 77663, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Encanto 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villas “El Encanto”, a new concept of lodging, the ideal place to relax and feel like at home. Villas “El Encanto” is a family business, personally attended by the owners. Inspired by the Mexican minimalist architecture, surrounded by tropical gardens and jungle, only one block from the Caribbean Sea, three blocks from the commercial area of the island of Cozumel and 5 minutes from de International Airport. An ideal refuge to harmonize, rest, and relax your mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Villas El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas El Encanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.