We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see Chichen Itza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa to your Saves list
Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 120 Carretera Merida-Puerto Juarez | Zona Hotelera de Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97752, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best way to see Chichen Itza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Visiting the Mayan Ruins of Chichen Itza early in the morning before the heat of the day, whilst the sun is low in the sky, and most importantly, before the hordes from the Cancun tour buses arrive is the best way to have this once in a lifetime experience. To do this it is easiest to stay near the site. Hacienda Chichen is a five minute walk to the quieter south entrance which opens at 8.00am. It is also an amazing place to stay even if it were not next door to one of the wonders of the world. We ate a great dinner, excellent breakfast and fine lunch there; swam in the pool, swung in the hammocks and wandered the beautiful gardens. And they organised a guide to meet us at the hotel and take us around Chichen Itza for two hours. For about USD50.00. Once in a lifetime. If you can afford to do Chichen Itza this way… then do it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
What makes the hotel unique, is the serene private ambience that you can feel since the moment you are entering our property! You can enjoy not only its vast vegetation but also the history that evokes from our historical rooms, colonial chapel and stone arch! Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to your next visits.

All the best,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    155
    55
    16
    9
See reviews for
99
241
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joshua Tree
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

OK, I should qualify this: we ate here, but we did not stay here. I do not see a separate listing for their restaurant, so here we are. That said, all of us loved this place so much that if I do return to Chichen Itza and the Seven Wonders of the World Tourist Mall (Chichen Itza is a zoo, see our review for more), I will absolutely book a room here with no hesitation whatsoever, the biggest hazard likely to be no desire to ever leave.
After battling the vendors and tour bus crowds of Chichen Itza, we were seeking a respite from the noise and heat, preferably along with a little late lunch. Hacienda Chichen was the answer to our prayers. Beautiful, secluded, quiet, and serene, we dined on the veranda, overlooking lush beautiful gardens. The food was superb (Mayan pork, chicken mole, and Mayan soup), and the service was excellent. Prices came to about $20 US per person for lunch, drinks, appetizer, and tip.
We highly recommend Hacienda Chichen and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
A million thanks for visiting our restaurant. We are thrilled to hear that Hacienda Chichen was the answer to your prayers. The fact to know that you enjoyed our food service to the fullest and that with no hesitation you would book a room in our hotel has made our day be so beaufitul and special. Thank you again for sharing your comments.

We look forward to having the pleasure to serve you in a near future!

Sincerely,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Hacienda Chichen is the place from our vacation where we keep dreaming of returning. It was a combination of elegance, history and peace. We had wonderful meals in their restaurant and the gardens were beautiful and filled with birds. The room we stayed in was simple and basic. It isn't a luxury accommodation but is still comfortable. It's a short walk from the grounds of Chichen Itza which allowed us to get there early before the tour buses arrived. But it's the sum of the parts that we found so wonderful. We hope someday to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you deeply for giving us the opportunity to be your host in Chichen Itza. It is a joy reading your beautiful words about your recent stay. Glad to know that our hotel and meal service was the sum of the parts that made your experience so wonderful! We too hope you return soon!

Sincerely,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from an unforgettable 5 night stay at the historic and old world charm of Hacienda Chichen. The property is set in an oasis of architectural splendor, restored jungle gardens and offers an opportunity to experience the heart of Mayan culture. Led by gracious Mrs. Belisa Barbachano, the attention of the talented Mayan staff is incomparable and the food is delicious. We stayed in the Pollack Bungalow, the studio of one of the archeologists from the Carniege Team in the 1920's who studied the architecture and art of Chichen. Here I felt the whisper of history. Visitors can explore the grounds, dip into the pool, and and stroll from the Hacienda directly onto the grounds of Chichen Itza. Now one of the modern wonders of the world, make your trip magical by staying at Hacienda Chichen.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We are so delighted that you have spent a wonderful time in our beautiful hacienda and truly appreciate your time in sharing your extraordinary experience during your five nights stay with us. Please don't hesitate to contac us if you plan to come back to Chichen Itza, this is your home away home!

Looking forward to providing our high standard of quality service!

All the best,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The buildings, grounds and setting are truly beautiful. The close proximity to Chichen Itza is marvellous because you can enter early and enjoy the site before the coach tours arrive at 10.30. Some of the ruins are actually in the grounds of the Hacienda and a walk round those in the semi jungle setting is an experience in itself. The rooms are in a number of attractive cottages (some a bit more attractive than others) and very comfortable if not luxurious. What lets this hotel down is its decidedly average food for the price charged. There is no alternative however because it is still the best restaurant in the area. It is the best place to stay close to Chichen Itza but just don't expect anything too grand by way of accommodation and keep your expectations in check when it comes to the food

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to letting us know that you enjoyed our hotel. To be honest, we too have mixed feelings because we pride ourselves to be amongst the best restaurants in the Yucatan not only because of our acclaimed exotic Mayan cuisine but, because we offer high standards when it comes to food. However, we value your point of view and we’ll do our best to continue to give you the kind of service you deserve, I am sure that we can meet your expectations in your next visit!

Sincerely,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaJGimli
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in January and our expectations were truly exceeded by the warmth of the staff. The service was beyond compare, the food delicious at every meal. We hiked the trails around the hotel in the mornings to see the ruins and enjoy bird watching. My husband and I stayed in Morley#3 cottage and it was so lovely and comfortable...perched at the very edge of the jungle. The bed was extremly comfortable and we went to sleep with the sound of crickets and frogs after sitting on our porch and watching the fireflies....woke up to the sound of many birds singling away. I had a wonderful spa treatment. I would hope more people would do more than a 1 night stopover as there is so much to explore in the region. We did a day trip to Ake to see the ruins & working sisal mill. We hope to be back next year. Again many thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: We loved Morly#3 cabin purchased right on the edge of the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
It was so nice to learn about your incredible experience in our hotel and such a joy to know that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you very much for your visit. We will make sure to share your feedback with our team, who I am pretty sure will be happy when they know that you had a splendid stay. We definitely agree with you that it's worth to stay more than one night and would love to see you next year so please let's keep in touch!

Best wishes from your Friends at Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I was hoping to find a hotel to enjoy the jungle surrounding the ruins of chichen itza for one night that offered comfort, good food, and good staff. This property had all of the above. Being an international destination the ruins can be overwhelming with the volume of people passing through and some travelers like myself may want to pass on a Chichen itza experience. This hotel helped create the experience I was looking for, an exceptional lunch followed by a wonderful dinner, music, night with soft candle light throughout the hotel grounds. A good comfy bed with foam topper. Nice wide deep tube for weary body. Pillows were not so good but the aircondioner was wonderful, the atmosphere reminiscent of the bush camp in Okavango delta of Africa. It was wonderful waking up to the birds all around the area and the walk to Chichen itza was only ten minutes. You are able to see the ruins before the tours arrive.

Room Tip: Make a reservation for dinner when you check into hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We are grateful for the pleasure of serving you and meeting your expectations. It's wonderful to hear that our hotel helped you créate the experience you were looking. Thank you for visiting our hotel and for your nice comments.

Please come back again soon; we’d love to see you!

All the best,
The Hacienda Chichen and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa

Address: Km 120 Carretera Merida-Puerto Juarez | Zona Hotelera de Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97752, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly boutique hotel, the Hacienda Chichen is committed to sustainable tourism and is devoted to Mayan culture and local community welfare. The resort consciously promotes an eco friendly environment rooted in Mayan tradition, which presents guests with plenty of romantic charm. An ambiance of ‘home away from home’ welcomes the Hacienda Chichen guests. The property’s close proximity to the adjourning Chichen Itza ruins is a major plus for those travelers wishing to avoid the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Chichen And Yaxkin Spa
Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Hacienda Chichen Yaxkin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.