We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant surprises” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residencias Reef Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residencias Reef Condos
San Francisco Beach, Cozumel, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unpleasant surprises”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

After carefully and thoroughly researching Residenicas Reef we did not expect so many dogs here. The barking of small and big dogs, both leashed, unleashed and trying hard to get off leash, made for an unpleasant stay here, sad to say, for our entire extended stay. Management was great but their hands were tied since dogs of all sizes and temperaments, on or off leash, and cats roaming free on the grounds, were permitted. We witnessed dogs and cats defecating and urinating on the sandy beach, the grounds of the condos, next to the two pools and at the edge of our patio of the unit we rented. The smells were quite strong every day from this as it is the tropics, and sad to know all this washes right out to the Caribbean Sea as a source of pollution and bacteria. No one was picking up after them. We did not appreciate being snipped at, barked at and jumped at by the small high strung dogs staying there as we tried to get to the pool or beach from our unit for our entire stay. We tried to avoid the dogs every day but it was hard to find a pet free relaxing place while we were there that did not smell like waste.
We had a problem with itching bites all over our bodies every night, which turned into severely itching and painful big red welts with severe conjunctivitis in both eyes. We never experienced that in all our many years travelling to the Mexican Caribbean, that was a first and a painful, most unpleasant experience.
It was our first time at RR and we had an uncomfortable stay to say the least. We did not sleep well the whole time with the barking and bites on our skin at night.
RR has great, wonderful potential if it was dog and cat free, and if was better maintained for indoor bug problems. But since each unit is privately owned, one can bring or do almost anything here regardless of the comfort of other guests. You can really say it was a lot more like a pet motel here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OK.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We can't say enough good things about Residencias Reef condos, especially the owners and condition of 8310. This particular property is owned by a family who own several condos at this property. These people were simply wonderful and easy to work with. The condo has extra special amenities, and the owner took great care to put together all sorts of scrapbooks with information around the island.

They seemed to think of everything. It was a comfortable bed, and they even had a welcome basket of goodies waiting for us when we arrived. The bummer was no hot tub. There was a "jacuzzi" on the property, but it was a cold jacuzzi, so no hot water

We loved the privacy of this complex and found the neighbors friendly as well. This was not a place to party, and that is exactly what we wanted. The party places were next door, so if you really must party, you can find that nearby. The main disappointment was that everything was so far away, and the prices at the local restaurants were jacked up for the tourists. We simply drove our rental car to find some delicious local food for a fraction of the price.

Thanks again! You can check out condo 8310 at www.cozumello.com and find their other properties as well. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We travel to a different place each year. This condo community has some very positive elements and just a few negative points:

Pros: Away from town/quiet, clean/modern units, daily cleaning service, 2 medium sized pools, a tropical mangrove preserve (with an occasional iguana!) on site, very friendly and helpful staff; good diving and snorkeling, just off the beach.

Cons: several commercial beach "clubs" about 1000 feet up the beach, complete with just about every piece of beach equipment you can imagine crammed onto the beach (and we were trying to get AWAY from the Jersey Shore) - while the clubs were fairly empty, I shudder to imagine a February experience. A relatively shallow beach with a fair bit of stone/coral on the bottom - this is not the prototypical white sandy beach, but still nice

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

When renting a condo, it's as important to due your due diligence on the owner or property management company as it is to be positively influenced by pictures and descriptions. After reading two less than enthusiastic reviews about the property that occured within several weeks of our arrival, I followed up directly with the property management company "At Home in Cozumel" to confirm that the issues addressed in the last two reviews had been addressed - moldy ceiling areas and broken patio furniture (important with a beachfront patio!). I was assured by both the US office and the local manager (Javier) that the issues would be addressed. Sceptic that I am, I had backup reservations for a few nights elsewhere, but upon arrival we were happy to discover that they wouldn't be needed. The condo was freshly painted before we arrived and the broken patio lounge had been replaced. The condo was clean and welcoming. It was a relief as it could have been a vacation dampener and I want to say many thanks to the local property manager and the property management company in the US for making the improvements.

5230 is a one bedroom condo located on the 2nd floor of the building located directly on the San Francisco beach. We picked the location for its proximity to areas we would be diving. The beach is OK for walking - but you'll want beach shoes or flip flops - this is not soft sand. RR is located next to the Wyndham Aura (Adult only property) and has a substantial beach area directly in front of the buildings. It has two pool areas, one located directly off the beach with nice lounge chairs and a covered are with tables and chairs. The beach has lounge chairs for RR Guests on the beach and palapas for shade. During our stay the property was pleasantly quiet - we were never bothered by loud music or screaming kids and we heard little noise from the condos around us except for the usual conversations on outdoor balconies.

Dive/fishing boats will pick you up from the Wyndham pier but the watersports concession for the hotel (Sandollar) charges a $3.00 fee for people being picked up by any other operators. The other pier in the area is free but it's a bit of a walk with dive gear.

The condo does look like the pictures and I'm attaching some we took as well. It has all the basic features and amenities you need as well as some nice extras like wireless internet access, Vonage phone and a DVD player with a stock of DVDs in case your weather turns nasty. There is daily maid service (timing of service varies) which takes care of basic cleaning and housekeeping. Any towels or sheets left on the floor will be laundered but it's usually up to you to finish the drying or fold the towels since the machines take a while to complete their cycles. We only had one unfortunate incident when we returned to the condo to find the laundry machine left running by the maid had overflowed... and we spent 10-15 minutes mopping up the water and then threw everything into the dryer. As the reviews have said there is a strange leak from the shower, but nothing a strategically placed handtowel couldn't fix.

We felt the condo was good value for the money and we liked the ability to make our own breakfasts, snacks etc... and it was nice to intersperse dinners out with eating in. A rental car is a must. There is very little infrastructure in close proximity to the condos. All basic services (gas, groceries, restaurants) are in town - about a 10 minute drive north and you'll want a car to expore the other side of the island with it's beautiful beaches and beachfront eateries and drinkeries.

We would recommend this condo for someone looking for a bit more room and a clean, "self-serve" beachfront location near great dive sites.

I've written a separate review on the restaurants we liked and the dive operator we used.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We just returned from Cozumel and had a terrific time. We stayed at the Residencias Reef, family atmosphere with snorkeling right in front of the condo. Favorite eats: Money Bar, Wet Wendy's and PePe's. The highlight of our trip was getting certified as scubadivers. We booked our open water with scubadogs, Erick Cruz.. Erick had his hands full with me, a 50 YR old lady pursuaded by the family to try diving. Erick was very patient and did a great job making me feel safe and more confident. Erick's helper, Marco, did wonderful job with our 10 yr. old son, Jake. We went on seven dives and saw a wealth of fish, shark, lobster etc. The locals we all friendly and helpful, we'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We truly loved the condo we stayed in. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the condo-It was way more than we could have asked for. The pools were great and the site was very nice. The draw backs were: Downtown is far and cost $15.00 USD each way. The amenities that are advertised as being available-Wyndham resort restaurants, snorkeling equip. etc is no longer available to families as they are transitioning to an "Adult Only" facility. We were not treated with respect whenever we attempted to go to these places. We would definately return but rent a car and know that we do not have access to amenities that were advertised.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Reef Residencias condo 8260 was the
perfect getaway for the east coast's snowiest winter. Beachfront palapas and watersports as well as a quiet infinity pool made for a relaxing and exciting vacation. Loved hearing music at the Money Bar down the beach and eating fresh fish and shrimp at the beachfront restaurants. Great for 2,3 or 4 people.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residencias Reef Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencias Reef Condos

Address: San Francisco Beach, Cozumel, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty lodging in Cozumel
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly luxurious beachfront condo development combining exclusive tropical living with white sandy beach and Turquoise Caribbean waters. From studios to 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residencias Reef Condos Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencias Reef Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Residencias Reef Condos to your Saves list