We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but noise ruined it for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cancun Handall

Hotel Cancun Handall
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cancun Handall
Save
You added Hotel Cancun Handall to your Saves list
Av. Tulum SM 20 N163 M1, Cancun, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“OK, but noise ruined it for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had a quick layover in Cancun on my way home after a trip to Cuba. Chose this place as it was recommend by a taxi driver for being less expensive than the ones closer to the airport.

Location was OK, there was shops and restaurants within walking distance. Also some sort of market place where there were a lot of people and sales booths etc.

Room was OK and not pricey at all. Had everything I wish for. Service was OK too.
The reason why I wasn't that please to the overall experience was the noise outside my room. There were people talking and kids laughing even around 2-4AM at night. I didn't bother to go out to yell at them though. I am not sure if this was one time event of if it happens more often as there are some dining places right nearby the ground level rooms. If it happens more often, I would suggest reducing ranking to 2 stars instead of 3 I gave now.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We missed our flight so we stayed here in downtown. The area isn't great but it's about $80-$100 US cheaper than the beach areas. It's clean and there's some good local food around. This wouldn't be my first choice, but it's a good spot if you just need a place to spend a night or two.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobden, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

We got into cancun late and missed the ferry to Isla Mueres and our driver recommended us to stay there. So we did. For the price it's not bad. Beds werent very comfortable but it was clean and the desk helped anyway they could even tho he didn't speak English that well. Overall not bad for the price for and overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

As a frequent traveller to Cancun, I find the Hotel Handall to be a great place to stay overnight. It is clean, friendly and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: I like the lower level, but the second floor is fine as well. The bus boys will carry up your luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cancun Handall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cancun Handall

Address: Av. Tulum SM 20 N163 M1, Cancun, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Number of rooms: 42

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cancun Handall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.