We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST/Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobster House

Lobster House
North Hotel Zone Km 4.5 | Right Across the Street From "Playa Azul Hotel", Cozumel 77600, Mexico
+52 987 107 3116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 249 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A romantic place in which lobster is the only dish served, we have been doing it for 31 years to serve you the best in town
Beaumont, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The BEST/Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

They have mastered the Lobster, it was out of this world good. We had a large group and everyone enjoyed - Margarita's are great too! Just a short ride in a taxi for a great experience

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    41
    6
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The most amazing lobster ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We came for dinner here last night! Was a little surprised that their was no actual menu and the only main was lobster (but soon realised we mixed this restaurant with the one next door) , however we are so glad this happened!!

We had pink conch chowder for entree, which was soooo amazingly tasty. And warm bread to go with it!!

Then we had one lobster tail (which we got to choose ourself) and they split it so we could have half each. The lobster was accompanied with rice, vegetables and a butter sauce! The lobster was the best lobster either of is had ever tasted! Previously we'd only ever had it grilled- which makes it dry. This lobster was boiled or steamed and it just feel apart - was sooooo yummy!!!!

We then had a slice of key lime pie for dessert- which was also delicious!!

The waiter and the owner were both so lovely and friendly and the restaurant had a great peaceful atmosphere!!

If you want to try some amazing lobster- definitely come here!!!! It was a little pricey, but well worth every penny!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wife: BEST MEAL OF THE TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The ambiance of the hole in the wall Lobster House is endearing as they seat you. Nautical theme, friendly staff, and the owner is walking about, ensuring all is well.

At the very same time, you may be lucky enough (as we were) to see a local fisherman walk in with the day's catch of lobster- weighed out and paid to the fisherman just as you order. What a feeling to see your dinner go directly from the fisherman to the grill. What a treat, even for me, as a deep sea fisherman myself.

The fried shrimp get a HUGE thumbs up from my wife, and great portions too. Don't fill up on bread, as the meal will satisfy you immensely.

A personal note: the Cesar salad is easily in the top 3 of any that I have ever had. Fresh romaine leaves with a light dressing, black pepper and parmesan. I've woken up dreaming about this salad.

Overall, if you are staying on the north end of the island, do yourself a favor and walk here. The new sidewalk is lovely and well lit. If you are staying down south, grab a taxi. you will not regret it.

***No Credit Cards, but there is an ATM in the lobby of the Melia***

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great meal and a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The atmosphere was a delight! We dined late in the evening and sat in the back where we were surprised to find that we were outdoors amidst illuminated palm trees. After being served with excellent margaritas and pina coladas, My wife and two daughters and I were invited to chose our lobster tails. The lobster was served split and perfectly steamed with a side of vegetables, rice and drawn butter. The vegetables and rice were delicious and were an excellent accompaniment to the lobster. Our waiter was fun and provided us with photo opportunities with sombreros LED illuminated masks and an animated plush lobster. and capped off the experience with a delicious banana drink. It was a great balance of all the things that make for a great dining experience. I will be sure to return on my next trip and would highly recommend!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fun, yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I have enjoyed the Lobster House for over 20 years, this summer we brought the kids, my mom and niece. Everyone loved it. Just lobster, rice and veggies. Perfectly steamed. Margaritas are perfect. Don't forget the banana drink in a shot glass to finish the evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster House also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.