We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guido's

Guido's
Ave. Rafael E. Melgar #23 | Between Calle 6 & 8 North, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
+52 (987) 872-0946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 247 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Cozumel restaurant established in 1978, Yvonne's daily Specials of fresh fish, seafood platters and meats are well known to locals and tourists alike.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We go to Guido's every year when we visit Cozumel. It is our favorite restaurant. The food is great and we love the courtyard.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    194
    49
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Consistantly Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We enjoyed another great meal & service last week during Carnival. My wife and I both had the lobster tail, shared a garlic bread (must do!), a half jug of their famous Sangria and unique mud pie dessert (wow!). Great ambiance in the rear garden so, try and avoid sitting at the front of the restaurant if you have a choice. They take reservations so I suggest you make one if visiting during high tourist season. Pricing of most entres will be $200 - 300 mxn but their are a number of dishes under $200. Conveniently located on Rafael Malgar, a block from the Museum, is an easy walk from the centro plaza.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilberforce, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“stuffed again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

go for the seafood or cowboy porkchop it is huge and a too die for cheesecake. Service is very prompt and friendly

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Our favorite for a fancy dinner on Cozumel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The food and service here are very good. The waiters are helpful, and every thing we have tried is good. This is the closest to formal dining we have found in our 20 or so years coming to Cozumel, and we always make sure we have dinner here once or twice. The atmosphere is cozy but open air, a little dark but attractive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
“The worst meat quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I gave a second chance to Guidos, the first time the steak was really bad, this time was even worse, the main waiter not nice at all, when I complaint about it he went inside, he talked with a woman that just discused with him, at the end I had to pay for everything that I even didn't eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozumelYvonne, Owner at Guido's, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Your opinion gives us the opportunity to grow through learning from our mistakes. Hopefully you'll give us the opportunity to make amends in the future.
Sincerely,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guido's also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Guido's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guido's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.