We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km 8,5. Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Viva)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Long wait for checkin. Buffett sucked. All the other restaurants were fantastic. Pool was nice. Drinks and entertainment were great. Not the fanciest resort but very nice and fun. No real complaints. Great staff

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    229
    114
    73
    47
See reviews for
181
268
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Apple Vacations will give this a 5 stars but I think they own them. I think 3.5 is about right. The restaurants, food and staff were very good. The chef at the "Waves and Sands" (the best restaurant imo although many would debate that) Chef Edilberto was outstanding, delicious food cooked according to your instructions! Entertainment was pretty good with something interesting most nights. Daily entertainment is pretty good and Luis "the card dealer" during daily holdem poker was great! It's an older hotel and a little outdated and everything worked fine but you could hear people in the next room sometimes, especially when they flushed the toilet. One of the two elevators broke down twice creating, at prime times, a long wait to get to your room. We ended up using the stairs. Not to many people used the pool as the water was not comfortable. For the price we paid you could probably get better but overall nice. Probably would try another one next time.

Room Tip: We paid more for the ocean front balcony room but it gave us beautiful sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penfield, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at Dreams Sands from 2/13/15 through the 20th. We had a wonderful time. We booked the honeymoon suite as we were celebrating out anniversary. Everything was perfect! We had breakfast in bed, romantic dinner on the beach, champagne delivered to our room and relaxing siestas on the daybed on our deck that overlooked the pool and ocean. We even had a couples massage at the Spa which we normally would not do! The restaurants were truly excellent. A special thank you to Victor in Olio and Jonas in Portofino for making our stay memorable. Also, thank you Stephanie (concierge) for promptly replying to my email inquiries prior to our arrival. We were there with another couple (also celebrating their anniversary) and we just had a week of fun and laughs which is what a vacation should be! We met a nice couple from Boston (Dan and Nikki) who we just kept running into everywhere. If you read this Nikki, look me up and send a message via Facebook! Thank you for turning the dreams into a reality. I miss paradise!!!!!

Room Tip: You're in Cancun, book at least an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Let me start by saying I wish I could rate this resort as 3 1/2 stars. Mu husband and I traveled here the end of February for our 20th anniversary. This hotel is very, very family friendly. If you are coming here with children it as a great place with lots of activities and a perfect beach for kids and there are tons of children everywhere!! If you are coming here to relax and have some peace and quiet you might want to look elsewhere.
Check in was very quick and friendly.
The Room: We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites and the room was very clean but a little on the small side with and not a very luxurios bathroom (1 sink, no tub) the balcony was very nice with a beautiful view and we enjoyed it very much. The bed and pillows were very comforable.We did overlook the morning activites (yoga and zumba class) fun to watch but not quiet or peaceful. The room was cleaned perfectly every morning and turn down service in the evenings however the balcony was not cleaned the whole week we were there and we never used the hot tub because it had dirt and leaves in it and just wasnt worth us cleaning it to use it. The hallways are noisy in the mornings (maid carts, room service carts) and a couple nights very noisy people coming and going after midnight. The hotel itself was clean and it we had no complaints really. However the building is very old and the hallways are dark and very low celings in some areas (kinda creepy) We did go up to the preferred club lounge for a couple drinks and the view up there is beautiful. Plus they have pretty good snacks and the only place we found good desserts.
The Food: We ate at all the restaurants and never had more than a 15 minute wait. Service was very good in all of them especially the japanese (you must try the mayan coffee) The food itself was ok. We never had a bad meal but never had a great meal either and after a week all the food kind of tasted the same. The desserts need work! lots of work! Room service was good and always arrived promptly.
The Beach: Absolutly beautiful! It is rocky on the right side (great for hearing the waves and collecting seashells) soft white sand on the left side. The water is very shallow and we could touch all the way out. If you get up early enough you can get a chair with padding on it otherwise you will be in a very hard uncomfortable chair. The sun does not hit the beach until around 11. Service on the beach was surprisingly good. We had Ada as a waitress and she was fantastic! She did such a great job we asked her which section she would be in the next days and made sure we sat there. Thank you Ada!!!
The Pool: We never sat around the main pool, it was hard to find a chair and it was noisy with lots of kids around. We spent a day at the quiet pool and it was very enjoyable. The pool is surprisingly deep and it is chilly but clean and quiet and once again wonderful service from Ada! The bathroom by that side of the resort could use some work. Not cleaned very often and sometimes no water pressure.
WiFi: If you are expecting good internet service you will not get it. It is very spotty and sometimes just doesnt work at all.
Overall if you are looking for a beautiful beach, clean rooms and wonderful service this is a great place to go. This hotel will never be 5 stars but it is a good place for a family vacation

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelpic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I went when the hotel had re-opened in September. we up-graded to the preferred club, which gave us a few perks but the lounge was not open so not sure if it was worth it really when we went. We could have any drinks brought to our room though as it was closed. Whilst there was still renovations going on, our room was lovely. We had a corner room on the 8th Floor and so had sea and pool views, as we had windows all round the room, made up for not having a balcony. There was a lovely jacuzzi bath tub, with a sliding mirror so you could see in to the room and out the window. Mini bar was stocked each day and you can request drinks if you have a preference. TIP: We found the mini bar stayed cooler if we left the cupboard door open and pulled the fridge out a bit.

As we were all inclusive, we ordered room service on a couple of occasions which was fab. The restaurants were all very good, even the buffet one. All staff were friendly and helpful too. Cocktails were brilliant.

We went to meet the rep as well, and booked a tour to the Myan temple and the sink hole. Long day but worth it. great to see a little but of culture, as the shopping close t the hotel was not brilliant. We booked swimming with dolphins before we went with Delphinus and that was an amazing experience. We got picked up from the hotel by the company that organised it too and dropped back, we stayed in the area a while as there was shopping there which was good, but expensive.

Round the pool, drinks are brought to you, and there is a little snack bar too which is nice. Towels are available all the time and can be for the pool or beach. Really the hotel needs more sunbeds round the pool as I think at peak times they will be scarce, as there was only a few left when we were there. The beach was lovely and clean.

Food wise, our favourite place for breakfast was the Mediterranean restaurant Olio, in fact that was nice for all meals!! The buffet restaurant also offered champaign for breakfast too. Bit much for me so early but a nice touch I thought. I found all the restaurants really nice to eat in, sometimes there was a bit of a wait but its worth it.One night all guests ate on the beach due to a holiday in Mexico (Can't remember what it was now!) so sat at a table with other guests. Nice to meet people

Evening entertainment was fun! Different shows each night from animal acts to tribute bands and acrobatic displays. There was also little market stalls that were set up by the pool.

The only negative was on arrival, we thought we were being taken to our room and then had to take a seat and listen to a woman go on about a time share, very difficult to get away from her. They offer you all sorts of incentives, like £200 off the spa. I got very cross with her in the end as had just got off a flight and wanted to freshen up and have dinner. The hotel really needs to stop them from doing this when you have just arrived, as its really annoying and uninteresting.

Currency wise, its best to take US dollars, as everything is calculated in them, in fact we struggled to use their own currency as shops also prefer dollars, and often gave change in dollars!

We really enjoyed it here, its not quite 5 star but maybe is now its been open longer. Was a shame we were not informed at the time of booking that some features would not be available.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was quite big and gave great views. I feel if you cant get a balcony room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just came back with my wife and 10 yr old son. Pro's I thought beach was very nice. Flat, no drop off nice to the left. Service was very good. They did their best. Food was good to very good. I love Mexican food and have had better in Rhode island believe it or not. Back pool was nice and clean. Olios was best for lunch we thought. Cons, lots of pressure to go on excursions etcc.. right off the entrance. Just was on aplane all day don't want to talk for a half hour. Room small but nice. Bathroom tub a little skanky. Plastic floor kinda grossed me out otherwise room was clean and fine except it seems they have toilet issues. Backed up a couple times, makes noise usualy at night of course. Buffet small fair at best. Main pool I thought needed to be blown up and start fresh. Tiles were chipping off the few times I went in. Then started looking around and coping at top of pool kinda gross. Not to mention the adults who drink in there for 4 to 6 hours and never move. I guess that would explain why it was so warm. Really nothing to do for my son. Our flight got delayed so we went there and he only had a few days to play with kids until they had to return to school. Kids club seemed geared towards really young kids. They did not do much in terms off keeping kids involved. All in all you will enjoy. We went to Grand Caribe 2 years in a row ( @2012, 2013) same price as Dreams and was way better.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tlajomulco de Zuniga, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was my 4rd visit to Cancun, and this was the first time I felt at home.
Dreams Sands provides not only great service but kindness.
Great Food, great view, great service. We will definitely go back.

Thank you Martin Juarez for all your attentions.

Room Tip: Request the upgrade room, the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km 8,5. Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Viva)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated along a breathtaking white sand beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, sits Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa! Experience all the great inclusions of Unlimited-Luxury(R) at the newest beachfront resort of your Dreams in Mexico - where there's something fun for every age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Viva Beach Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Viva Beach Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.