We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a most if you are in the Yucatán Peninsula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Chichen Itza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Chichen Itza to your Saves list
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   In the hearth of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Merida, Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Its a most if you are in the Yucatán Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband, daughter and other friends spent the weekend in the hotel. We couldn't had a better reception and attention during our stay. The people who work there are extremely nice. We enjoyed having lunch by the pool and then dinner at the restaurant. The best part is the morning, waking up by the sounds of nature and having breakfast along with some wild bird. The ancient trees, the contact with nature and the view of one of the pyramids from the hotel are just impossible to get from an other hotel. You'll love it!

Room Tip: Pick a bungalow far from the pool, so you'll get more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks for your visit and your wonderful, through review !

You really grasp what The Lodge at Chichen Itza is about. Your family lives in Merida, our Capital.
Your so close to home; Make the Lodge "su casa cerca de su residencia" .

Thank you for sharing your views with the world's traveling community.

Muchas Gracias y hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    42
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
81
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Even though I travel a lot, I never write reviews but this hotel merits one. The gardens are the most gorgeous I have ever seen. The service of the friendly local servers is unbeatable, the food is delicious. The rooms are magnificent, huge and comfortable with locally made amenities which I am already missing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
You just wrote the ultimate compliment... to have your first review to exualt our Lodge !!

Wow! We are all very happy that our efforts inspired you to do so. And grateful for your visit with us.
We look forward to the having the honor of serving you again. Muchas Gracias. Hasta la vista !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We loved this place. Yeah, sure its bang smack next to the ruins so, come on... expect a few visitors.. But.. They're up at the restaurant area and away from most of the lodges. We had 1c and it was heavenly! Woken by bird song, pool outside our door which was pretty exclusive. Quiet and just a brilliant place to stay. Early morning walks a delight. Staff are helpful and food good! Loved it! :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks so much for your BLISS, superlatives ! You really grasped what the Lodge is all about !

We look forward to seeing again. Until then, safe and happy travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here as part of our Yucatan Explorer week. The hotel has a lovely colonial feel and is only yards from the entrance to the Chichen Itza site; our room looked out onto the ruins of the Mayan Observatory. We explored the ruins first thing in the morning thus avoiding all the tour buses and most of the vendors who throng the site later in the day. Our guide was full of information and a love of all things mayan and made a memorable holiday really great. The service and food were excellent and our stay at the Lodge lived up to all our expectations. We could not have chosen a better start to our holiday. We would recommend this hotel and the tour of the Yucatan.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main part of the hotel which was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
WELCOME TO THE YUCATAN PENINSULA .

Delighted to read your comments ! THANK YOU !

You are embarking on a fabulous grand tour of the Yucatan, Mayaland's Yucatan Explorer.
We have been offering this tour since 1921 ! My grandfather designed the original, which back then started and ended in Merida (Cancun was created in 1970). We have enriched it, but the main elements of the experience remain the same. I really look forward to learning from you what you think of it when you have completed the tour.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world's traveling community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We chose The Lodge because it has its own direct access to the sites at Chichen Itza. One can apparently go in and out of the site as often in a day as one wants, although we didn't go back after a very thorough exploration. That's why a host of very famous people have stayed here, including Pavarotti, Grace Kelly, Queen Margarthe of Denmark, etc. The Lodge is coming up for its centenary and in some places shows its age. We stayed in what was called a Royal Mayan Bungalow, Mayan style houses divided into three units with some of the thinnest walls I have ever known. Although the hotel was not full, a French family with 4 children were placed next to us, and we heard every cough and and snuffle in the night. However, the bungalows are set in beautifully manicured gardens, with birds whooping from every branch, and a resident iguana outside our front door. Breakfast is included in the cost and was absolutely inedible, but lunch and dinner, which could have capitalised on an almost captive market, were both very good at very reasonable prices, taken on a terrace oozing tropical charm. So, all in all, we felt that the pros outweighed the cons - certainly the way to get the best out of a visit to Chichen Itza.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Chichen Itza.

The Lodge was built during 1996/97. Our sister hotel, The Mayaland Hotel and Bungalows, had its main building built during the 1920's and has since constantly been remodeled and upgraded.

I designed and built the Lodge (and operate it as well). The walls are made of the thickest concrete cinder block made (.22 Cm). The grounds at the Lodge are so quiet, any noise may make it seem the place was made with thin walls. There are only 3 bedrooms per bungalow.... sorry your neighbors were not very quiet.

We do hope to have the honor of your visit in the future. Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Staying at the Lodge was so relaxing. We took our tour of Chichen Itza in the morning before the tour buses arrived and it was great! No large crowds and our tour guide had so much to tell us about every facet of life of the people who inhabited the area so long ago. He would take his umbrella and draw us a picture if the story he was telling us in the dirt, (he called this his Mexican i-pad), and it came alive for us. The cabana we had was with a loft and it was perfect for us as we had my son with us. The meals were good, servers were pleasant and on the ball and the mariachis were a nice accompaniment to our dinner. They were worth a nice tip! My son had a massage, which he enjoyed immensely, while we took pictures of the beauty around us. We met for drinks afterwards and all agreed it was a very good decision to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
After the long answer to the previous comment, your review brings my point to light, for which I thank you very much! You come from very, very distant lands... awesome! We hope to have the honor of your visit again. Until then, safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
398 helpful votes 398 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Mayaland Lodge at Chichen Itza is at once both crowded and delightful. This is a mega-resort -- top-of-the-line -- but can be very full of day-tourists during the day. Ten big tour busses a day stop here to use the private entrance to Chichen Itza and flood the restaurant and gift shops with day trippers. However, that said, it is an excellent base for exploration into Chichen Itza first thing in the morning because of the private entrance just 300 feet north of the hotel. The buses and the crowds are gone by 4:30 PM in and once again you have the place to yourself (along with the other hotel guests). The grounds here are wonderful. There are multiple swimming pools. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The staff could not have been more friendly or attentive. We ate in the bar twice because we enjoyed the service and the outdoor atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious and was included in our room price. We thought this resort to be well worth the additional expense. This would be 5 star for us were it not for the day tour busses and masses of day visitors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us ! ...and for giving me the opportunity to comment on some of the points you make regarding your visit. First:

The Lodge at Chichen Itza DOES NOT ACCEPT LARGE GROUPS, NOT A SINGLE TOUR BUS.
As you experienced, your bungalow and acres of landscaped grounds that surround it, as well as our
pools (the very large one at the Percival bungalows and the secluded, normal size one on the cave at the Morley bungalows) are NOT OPEN TO OUR NEIGHBOR MAYALAND HOTEL VISITORS.
The are only for the enjoyment of guests at the Lodge. The Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows have their own large pool.

The restaurants and bars of the Mayaland do serve our Lodge guests. It is here where a patron of the Lodge will encounter day visitors. Our main restaurant and bar serve an average of 40 guests ALL AFTERNOON ! Not groups, but individual guests of both hotels, which together ad up to only 91 rooms !!! in over 300 acres of grounds ! Day tourers do have lunch at the Mayaland, at 3 other restaurants, which are ope to ALL visitors. This large clientele is what enables us to provide ALL our guests with world class culinary experiences at prices that are half to a fourth of the prices in Cancun and the Maya Riviera.
Our Margarita cocktails sell for $ 4 dollars and cents versus 10 to 15 dollars each in Cancun and the Riviera.

I own both properties. 18 Years ago, I actually designed and built the Lodge, which I operate to this date. The Mayaland was designed and built by both, my father and my grandfather, the founder of the Mayaland Hotel and Mayaland Tours, considered Mexico's tourism Pioneer. The reason for having two properties instead of one IS THE VERY SUBJECT AT HAND. Kindly read other comments, including the one posted hours after yours, and most agree with what I am stating.... so the creation of a new hotel that does not allow day visitors on its grounds (the only one in ALL of Chichen Itza to do so) was welcomed. And that is where you stayed! It also enjoys the highest award and satisfaction ratings of ALL properties in the area, (including the today's ONLY 4.5 rating on TripAdvisor in the area).

At the end of the day, it is your peace and quiet, YOUR ENJOYMENT AND APPRECIATION OF THE CHICHEN ITZA EXPERIENCE what we are all about! And you state that you did enjoy it, for which we are all happy and grateful. We look forward to being your host again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Chichen Itza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chichen Itza

Address: In the hearth of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chichen Itza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World Class jungle resort in the heart of Chichen Itza. Bungalows built in traditional Mayan style with handcarved mohagony woods, stone, native marble, hand made stained glass and thatch. Oriented for maximum privacy and the best of views, bungalows are clustered around secluded swimming pools, created for guests wishing to commune with nature. All colaborators are native Maya.The resort has been named 3 times by National Geographic Traveler as "One of the 100 hotels we Love" and in their December 2011 "One of our loved 133 hotels in North America". Home to Luciano Pavarotti, Placido Domingo and Sarah Brightman during their performances in Chichen Itza. The hotel has its own entrance to the archaeological site. Member of the Rain Forest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Chichen Itza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chichen Itza Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel At Chichen Itza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Chichen Itza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.