We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value all inclusive resort ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km 8,5. Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Viva)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
1 review
“Good value all inclusive resort ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am currently here at the hotel and we are having a great time. Yes there are a few issues, especially with the rooms but in time hopefully the hotel will sort this out.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a cold towel & drink and of course the amazing view of the beach. Check in was a little lengthy as they didn't have our booking as we had amended it a couple days earlier, but not a problem as we just had a bite to eat in one of the restaurants while they were sorting it out. We kindly declined the information talk on the hotel (which I'm sure was the timeshare chat!) and they respected our wishes.

All the restaurants are great, plenty of choice and the staff are so friendly and can't do enough for you. Favourite restaurant so far is Olio as the staff are excellent and having the view of the beach is amazing. Food is very good and there is always something delicious to eat in all the restaurants.

Coco cafe is a nice touch with fresh coffee, pastries, crepes & ice cream served all day. The girls running it are so sweet and lovely.

The pool areas are good but they do however play very loud music by the pool and most of the day. I think for a hour or 2 is fine but when you are trying to relax it is very difficult with a constant banging in your head. Even on the beach you can still hear it so there is no getting away from it. There are a few guests that enjoy the music all day long but majority I have spoken to would rather it was kept to a minimum. Beach sun beds are VERY uncomfortable as they have no mats for them and you are not aloud to take the ones from the pool for the beach. Most guests end up with several towels on top of each other trying to pad them out.

Great choice of drinks at the bar. Loads of cocktails but they could do with a drinks menu to stop constantly asking the staff what's that drink called! They don't use premium brands unless you ask, but all drinks still delicious so I don't have a problem with it. They serve you drinks at your sun bed and constantly asking if you want a drink. Sometimes surprising you with a drink if you can't make up your mind what to try next!

The rooms are a good size however they could do with updating. The furniture is old and although plenty of room in the wardrobe, the doors are hard to slide and feel they are about to fall off! Bathrooms are ridiculously small, maybe ok for 2 people but we're a family of 4. No bath, just a shower with a very small screen which floods the floor. Managed to keep the flooding to a minimal with not having the pressure so high and taking beach towels from the pool so not to use our room towels to mop up.

In summary, if you are looking for a relaxing retreat, this place is not for you, but if you want a good value all inclusive resort with a good location then this place is ideal.

Would I go back, maybe not unless I got a great deal.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    54
    29
    23
    22
See reviews for
35
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We came and stayed here for 11 nights. The staff are all very friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay as fun as possible. The food in all the restaurants is absolutely lovely, especially portafinos. The beach is absolutely beautiful!! Trying to get beds around the pools can be a little difficult but there are more than enough on the beach. The drinks aer all made with top shelf spirits, they definitely got us drunk haha! I would recommend visiting the jolly roger for dinner and a show! It was fab, really fun and we all enjoyed it (aged 18-44). Also, the dolphins on isla mujeres are probably the best to visit as they're all kept on natural enclosures and it's obvious the staff there really care about the animals. All in all fab stay at Dreams ☺

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just spent a week here. The staff at this hotel are great, very friendly, courteous and go out of their way to help you. Had a facial at the spa and it was awesome, although very expensive, even after the $40 coupon, it was close to $200. I didn't get to try most if the restaurants because of the dress code. I think they should allow nice shorts and a nice short sleeve shirt, long pants covered shoes and dress shirts are uncomfortable in a humid environment and the ladies get to wear cool summer dresses so men should get to wear comfortable clothing as well. My room was average, had a few issues, tub drained super slow, so only quick showers, my t.v. didn't work the first night and the maintenance guy took so long to show up I had to call down and tell them to send maintenance tomorrow as I was going to bed and that was the same for the time I called for the tub and the guy didn't fix the tub. Room service food was sub par, although room service staff were great, The restaurants I did get to try was the same food ok service great. They need a new management team for the kitchens, you can tell they are just trying to get it done and don't care to much about quality. Having said that, I talked to people staying at other all inclusives in this price rang along the beach who wouldn't eat anything at their resorts, so maybe I'm expecting to much. I would stay here again, only because the staff were awesome.

Room Tip: Don't bother getting the balcony room not worth the up grade, get a room on a lower floor as ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Promices were for a newly remodeled facility. Room was great, staff was great, Facility was "ok", 2 out of 6 resturants were good. Not going back. They pushed for vacation club memberships. Typical Mexico.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural MN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I had a great long weekend get away at Dreams Sands Cancun. The beach was beautiful, though it was not continuous with the longer uninterrupted beach along the bottom of the "7". You could still easily walk 1/2 mi along sugary smooth sand. The swimming area is very shallow (about 1.5-2ft deep) for 50-75 yards before gradually deepening to 3.5-4ft deep further out. There was very little wave action as the beach is in a protected bay, so it was perfect for young kids, kayaking, and using the Hobie Cat. Staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. WiFi was free throughout the resort. All of our meals were well-prepared and tasty at Bordeux, Portafino, and Himitsu for dinner, Olio for lunch, and World Cafe and Olio for breakfast. Coco cafe had ice cream all afternoon. Our deluxe oceanfront room with balcony (#602) was very nice. The view was absolutely amazing. The bathroom was small without a tub but functional. Bottom line, we will likely stay here again. We have stayed at Dreams Puerto Vallarta, Dreams Tulum, Secrets Maroma, and the Valentin Imperial Maya in the past, and this was nearly or as good a resort as all of those, only much smaller and a little older in terms of infrastructure. Tip: bring an inflatable float to use in the water.

Room Tip: Our deluxe ocean view balcony room 602 was a had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was formerly the Oasis Viva Cancun. The hotel was recently acquired by Dreams and had their soft opening back in September. Hotel Lobby was up to par with the "Dreams" standard. Our room was located in the center building. I was a little bit disappointed because we booked two rooms during our stay. One was an "Ocean View" which we paid extra and a "Partial View" room which was standard. We ended up getting both Ocean View rooms and wish I did not paid for the upgrade. The room was redesigned from the previous with flat screen TV, coffee maker and fridge. On the first day, fridge was fully stocked with beer, soda and bottled water. The bathroom was clean and equipped with hair dryer and bottles of shampoo and body wash. I was expecting all of these would be replenished for the rest of our stay but was not. I have to call for room service to replenish our fridge. On our third day, we noticed a bad smell coming from the AC, it smelled like a strong "sharpie marker". I had to call the front desk TWICE to get it fix, we even asked for an air freshened just to tone the smell down. They finally sent an engineer to check it out but nothing was done. I finally gave up, because it was late already and my nose got used to the strong smell. The next day I told the front desk again and finally is got fix temporary cause on our last day, the smell was back.

The property has more than 5 restaurants, I would recommend eating at their All Seafood Restaurant and their Japanese Restaurant. Most of the restaurants close at 11pm but room service is available. Don't expect that the cafés to open on time. The Coco Cafe was supposed to be open at 630am but ended up opening at 7am. This was not a problem if we didn't had to go on our Chichen Itza trip. We were relying on a light breakfast before going on a 12 hour tour.

The property also have a Spa, I think this was one of the excellent part of the resort. It's a little bit overpriced but we used our 200 spa credit and had a massage and free use of the day spa amenities.

Over all service was sub par to the hotel chain standard. Service was a little bit on the slow side, I was not sure if it's the language barrier or the staff are new since it's a new hotel brand. I think it needs to be up more to the Dreams standard.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We are here now on honeymoon and, like many people, were apprehensive reading the reviews, but three days on we are having a ball.

Our room is lovely with an amazing view and an awesome huge bed, loads of towels, dressing gowns a flat screen tv and it's spotlessly clean.

The facilities are brilliant. You can eat at loads of different restaurants and they have a huge selection of drinks and cocktails. The food is really good and the selection is excellent.

Obviously the hotel is not 100% new but it looks great and we have had no maintenance problems at all. The pools are great, the beach is amazing, we have been playing games and kayaking for free, and chilling out on one of the great beach beds they have all day.

The staff are superb- we have genuinely never encountered anything like the service you get here. Your drink will be barely empty and someone is around offering you more. They are bending over backwards to make everyone have a great time. The pool concierge Christian is a great guy and makes time to talk to everyone to see if they are having a good time, and the bar staff, pool waiters and entertainment crew are amazing and great fun.

Lots of people booked the pre-opening special so the place is hopping. Looking out our window the condos next door were empty, and further up the beach looks dead, but Dreams is full of life with people of all ages from all over the world here. Despite that, we rarely have to queue or wait very long for anything- ie we went to the French restaurant at peak time and had to wait 5 minutes for a table. Even though the beach beds are busy you always find one. The staff remove towels from unoccupied
Beds to free them up as well.

There is daily entertainment and something for everyone to do. I was worried we'd be bored on an all-inclusive we don't actually want to
Leave the resort as it's great fun. We even had Oktoberfest last night which was a great way to meet other holiday makers. I am so glad we kept our reservation, it genuinely is a great place!!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConciergeMartin, Social Media Assintant at Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
It is a pleasure to read through such a detailed overview of your visit to Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa. We sincerely appreciate the time invested on writing this review.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our staff’s attentive service, the room, restaurants, entertainment activities, night shows and thank you for letting us know the performance of Christian our pool Concierge, and all of our crew who make you have a pleasant stay here in the resort.
Once again, we appreciate your kind comments of our resort and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Have a great day !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km 8,5. Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Viva)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#43 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated along a breathtaking white sand beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, sits Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa! Experience all the great inclusions of Unlimited-Luxury(R) at the newest beachfront resort of your Dreams in Mexico - where there's something fun for every age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Viva Beach Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Viva Beach Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.