We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to get great Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Moro

El Moro
80 Avenue between 2 and 4 Streets North, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
987-23029
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 247 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to get great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Try the Migaleto Special. It is located about two bocks from the big shell monument in the center of the road.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    77
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Food at a great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This place way out somewhere...have to take a cab, However it was one of the top places to eat in Cozumel. Prices were great service was even better. Take the risk and try it...Tell the cab you take to pick you up in a couple hours and you wont have to worry.
I almost didn't go due to it being out of walking distance...Of course I would hat for too many people to start going as I want to be able to walk in and sit right down!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Order Carlos' pork chops. It is a huge pork chop with beans, French fries, a onion, and rice. The grilled fish de ajo was grilled to perfection. You will think it’s a fishing town. But I do not recommend the fried bananas if you want a banana just eat a banana it does not need to be fried. The people there were super nice and they helped as much as they made us feel welcomed.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Attentive, gracious, fun, and just plain good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

El Moro has been on our "Must Do" list for many years, and this year we did it twice. Helser, always friendly and sincere, was our waiter the first night. I had Grouper Perlan with a very tasty topping o tomato sauce, mushrooms, shrimp, and peas. My husband had a large grilled chicken breast. We drank wine and Sangria for $32 plus tip. Rey, smiling and gracious, was our waiter the second night. Hubbie had Red Snapper Perlan and I had Red Snapper Papillotte Moro for $29 plus tip. I have usually ordered Grilled Shrimp here, but have a new favorite in the Fish Perlan. Yum! Love the open door neighborhood atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What is there not to like?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

One of Cozumel's longtime favorites.Wide menu selection and good prices.Not your typical restaraunt location,but a touch of a more local type place back in one of the Cozumel neighborhoods

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Moro also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Moro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.