We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chala Really is the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alberto's Beach

Alberto's Beach
Cozumel, Cozumel, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 260 Activities in Cozumel
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Chala Really is the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We have a house in Coz and love to snorkel and to take our friends and relatives with us when they come for a visit. We have tried many, many snorkeling trips on Coz and can definitely say that Chala at Albertos (the one across from El Cedral in the south) is the best guide. Whether you have young children or timid adults, Chala is very patient and does his best to make the trip an exciting and informative one. He shows you sealife that you have never seen before and will modify the trip to suit the requests of his guests. He does not rush but gives more than your money's worth. It is not a "party" type trip although beer and soda are included. You should try to confirm the trip directly with Chala by stopping by Albertos which, by the way, is a lovely spot for a very good Margarita.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oz
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“amazing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We went on the snorkel trip and had a amazing time. We saw a nurse shark, sea turtles. I had never snorkeled on the south end and was in awe on how beautiful it was. Loved the service on the boat and that the guide was not touching all the wildlife nor was he feeding them to attract them. We were take to 2 beautiful reefs and a beautiful white sand bar beach to swim. I will return to do this snorkel trip again, it is the best I have ever been on.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Snorkeling with Chala is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We wondered over from Iberostar to have some drinks at Albertos. Chala came up to our families and asked us to let him take us snorkeling. we negotiated a fair price for the 8 of us. However, we had some stipulations. He was to pick us up at Iberostar and he had to show us sea turtles!!! My wife is a huge turtle fanatic.

Well, Chala kept his promises!!! We saw 4 sea turtles, amongst tons of other stuff that most guides tours wouldn't get to see. He hand fed an Eel, we saw a sting ray, barracuda, lobsters, baby star fish, sting rays, etc. It was amazing!!!!

My wife was so happy she cried when she saw that turtles...

The food at Albertos is top notch. and the view isn't bad either!!!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reef Snorkeling at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Chala and Hosea know their stuff. They also know the reefs and where the underwater creatures hang out. We saw eels, and a moray, sea turtles, sting rays, all kinds of bottom creatures, and myriads of beautiful fish that one only sees in the best aquariums. Go for the three hour tour, for only $40, though by the end you will want to say thanks with more.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's Beach also viewed

 

Been to Alberto's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberto's Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.