We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average for the standard Dreams experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km 8,5. Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Viva)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Below average for the standard Dreams experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had stayed at the Dreams Punta Cancún before and our experience there was SUPERB. The staff was extremely well trained for excellent service. Granted we had been there in low season and just visited the Sands which is HIGH season and they usually enjoy a significantly higher occupancy rate vs. the average of the area due to their high value.

So, our experience this time had a few small glitches; we learned that Dreams had just opened this property in September after acquiring the staff from another company. We could tell. The service especially was inconsistent. So, here are the things that are consistent with the Dreams experience, in my opinion (FYI we stayed Dec 17-22):
1) Excellent variety of restaurants and schedule management; Señor Mario in World Café distinguished himself in the way he treated us... Laura in Coco Café was awesome, but everyone in Coco Café was great.
2) Excellent food (fresh selection of proteins, fruits and vegetables and well-prepared meals
3) Appropriately maintained facilities including rooms
4) Amazingly beautiful and safe beach and pools
5) Excellent schedule of activities although we never used it -because we didn't want to, we can tell it was well done
6) Has a small, relatively well-stocked gym
7) Excellent staffing of beach waiters (taking drinks to us while on the beach)- Giovanni is great! he is my favorite!
8) Nice live-music entertainment at night for people who would want to listen to piano or guitar while having a drink from the bar. THis is at the lobby.

Here are the things I would improve to bring them up to real Dreams standards:
1) Beach bar-tenders- one of them, can't remember his name was absolutely awful and didn't even look at me when I would go to get water. That would NEVER happen in a real Dreams. Awful.
2) Wrong translations into english. Even though Spanish is my native language I could tell there were a lot of things that were labeled incorrectly for example in the restaurants; I think that's bad and gives a bad image to the foreign guests
3) I HATED the fact that the TV channels were in SPANISH. When we called to change them to english, they said that it wasn't possible. How can they not have TV in English with so many foreign visitors???? Very few channels and most of them in Spanish, unbelievable and some Mexican channels!! crazy! I hated this!
4) The maid service had many glitches like not getting the towels right or coming too late etc.
5) Concierge phone operators were not helpful and service oriented. We called to ask for a few things for the room and had to call several times because they wouldn't bring them. I didn't like this
6) Room service- extremely slow and got the orders wrong. Not good.
7) The beach is marked for swimmers so that jetskis can't come into that area but one jetskier came in and we later found out that it was a hotel employee which is crazy; we had to talk to the lifesaver in shift so that he would talk to him and ask him to leave the guarded area of the beach. Later on the same employee came into the area with a small boat. What was this about? The Pool Concierge Christian Chavez came to talk to us to apologize for the inconveniences and he was really nice about it and said they were to take action about the situation

Anyway, that's it. I would go back there after awhile when the Dreams culture has been implemented but it was a good experience overall and very good value :)

Room Tip: The building has 10 floors and on busy seasons you'd have to wait kind of a long time for the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    140
    79
    49
    34
See reviews for
91
187
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

During my stay at this hotel, I experienced great service which to me is a plus...now the location of this hotel (beach wise) is indeed a good one because the ocean looks like a pool, no waves at all just calm water..although I do think that the all inclusive buffet should have more variety of foods.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ouch. Not the holiday experience we were expecting.

1. We paid for an upgrade to Ocean Front...and got a view of concrete.
2. Unlimited WAITING. Wait for restaurant to open (late). Wait for bathroom (one stall for the entire men's beach crowd). Wait for restaurant to open additional tables. Wait for room to be ready.
3. Rooms are noisy. You can hear your neighbors conversation.
4. Hotel is pretty run down. Water is leaking from the ceilings. Bathrooms are not working properly.
5. Food is disappointing.

The effort level from the service team was good, but the deck was stacked against them.

This is a 3-star resort on a good day. Prepare yourself accordingly.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the upgrade. Ocean front...is not always ocean front. Very liberal interpretation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeMartin, Social Media Assistant at Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear markjansen,

We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay with us.

There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments.

Please, as you are still in home, we kindly invite you to contact to our concierge desk from 7 am until 11 pm. We really hope that you can give us your confidence, as it would be a pleasure to assist you during your stay. It is in our best intention to offer you the exceptional customer services that characterize our brand.

Rests assure all our team will take care of you, doing our utmost to make these vacations an everlasting memory.

Please, do not hesitate in contacting us, we will be glad to assist you.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 7 days and absolutely loved it. We were nervous before going because of the bad reviews, but we were still very satisfied with everything. Our room was ready when we arrived and we even received a free upgrade to a full ocean balcony room. I think I spent more time on our balcony than the beach because the view was so beautiful! The construction noise wasn't bad at all. It took me a few days to settle in and really get into vacation mode, but once I did, I really felt like I was in paradise at Dreams Sands Cancun. As most people have said, the staff is amazing. Special shout out to Cesar in the main lobby bar - that guy is awesome! He remembered my girlfriend's name and my name and always had a fresh beer ready when my glass was empty! It's the staff that made the trip the most special for us.They really grow on you the longer you stay. The food was really good for the most part, but a few times it lacked taste and freshness.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here in Nov and although there are a few areas that need to be improved in this hotel it is not as bad as the reviews say it is.

Yes it is still dated, and you can in certain parts of the hotel see work going on and can hear it- but that seriously doesn't ruin your holiday

GOOD POINTS:
- Food- Portofino- Italian restaurant, Himitsu Oriental restaurant were very nice- have the crepes they make fresh- really good!!
- DRINKS- the drinks you have to ask for premium drinks, the best drinks are in the evening bar. We loved the mojitos here 
- LOCATION- right on the beach, right by the bars and clubs
- STAFF were really helpful- be careful however of Amstar
- ROOM SERVICE- this was really good and quick food! Would recommend
- EVENING- staff take you out for a fee for admission and transport to the clubs on certain days- really good and recommend it
- ROOMS- very modern and clean- beds extremely comfy
- DOES HAVE FREE WIFI
BAD:
- Beach wasn't as amazing as we hear it was
- Some restaurants were boring, not good
- The atmosphere of the hotel is a bit boring

TIPS:
- Do the tour to the other hotel, you get free credit which you can use for excursions, we got $100 off one excursion to the Mayan ruins which was very good
- Email the hotel beforehand and ask for a nice room. We asked as it was our anniversary and got a bottle of champagne, cake and a FREE ROOM UPGRADE to sea facing view
- Eat at the Italian restaurant before 9pm, if you go later the service is not good as they just want to close the restaurant
- Try the sushi at the Himitsu oriental place- really nice spicy tuna!
- Get a ‘Bob Marley’ cocktail- really nice! Also they do smoothies, chocolate milkshakes- you just have to ask as they do not have a menu
- GO to the Mayan ruins and swim in the sink hole- AMAZING! Go with Cancun Passion- very good
- Bring jungle spray- you WILL get bitten
- Eat at Olio’s for lunch

I liked it here and I is what you pay for. I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again, for the same price.

I am happy to answer any questions you have

Room Tip: Contact hotel before, the service is really good and they will help you out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Now we've had time to reflect on our recent 2 weeks at Dreams Sands we felt we needed to share our experience.
We visited between 22nd November & 6th December .
Like everybody else we met whilst there, we had their reservations prior to arriving, due to some negative & we feel very harsh reviews.
First impressions when you enter the reception area the amazing views of the Caribbean, simply breathtaking.
Check in was no problem & were quickly shown to our room by a very well mannered bell boy. The room was on the 10th floor, room 1011.
It was exactly as it looked on the website, and again the ocean view was amazing.
It was spotlessly clean & a bottle of champagne & a birthday cake greeted us as we were celebrating my 50th.
The bed was massive & the mini bar stocked with a mixture of soft drink & beer & bottled water. It didn't have a balcony but this didn't worry us, as there weren't any on the top two floors anyway.
During our stay we felt we were treated amazingly by all the fantastically hardworking Dreams Team.
We never once had a bad meal or had to wait long for a table.
We never used the pools so can't really comment on them, but the people who did always seemed to be having fun.
For us being without the kids we were happy on the beach taking in the views, although the beach & water was very safe for children & there were plenty of life guards keeping an eye on everyone.
There was work being done overnight to continually improve & expand the beach which was getting even better day by day.
There was some basic maintenance work being carried out during the day, but didn't worry us or cause any disruption.
We had an absolutely amazing holiday & would definitely go back.
There are a few people we feel we need to mention & who to look out for.
Christian who is the head pool concierge is a great guy & will always go out of his way to assist in any way he can, he even helps with taking food to the guests around the pool & beach areas at lunchtime.
Neri was an absolutely amazing beach waitress who made us feel so special every day.
Hector & Facundo the two head waiters in Waves & Sands were fantastic & again nothing was to much trouble. Enrique Uc a waiter in Waves & Sands is absolutely outstanding, & made our holiday very special.
The entertainment team were also very very good & were always keeping everybody updated of what was happening, even coming around the beach asking if everything was ok or simply chatting.
The two who really stood out for us were Berenice & Clara, you can't fail to spot Berenice in her union jack bikini, sorry Berenice had to mention it.
Jose is another guy who needs a mention, he does the tequila tasting, don't miss this, but you may need a sleep after lol.
Tersi does the wine tasting in Portafino,s, this is another event not to miss.
There are a couple of girls in the lobby bar who we must mention, Laura & Veronica, it certainly was a pleasure, they are outstanding.
Alfredo in El Patio is another to look out for & Giovanny in the sushi bar is also amazing.
The coco cafe was my regular haunt in the mornings for my coffee, there are two girls in there that are so special, Elvia & Nancy, they will make your holiday very memorable.
Our overall verdict was an amazing holiday, helped by very very special staff who work tirelessly & amazing restaurants & views across the Caribbean.
Don't take some of the negative views to seriously & go and enjoy this exceptional resort, it won't disappoint you.




Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeMartin, Social Media Assistant at Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Neile L,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It's our most pleasure to learn that your stay was a wonderful one while you were impressed with our service and facilities. We appreciate your gracious comments as it shows our consistency in maintain the Dreams Resorts brand standards. Your feedback has been shared to the team as a motivation to keep up our work.

Finally, we have opportunities to improve and we will use this feedback as a learning tool, we take into account all your comments and assure you that we will definitely work on them.

We truly hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you and your family again in Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, and show you our improvements offering you a truly remarkable experience.

Sunny Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cental USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was not up to Dreams quality, nor was it up to Apple rated standards. The resort was advertised as new - it was far from new and was in te process of being renovated - loudly at some points. Apple clearly misrepresented the property from the start. It didn't get much better from there. The service was non-existent at restaurants and bars - at least most of the time. Our room (as well as a fellow guest's room) had multiple maintenance issues - requiring multiple attempts at staff to rectify. One of the pools was so cold it was unusable. The other was crowded with both kids and adults throwing balls that several people were unintentionally struck on a very regular basis. There was an adult fight in the kiddie pool which the staff made no attempt to break up - they just stood and watched the punches fly. A former bouncer that was a guest had to break it up.

When initially we asked to meet with the manager, the staff had to make an on the spot determination of who that person was - and the decision was clearly not definitive. The same applied when asking for the head concierge. it took five staff to decide who was in charge. Eventually we did find the "real" manager the next day. He was attentive, polite and apologetic and understood our concerns. He was formerly at another Secrets/Dreams resort. He did his best to accommodate our needs - and did a fairly good job of it. The unfortunate thing is that we had to meet with him in the first place (and we met two different times). We asked the Apple representative to rebook us at a different property. He could do it for a $1500+ fee. We shouldn't have had to ask in the first place; the answer of "yes, we agree this property is not as advertised, but it will cost you a lot of money to move" is not a very good one...
If you're looking for typical Apple/Dreams/Secrets quality, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeMartin, Social Media Assistant at Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear jmj57,

Thank you for sharing your feedback through this mean. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allow us to improve our service levels and product.

There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments. We have taken your comments very seriously and you can be assured that the necessary re-training measures are being instituted to prevent recurrences in the future.

Please receive our apologies for falling short of your expectations. We do however hope that, as we continue to work towards enhancing our product, you may decide to give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

With this said, we look forward to have the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence our resort and service.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km 8,5. Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Viva)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#43 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated along a breathtaking white sand beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, sits Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa! Experience all the great inclusions of Unlimited-Luxury(R) at the newest beachfront resort of your Dreams in Mexico - where there's something fun for every age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Viva Beach Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Viva Beach Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.