We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-visit site...but spoilt by crowds and vendors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chichen Itza

Chichen Itza
Merida, Chichen Itza 77500, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Chichen Itza like an insider
Special Offer
$70*
and up
Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“A must-visit site...but spoilt by crowds and vendors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

When in the Yucatan you must visit this Wonder of the World. It has changed a lot since I last visited sixteen years ago. There has been a lot more restoration. It is no longer possible to climb the pyramid and other structures. Large crowds and assertive vendors spoilt the experience.
Here are a few tips to enjoy your visit:
GO EARLY to avoid the crowds and vendors. Also, it will be cooler.
BRING binoculars to see the detail of the carvings on the higher structures. Also lots of water, a hat or cap and your camera. There is an extra charge of Pesos 45 for a video camera!
ALLOW at least three hours to see the entire site. More if you have the time.
READ UP a little on the history of the Mayans and Chichen Itza before your visit.

Enjoy your visit!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,514
    1,955
    477
    149
    74
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“You have to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is an incredible part of history and one of the new 7 Wonders of the World. You can't go to the Yucatan and not visit Chichen Itza - it is indescribable. Just make sure you completely ignore all the vendors on site - they can get pretty pushy if you show any interest.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chichen Itza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We took a commercial tour on one of the big buses. Usually we do it on our own, but this time we did not want to spend the time and effort to handle all the little details. The site was great, and I wish we could have spent more time there with our guide. The downside was the time it took for the transportation part of the trip. We were amazed at the number of vendors, a big change from several years ago when we last visited. Museum ws also closed this trip.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Amazing site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

An amazing must-see site. The central pyramid is breath-taking. We came here with Flavio tours and they made it really excellent day out.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Super!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The pace is magnificent .. massive really and definitely worth visiting of you're in and around Cancun.
It's atleast a 3 hr visit and man the Mayans were a violent bunch of people. The guides do a great job and the stories are fun to hear, educative too. The pace is about 2 hrs from Cancun by bus .. typically the bus guys club 2-3 places, almost like a package tour.
Lots of fun stuff and memorabilia to shop - be sure to bargain. Overall the place is clean, can get crowded, we were lucky I suppose. All in all we had a great time .. don't miss this place..it's a jaw drop experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chichen Itza also viewed

 
Chichen Itza, Yucatan
Chichen Itza, Yucatan
 

Been to Chichen Itza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chichen Itza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.