We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km 8,5. Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Viva)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
1 review
“Great hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I am currently staying at Dreams Sands Resort & have been very pleased. As I am sure you have read there are a couple things that could be better... They are currently still transitioning from this property being the oasis and it will take time to come up to dreams resorts standard; however with that being said I have been very happy here & would definitely come back! The price is great, the food is awesome & the service is incredible. The hotel it a little older and has a few small things they are fixing, but I would definitely return! Don't let the bad reviews keep you from coming , it's an excellent property with excellent service!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    102
    60
    38
    31
See reviews for
63
146
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived home tonight after two weeks stay.
All I will say is that everything you have read both good and bad is correct.Some of you will encounter problems some wont.
If you are picky then avoid this place , if you just let things go over your head then you will enjoy it.
Just one word of caution there were an awful lot of people including me and the Wife who suffered badly from montazummers revenge.
Still cant get my head round people getting up at 0530 for sun beds, get a life.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic location, beautiful clean spacious room with a view of the ocean and the best food we've ever had at all inclusive hotel. The French and Asian cuisine were fabulous. We're a UK couple in their 30s but there was a real range and something for everyone. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough to help, whether you did or didn't tip them. Plenty of sunloungers available in the shade or sun. Couldn't fault this place, particularly for what we paid. Tips for other travellers - Speak to Alexander on the beach for trips (he strolls through the beach most days holding a book and wearing a white hat)..he won't rip you off like the others. Go to Coco Bongos as a VIP Gold member, incredible unforgettable experience! Entertainment stops around 10pm so can be a bit early for those who like to hit it harder. Cancun bars..this isn't the place for a relaxing couple of drinks. Most sell you tickets and it's all you can drink. Bit crazy for us but so glad we did Coco Bongos, never seen anything like it!

Room Tip: Request a king room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this resort for 8 days 4/12 November. We had a great holiday. Really nice room, no balcony, but we knew this before we arrived. Lovely beds, great linen, and plenty fluffy white towels the bathroom. Plus a robe and slippers. Food excellent, staff wonderful, weather great. We did have a couple of problems, but these were soon ironed out. Would have liked to have been able to book the restaurants, as the wait could sometimes be quite long. But all in all, a great vacation all round.

Room Tip: The higher you go the less noise you will hear. We were in room 607, no problems there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeMartin, Social Media Assistant at Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Evelyn P:
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa.
We are delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I traveled to Mexico for our wedding anniversary. Like many others, we were a bit skeptical after reading all the reviews. Once we arrived, our first thought was what a great location. The beach is literally steps away with a fantastic view! The water is so blue and beautiful!! Our room was your standard hotel room, the only perk was we were lucky enough to have a balcony. A big concern was the shower, there is a modern style shower, half piece of glass as your “door.” We had to place multiple towels on the floor because there was a puddle on the floor after each shower, so much water the towels had to be rung out. Our first thought was a huge fall risk for an elderly couple or children. Half way through our stay, there was a glass door added to the shower, which did NOT resolve the problem, still a puddle of water. The rush to get rooms ready is very true, our shower heads were new and replaced, and there was still caulk from where the previous shower heads were located. The sink was also cracked in many spots. The elevator was often down for “service repairs.” Despite these small issues, we had a great time.
The hotel staff is FANTASTIC. Giovanni, Luis, Dario, many more but cant recall their names are all wonderful and provide great experiences. They do their best to get everyone involved in daily activities. They make up for the lack of hotel ambiance. The beach is beautiful, the pool is average. There is a hot tub that was mostly filled when working. Our last two days were very windy and cloudy, no rain, which would had been a perfect day to sit in a hot tub. It was “out of service” for a few days.We enjoyed a couples massage at the spa which is beautiful, clean, and friendly staff. We went to all the restaurants and had great meals, the only place that was considered “ok” was Olio. The buffet at the World Cafe is great for breakfast. The Italian restaurant and Waves and sands were our favorite. Hotel needs some work, but overall our trip was great and very relaxing. We got what we paid for, but still needs some tweaking. I would say the staff and view is what kept us happy customers. I can’t say we would come back to this resort when visiting Mexico, but we would definitely try a different location of Dreams, Secrets, etc.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This resort has a beautiful ocean setting with the ability to walk out in the ocean quite a long distance with the find sand at your toes, Plenty of chairs available on the beach, two nice pools one being for the preferred section. The hotel has been remodeled and very nice, The food
was excellent. Several choices of course, being an all inclusive is a plus. In the lobby bar
Omar, the waiter chilled my wine glass prior to pouring the chardonnay in it.. Never have I had
that happen before, he went the extra mile for all guests. As did several of the employees through out the resort. Portofino dinning was amazing. The food, the service, an awesome
experience. Walking distance to flee market, shopping and bars. Save area.

Room Tip: few rooms with balconies, ocean view is always nice, ac worked great, noise from anywhere was not an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeMartin, Social Media Assistant at Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sandra N:
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at Dreams Sands Cancun. We are delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service. Also we appreciate letting us know the performance of Omar, you cab ne assured we would congratulate him for a high quality service he offered you during your stay.
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited this hotel begining of Nov,travelled out independently being retired airline staff,transfered to the hotel via Canada Travel excellent service cold flannels and cool bottles of water suppled during transfer,arrived at the hotel around 19.45hrs quick check in,they wanted to invite us to a 1.5hr breakfast/lunch meeting the following day but this was tedious after a long days travel and it may have been something to do with timeshare?which we declined,
escorted to our room which should have been preffered club we were taken to room1034 on the 10th floor which was clean and tidy but dated we were told preffered club rooms were on the 8th,the preffered club lounge was not open either as advertised so that was disappointing to say the least,the corridor was a little noisy and you could hear other doors being shut,
the beach was a little shallow in depth and very busy i use to go to the gym(dated) each morning at around 06.00hrs and to my surprise nearly all the sun loungers had been taken maybe this had something to do with beach towels being unlimited perhaps they should limit this to 2 as the same people had prime slots by the pool and beach area which is totally unfair to others they must have been up before day light.
The entertainment team were very good and always encouraging you take part in activites which i did on occasion,they only had one hobie cat at the resort which was disappointing and not running to time as they were often out tutoring people for up to 1.75hours ie had booking for 14.00 they didnt come back from tutoring until 15.45hrs came and found us 10mins later which was to late by then,only ever had one issue with the shower in the room and that was attended to within 15mins so we decided to have our showers at 17.00hrs as to miss the low water pressure,
Food was a bit hit and miss had an unpleasant meal in Olios on our last night which was dim in lighting only to find that we had been eating uncooked chicken which was to say a disastrous evening the management are aware and we are waiting to hear from them,food was plentiful and you had choices of restaurant our favourite was Himitsu,the beverages on offer were plentiful but you had to ask for the named brands which is no hardship the beach waiters were always in attendance to offer you drinks.
We found that the hotel was tired and in need of updating perhaps Dreams should not have put their branding on this hotel and till it was fully refurbished and everything open,
apart from that we met some lovely people there and the service from the waiting staff was second to none and our room was kept spotlessly clean,
would we return not sure about that maybe an alternative resort?
Hughie H.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km 8,5. Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Viva)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#43 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated along a breathtaking white sand beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, sits Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa! Experience all the great inclusions of Unlimited-Luxury(R) at the newest beachfront resort of your Dreams in Mexico - where there's something fun for every age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Viva Beach Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Viva Beach Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.