We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very outstanding food and drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Perlita

La Perlita
10th St. Between Ave 65 Bis and Ave 70, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
869-8343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 265 restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very outstanding food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went to this restaurant 6-09-2013 with a group of family and friends. This is my second time visiting this place. I got the idea of going to the mercado (market) to purchase fresh fish, shrimp and octopus. I bought 2 big pargos, a kilo of jumbo shrimp and an octopus. Took to Perlita. Talked to chef and waiter. They cooked fish and shrimp and fish half fried and half grilled. Served up up on platters family style. Vegetables, rice and black beans. Wow what a feast. Overkill on the fish 7 of us could not finish fish so we took the rest home. Tasted good next day. a few days later we went in for breakfast. It was ok. Went again for a dinner and ordered a grilled platter with fish, shrimp, lobster, pulpo, and conch. It was very good. The liquor on the drinks is poured not measured so the drinks are nice and strong. The owner has a social conscience and gives food and drink to the poor that would come by asking for help.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    166
    53
    14
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Huge portions of great food !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent variety of cheviche and cooked seafood. We had an enormous portion of mixed ceviche which 4 of us shared. Al of the main dishes were great which included seafood stuffed peppers, octopus with garlic, baked fish ...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Local SeaFood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This restaurant is out of the normal tourist trap restaurants, and is worth the taxi trip to! Fresh local food is served, we had the king fish prepared with spicy red sauce, and the fresh fish fried with coconut and mango sauce. The chips and salsa were awesome and so fresh, and the waiter was patient in answering all of our questions. We also had the fish soup that was very tasty, but if you don't like that 'fishy' smell in food items, do not get it. Also don't forget to ask for some of their fresh refried beans!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2 for 1 lionfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thursday is 2 for 1 lionfish at La Perlita! There are 4 preparations, all are very good but the coconut is outstanding. The ceviche is very good also. It is a cab ride from town but cab drivers knew where it was and it was easy to find one when we were ready to leave. We ate there twice (2 thursday nights) this trip and have eaten there during previous visits. We have found that the service is always very helpful but a bit slow. I agree with gscar35 that it is probably because all food is cooked to order and there only appears to be one cook. The atmosphere is clean and typical of Cozumel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Park, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food at reasonable prices!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We juts came back from Cozumel and we couldn't leave without stopping at our favorite seafood restaurant, what can I say just remembering what we ate makes my mouth watering. Owner treats your as a friend and always looking to please you, you must go if you are in Cozumel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perlita also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Perlita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Perlita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.