We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayaland = the View to the Mayan Observatory = WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland to your Saves list
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
san francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mayaland = the View to the Mayan Observatory = WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

We met some new friends in Merida who persuaded us to stay the night at the Mayaland Hotel with them during our visit to Chichen Ixta. How lucky we were to have this experience. Visit Chichen Ixta, but stay awhile...
We arrived at the Mayaland after our tour for the BEST barbeque and buffet of our whole trip to the Yucatan. We went back the second day at lunch before we returned to Merida.
We had a very intimate dinner with serenading local gentleman that evening followed by the best shots of tequila in the bar before going to bed. The young man bartending shared local stories with us.
I had the best nights sleep of my nine days in Mexico there...maybe the jungle vibe contributed to it. The grounds are immaculate, the furnishings ethnic, the pools fantastic.
We went to the LIGHT show that evening at Chichen Ixta and took the private walk and entrance from the Hotel. It was Magical. The next morning, we were able to go back into the archeological site early in the morning. I will never forget this Mayan experience. I would love to return again. Don't miss it.

  • Liked — Being next to Chichen Izta and being able to see it and walk to it.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    251
    80
    42
    23
See reviews for
193
337
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

We loved this place - the room was quite nice and clean, the hotel and grounds were beautiful, we didn't check out the pools (as it was actually quite chilly!) but they sure looked nice - and the proximity to the ruins can't be beat. We walked in right at 8am and were able to spend 2 hours there with it being fairly deserted before the tour buses started arriving! Since we were there for the ruins - i was really glad we stayed there.

We were able to get a discounted price off the hotel website. Really the only downside is that the food was really really expensive. We were glad to have a car so we could run into town for meals and pickup snacks (there was a minibar fridge in the room so we could pick up sodas, beer, yogurt, etc and bring it back). We ate at the buffet for lunch. It was good - but again, really quite expensive (around $35 for two of us)

  • Liked — proximity to Chichen Itza - walk right into the ruins
  • Disliked — Really expensive food
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed here one night as part of a grayline overnight tour to chichen itza during a trip to the mayan riviera that we booked online through grayline. The room rate through this tour was extraordinarily reasonable for what we received.

The best part of this property is its location a 5 minute walk away from the back entrance of chichen itza - from the rooms to the kukulkan pyramid inside the site it's 15 minutes max. If you arrive in the early afternoon and leave the next afternoon that's two full days to explore all of chichen itza which is very manageable (in our case even with a toddler in a portable stroller) and far more preferable than the day tours. The inscriptions and drawings on the temples are fascinating. And you can take in the night show as well.

However, the location is far from all. The grounds of mayaland are very nice, with a wide variety of bird calls (a birding association was there during our stay and they were thrilled); lush greenery, meandering paths and outdoor seating in the garden.

We were upgraded to a bungalow, which was done up in dark wood with a white-tiled bathroom that made up in charm what it lacked in modernity. The bungalows are basically three rooms with terraces (with comfortable hammocks) that share a cottage like structure. We had a very high ceiling with a fan and mosquito netting around the bed, terra cotta tiles on the floor and an elegant wardrobe housed the TV. The windows have shutters and stained glass. The bungalows are a bit dark and cool but i think that's probably welcome outside of the winter season.
We have stayed in some pretty posh hotels in the u.k. and this rivalled those rooms. Ours also had a small private pool behind with loungers. You can hear your neighbours but everyone goes to bed very early to get to the site in the morning so it's not a problem.

Prior reviews thought the food was not good and expensive. We had continental breakfast (fruit, hot buttery rolls, coffee and juice, $7) and thought it plentiful and delicious. Our toddler did not eat much so they wrapped up some rolls for him on the house, a very nice touch. We also had the buffet lunch twice and thought it good value for the location but you have to make sure to get the fresh tacos with the pork asado that is prepared in the garden, it's outstanding. ALSO one important tip. Eat early, as soon as the buffet opens, before the tour groups arrive. We saw them lining up for food and tables after 1 p.m. and that did not look like fun.

On leaving the resort, we had some confusion with the time our bus was supposed to pick us up and the receptionist personally called our tour company and spoke to them.

All in all, everything was perfect and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We booked our stay Jan 16 -18, 2009 directly with the hotel in October 2008. We had stayed at the hotel in 2005 and had a very positive experience which we wanted to share with our traveling companions. At that time we requested a bungalow with one king bed and a second unit with 2 beds. This was prepaid in total at that time to secure our requests. Upon arrival we were told there were no units with two beds available. We were"upgraded" to two suites although they only had king beds. The suites were in a unit that when we visited three years ago was a conference center. One unit had no door handle and was converted from doors that were part of the conference center. The room was total windows so that the blinds had to be kept shut because of closeness to the walkways. There was no soundproofing in the unit, the spa connected via a door within the unit and it was very loud. We could even hear alarm clock in next unit. Both mornings we experienced no hot water to take a shower. There was a large tour group that had booked the hotel and since we were not part of that group our room requests were denied.

The restaurant had a varied menu and wine list, although overpriced, was ok. Since the hotel was booked with a group the restaurant was not busy and the service was very good.

  • Liked — location next to the ruins
  • Disliked — room assignment upon arrival
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herndon, va
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

good: the grounds are very pretty & close to chichen itza

bad: everything is overpriced and on top of that... review your final bill very closely before you sign it. (we were charged for someone else's $156USD dinner) and check the price of the credit card receipt you will sign. (after the lady at the front desk canceled my first charge she charged me the same as the original amount during the second charge!) also, if you charge something over the phone (transportation, etc.) or online, please watch your credit card statements. (i was charged twice for the same transportation.) bring bottled water with you since they will charge you for every drop. (out of 4 hotels we stayed in in mexico, this was the only one to not provide free water.)

lastly, i feel very bad for the maids/waiters there (or most of them, anyway). i can't imagine how many tips they lose due to guests' frustration that is really related to how badly the hotel management is functioning. my husband and i had to make a conscious decision to separate the two.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

The Hotel is nice, beautiful garden, next to Chichen Itza site...

The food the first day (at the main restaurant) was fine but the second day....We will remember it for the next 5 days...

Reaction from the management: your poor european systems are not used to Mexican cuisine. My wife and I were in Mexico for 1 week already. We ate in many Mexican restaurants (and not ina five star hotel...) and we did not get intoxicated.... Besides, the frond desk manager lost her English that day... she could talk only Spanish.... Too bad, I understand Spanish,.. The way that they treated the problem is unacceptable for a five star hotel... besides, if you go to the spa (average), they try to force to pay cash.... not credit card... A nice 5 star experience....

  • Liked — garden
  • Disliked — food.....
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

First thing first : this hotel is perfect for visiting the Chichen Itza ruins. It has a direct gateway to the back of the archeological site.
It is excellent especially if you want to see the night show.

Now, about the hotel itself. It is quite expensive and you definitely pay for the location. The hotel is big but divided into several buildings conveniently nested in a beautiful tropical forest. You will lots of birds that even come to the restaurant and try to steal from your plate!!! :-)
Rooms are simple though comfortable. Problem is we had an extremely noisy fridge that made an awful noise for the whole night and nothing could be done...
There are several swimming-pools so space for everyone.
Service is good : bell-boys are nice and available to take care of your luggage. Don't forget to tip them! ;-)

Food : we only ate from the buffet. It is expensive but fairly good and local, so you can test several yucatan dishes.

Last the spa offers good service at a reasonable price (1/2h foot massage : 25$). Good to know after a long day walking in the ruins!!!

  • Liked — the location at the entrance of Chichen Itza
  • Disliked — our room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.