We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy margaritas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hogtown Cafe

Hogtown Cafe
Costera Sur Highway, Cozumel, Mexico
52 987 21 651
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 247 Restaurants in Cozumel
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Yummy margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Went her on recommendation from worker at Cozumel humane society to try margaritas which were great plain margaritas pico de gallo also with nice heat

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We love this place. It is right next door to the villa Blanca so we can just walk right down to it so we we there often. Everything we have eaten there is wonderful. The nachos are the best on the island. The fresh fruit plate is so fresh and yummy. AND the prices are very inexpensive. Don't go if you expect fancy, this is a place for people who like low key, kicked back with a friendly atmosphere.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dangerous entry stairs need repair but clean simple food & OK coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just after Hurrican Wilma I went to PapaHog's, struggled with unsafe stairs, and complained to the owner about the rickety stairs and the sorriest excuses for railings I'd seen in many years. He quipped then,"You shoulda seen it BEFORE we fixed it" and laughed it off. Fast forward 4 years, stairs in even worse shape, uneven, broken treads, tacked on rails, chunks missing or rotten, tilted, and no other way to enter, (and no bug hurricanes since Wilma) and after I climbed them using my hands on the stairs, expressed surprise, I got the SAME lame excuse and dismissive attitude from the owner! Clearly his dive business is making money now, having expanded dramatically since we were first there, with a strong Canadian market niche. So why not fix the crummy stairs? All I can figure is they know Mexican laws don't make it easy to sue for damages. It doesn't give me great confidence in their dive boats, but maybe that is their priority. Kill off the old people who can't leap up 9 stairs without a rail because they aren't diving anyway? So for now I'll order Hogtown food from La Palapita and go to La Hach if I want to site down for a meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location, quaint place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

If you find yourself out south of town in need of food and nourishment look no further. I highly recomend the chimichanga, beef or chicken, and if you happen to hit it right when they have been out fishing you can not go wrong with the catch of the day, none fresher.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Best margaritas on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Casual open air restaurant with a simple, delicious menu - and the BEST margaritas you will have in Cozumel. The staff are great, the owners - Michael and Margaret - are fabulous! Nachos, quesadillas - all great - but try the margs, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hogtown Cafe also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Hogtown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hogtown Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.