We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mission

La Mission
Adolfo Rosado Salas entre calle 5 y avenida Rafael E. Melgas (malecon), Cozumel 77600, Mexico
9878726340
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mission is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 264 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: entre calle 5 y avenida Rafael E. Melgas (malecon)
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great place to eat, good service, good food, good service, for small $.. always eat here at least once when In Coz

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    273
    84
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hale, Mi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wife and I ate here and enjoyed the food. atmosphere is nice but the waiters are trying to get in the tourists and at times forget to wait on those already there. ( Granted that is when they make there money. With the cruise ships and us tourist)
Other than that very nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went into town on Father's Day this past Sunday and were delighted to find La Mission open, as many businesses were closed on Sunday or perhaps for Father's Day. La Mission was on our list of places to try based on the wonderful reviews. I'm sad to say that we weren't impressed.

The host seated us and someone we thought was our server took our drink order. A different person delivered our drinks, a different person took our food order, and yet a different person delivered our food. It was a bit confusing, as we didn't know who to ask for what.

We are a friendly family, but the servers at La Mission were not friendly or welcoming with us. We got the feeling we were a bother. No one smiled at us or said "Hola", nothing. Just all business.

I had the coconut shrimp, which was just okay, although the presentation was pretty. I found the flavor of the shrimp bland, but the coconut sauce was nice. My husband had the chicken cordon bleu (I have no idea why since we were at a Mexican restaurant, but I guess he wanted something different. He said it was very average.

Like most Mexican restaurants in town, La Mission was open-air with no a/c. Most of the time, especially in the evenings, this is not a problem. We are from southeast Texas and used to heat and humidity. But for some reason, it was positively stifling in the restaurant, even with fans on.

Service was slow, servers were indifferent to us, and food was blah. We won't be back. I'm bummed because I was really looking forward to this one. Glad there are so many other wonderful alternatives though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damianmirandam, Owner at La Mission, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
La Mission is glad that you visit us in your past visit to Cozumel. We sincerely value our guests’ opinions and strive to provide the best experience possible.

Thank you for the preference and the time to write the review .

That day unfortunately as murphy's law cites "What can go wrong will go wrong"

I do not want to fill the answer with excuses for why service went wrong. On the contrary I want to apologize for the bad service and not meeting the expectations of your visit to La Mission.

We enrolled our staff in motivational courses to not be so serious with customers.
giant fans placed besides the fans already had to create a current of fresh air.
I am personally overseeing food preparation processes for all customers leave happy

Please give us the opportunity to prove why La Mission is a favorite restaurant.

In your next visit personally supervise the service and offer the experience you deserve.

sincerely

owner and friend

DAMIAN MIRANDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

With so many restaurants to choose from in Cozumel it's difficult to select one. The worst is when you pick one and it's terrible. You can't go wrong here. The selection is vast, the food is very good, and the service is top notch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh...Not the best...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Most of the food was just average, service was not good, they never checked if we needed anything, we had to ask twice and still the food that we ordered never made it to the table, although they charged for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damianmirandam, Owner at La Mission, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
La Mission is glad that you visit us in your past visit to Cozumel. We sincerely value our guests’ opinions and strive to provide the best experience possible.

Thank you for the preference and the time to write the review .

That day unfortunately as murphy's law cites "What can go wrong will go wrong"

I do not want to fill the answer with excuses for why service went wrong. On the contrary I want to apologize for the bad service and not meeting the expectations of your visit to La Mission.

We enrolled our staff in motivational courses to not be so serious with customers.
I am personally overseeing food preparation processes for all customers leave happy

Please give us the opportunity to prove why La Mission is a favorite restaurant.

In your next visit personally supervise the service and offer the experience you deserve.

sincerely

owner and friend

DAMIAN MIRANDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mission also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.