We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pancho's Backyard

Pancho's Backyard
Rafael Melgar 27, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
(987) 872-2141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 265 restaurants in Cozumel
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Panacea, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Absolutely the best guacamole that I've ever had! Great food, great atmosphere and a great mango margarita!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    335
    129
    51
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hidden gem, nice cool spot right off the main stretch.
Waiter was very friendly and funny. WiFi was available which was a plus. Food was good and reasonably priced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good Location, Decent Food, Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was an interesting location. If you're on a cruise, it's one of the first restaurants that you will come across, but convenience does not equal quality. If you're just here for the day on a cruise, it's fine for a quick bite. If you're here for a few days, I would skip it and find better alternatives.

PROS:

- If you're on a cruise, it's right there in front of you.
- The prices are not unreasonable.
- The frozen margaritas were decent.
- The marimba players were fun.
- Great views of the ocean/ships.

CONS:

- Wait staff was apathetic. They spent most of the time at the counter talking (I'm hopeful not about customers). If they spent as much time talking to customers as they do each other, this place would feel more welcoming.
- I wanted to substitute another ingredient on the menu for something else (I was willing to pay more), and they said, "No substitutions," which to me was another example of customers coming second.
- Super-slow service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Panchos located next to the cruise ship pier. The food was great. We ate outside by the water which was wonderful. We had two small children who loved trying to get into the hammocks. Service was quick and food served hot. Drinks were also great. We recommend it. A great place to stop and relax before you get back on the ship

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food, gimmicky.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

food was great! place was great! but we are from New Mexico, and it read like any of the touristy Mexican restuarants we have. The marimba players were amazing, though. All, in all, go, have a good time, but visit some of the taquerias further up from the main street to get a good feel. Oh, they also do to-go margaritas. Especially nice after lunch to take with you while you shop

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's Backyard also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pancho's Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancho's Backyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.