We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resport, great staff and crew, top clasee restaurants and bars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km 8,5. Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Viva)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Melton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice resport, great staff and crew, top clasee restaurants and bars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved our stay in February 2015, all in all a great resort, beautiful beach and poolside facilities. Room was lovely however the bathrooms need some re - modelling . We enjoyed the restaurants and bars where the wait staff were extremely helpful. Check in and out was simple and efficient.
All in all a great stay

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    232
    116
    73
    47
See reviews for
182
274
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at this hotel in February of this year as two couples in their 40's. The staff at this resort are very helpful and are what is the best feature of the hotel. Unfortunately the hotel is not up to Dreams standards or worth the price it is being offered for. First I would like to say that the beach and view from rooms are amazing and the staff are very friendly and room service is prompt and thorough as well. As far as feedback to the hotel so that they can make this a 4 star as advertised.
1 Beds and pillows are way too hard and uncomfortable- no one could sleep and this makes for a bad vacation. We asked for help with the bed as I could hardly walk after sleeping on it and they put a comforter under the sheets but not much help. Asked for better pillows and although they had a pillow menu this was not available.
2. Balcony furniture is 2 cheap plastic chairs I wouldn't even use at my own house let alone a nice resort. Two nicer chairs and a table should be provided
3. Beach should have small tables for drinks and items
4. Bathrooms need to be redone- sinks have no surface and they back up due to bad plugs, not enough lighting to apply makeup and the showers flood, I mean flood when you use them. An inch of water and several towels required to clean them up. Our friends bathroom toilet also made a weird squealing noise and they had to turn off the water supply to it every night to sleep
I would say if you are looking for a great beach and you get a good deal here and don't mind super hard beds go for it!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited Dreams Sands in February 2015. Having never stayed in a Dreams resort before, we were quite impressed with the food, wine and service. As other reviews state, the resort is in the process of being refurbished. We had a deluxe ocean view room with balcony and it was very nice - bed and pillows were comfortable and we enjoyed good nights' sleep. Other visitors felt the rooms were small but we were satisfied.

Where to start? Room service - we used room service quite a bit as my husband and I both had colds and spent more time than usual in the room. The service was timely and the food was surprisingly good, for room service, with no extra charges as I have seen in other resorts.

The room was clean and nicely appointed with a comfortable bed as I mentioned above.

Upon arrival we were immediately turned over to a sales rep for the vacation club. This was a bit of a surprise but once we said we were not interested we were not asked again. She also gave us good information about the resort and how things were set up.

The restaurants were very good and we never waited more than a couple of minutes for a table even though the resort was very full. The exception was both Sunday mornings (we were there for two weeks) when there was a long line up at the buffet so we got a sandwich and coffee from the cafe instead of waiting. The Bordeaux was excellent - our last night there they made a big fuss over us and provided the most excellent service. The sommelier (Tirza) and wine steward (Diego) were excellent and provided good recommendations for Mexican wines we can't get at home, which were excellent. The house wines (Chilean) were also very good, but we purchased wine from the wine list at most meals. There were mixed reviews about the Japanese restaurant but it was one of our favourites - Lydia the manager was very knowledgeable about wine and recommended an excellent Chenin Blanc which we enjoyed.

We enjoyed two dinners on the beach - one was the special Valentine's Day dinner and show (the two tenors were excellent singers) and we had grilled lobster which was really good (I would have like some butter to dip though!). The second dinner was on the beach by the Waves and Sands restaurant and was very romantic. The server (and Diego) couldn't do enough for us.

All in all we enjoyed the food so much we did not eat off the resort at all. The musical entertainment was also excellent - best I have seen at any resort so far.

Spa - we found the spa prices very expensive - there was a spa right across the street (Arenas Spa) where I had a manicure, pedicure and my husband and I had a couples massage (2 for 1 pricing) and the total cost for everything was $115. I was a bit nervous about going there but they made me feel comfortable right away. For the price, it was outstanding and a great value.

There was only one instance where we did not receive great service - at the beach bar one evening around 9:00 p.m. It was not busy but the two young men working there did not seem to enjoy their jobs and made no effort to be friendly.

The towel game - this is the first resort I have ever been where people will move your belongings and try to take over your chair (by the pool). We were in the pool and this happened to us more than once. No fault of the resort, but rather the guests. The pool could use an upgrade and needs to be cleaned more often. There was a lot of sand on the bottom and the water was not as clear as it could have been.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at a Dreams Resort again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked this hotel at a sale price last fall. For the price it was okay if you don't have high expectations. There definitely needs to be more attention paid to the food quality and the appearance of some areas of the hotel and grounds by management.

Pros
-Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
-A nice beach even if it is a bit small.
-A lot of activities offered.
-Our room was nice with a comfortable mattress (very important to me).
-Within easy walking distance of shopping.

Cons
-Overall the food we ate was subpar at best. I had at least two meals that the food was inedible. When we ate at the Italian restaurant we ordered the Veal Saltimbocca and the waiter was kind enough to tell us that it was really going to be pork. Why would it even be listed on the menu as veal? Very shady!
-Stained upholstery in the same restaurant. It looked like someone had peed in the seat of my chair and my husbands seat didn't look much better. That is just gross and doesn't give you much confidence in the cleanliness of the kitchen either.
-If you are looking for quite and relaxation you are not going to find it here. Loud music thumping all day and lots of drunken whooping and hollering. My husband couldn't even take a nap in the room because it was so loud.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Long wait for checkin. Buffett sucked. All the other restaurants were fantastic. Pool was nice. Drinks and entertainment were great. Not the fanciest resort but very nice and fun. No real complaints. Great staff

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Apple Vacations will give this a 5 stars but I think they own them. I think 3.5 is about right. The restaurants, food and staff were very good. The chef at the "Waves and Sands" (the best restaurant imo although many would debate that) Chef Edilberto was outstanding, delicious food cooked according to your instructions! Entertainment was pretty good with something interesting most nights. Daily entertainment is pretty good and Luis "the card dealer" during daily holdem poker was great! It's an older hotel and a little outdated and everything worked fine but you could hear people in the next room sometimes, especially when they flushed the toilet. One of the two elevators broke down twice creating, at prime times, a long wait to get to your room. We ended up using the stairs. Not to many people used the pool as the water was not comfortable. For the price we paid you could probably get better but overall nice. Probably would try another one next time.

Room Tip: We paid more for the ocean front balcony room but it gave us beautiful sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeMartin, Social Media Assistant at Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear rwocon,

It is a pleasure to read through such a detailed overview of your visit to Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa. We sincerely appreciate the time invested on writing this review.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Warm regards fron Cancun,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penfield, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at Dreams Sands from 2/13/15 through the 20th. We had a wonderful time. We booked the honeymoon suite as we were celebrating out anniversary. Everything was perfect! We had breakfast in bed, romantic dinner on the beach, champagne delivered to our room and relaxing siestas on the daybed on our deck that overlooked the pool and ocean. We even had a couples massage at the Spa which we normally would not do! The restaurants were truly excellent. A special thank you to Victor in Olio and Jonas in Portofino for making our stay memorable. Also, thank you Stephanie (concierge) for promptly replying to my email inquiries prior to our arrival. We were there with another couple (also celebrating their anniversary) and we just had a week of fun and laughs which is what a vacation should be! We met a nice couple from Boston (Dan and Nikki) who we just kept running into everywhere. If you read this Nikki, look me up and send a message via Facebook! Thank you for turning the dreams into a reality. I miss paradise!!!!!

Room Tip: You're in Cancun, book at least an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeMartin, Social Media Assistant at Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear cathysprinkle,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with VIctor, Jonas and Stephanie. These words will serve them as an inspiration to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Warm and sunny regards from Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km 8,5. Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Viva)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#35 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated along a breathtaking white sand beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, sits Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa! Experience all the great inclusions of Unlimited-Luxury(R) at the newest beachfront resort of your Dreams in Mexico - where there's something fun for every age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Viva Beach Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Viva Beach Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.