We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Moro

El Moro
80 Avenue between 2 and 4 Streets North, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
987-23029
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 247 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Ladoga, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best meal of our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

My family love this place,party of 5,hard to find ready to give up then notice sign on light pole showing direction.We payed 100.00 for 5 people including drinks best deal I found on island wii return

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    77
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local Treat - Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

After three days of Italian food the other half really wanted a place with legitimate local food. We asked our dive master and he suggested El Moro. We wrote the address down and told the taxi where to take us. We later saw taxis circling trying to find it so give them the actual address as its tucked back in a reaidential area.
This is not a spot for people who need cloth napkins or dont enjoy leaving the beaten path. It is rustic put clean and simple. The drinks were very good and they even made salsa for me without peppers since I am a wimp. The service was great, portions were large and the food was excellent. We almost licked the plates. Feeling completely stuffed we finished the meal when the owner came to the table to personally great us and thank us for coming to his "house". He brought us a complimentary shot of something that tasted a bit like ouzo and described how it is made from honey and a flower grown only in the Yucatan. Great experience.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service with a caveat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We ate here three times this trip. Love the restaurant, very friendly staff, a wide variety of menu items and good service. The prices here are considerably lower than most Cozumel restaurants. The caveat is this. They said they were serving Grouper as their fish. They were not serving Grouper. Grouper is very thick fish with large flakes. What we were served was the opposite. We had three very good meals there and after the first time, we knew we would not be getting Grouper and we went back anyway. It would be nice if they were honest about what they were serving. but its worth a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is just a great place with a large menu you cant go wrong. We were there with a party of 9 and the service was very good and every one enjoyed the food and they make graet drinks.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield,IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in Cozumel....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The reviews on El Moro on TA are spot on. This place is out of the way but worth the drive. Not as hard to find as some said. Just look at Google Maps satellite and you can easily locate it. We did it in the dark. Awesome food and drinks. Great service. Do yourself a favor and check this place out for some great authentic Mexican food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Moro also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Moro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.