We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo happy since the transition of ownership...Lovely 15th wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New All Inclusive Hotels
Ranked #3 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Spring
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Soooo happy since the transition of ownership...Lovely 15th wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Jus a quick review that I would like to continue through my trip so I don´´t want to forget anything. This time like the first 6 times we came, with the exception of last year, the welcoming was so gracious (greeted us with cold towels and champagne); this did not happen last year. However, everything thus far has been more than excellent ´- they have polished off the rough edges. Our visit to the members office, Real Club, more than met our expectation with Oliver taking care of our needs with the help of Marcella, chief concierge. He made sure that our anniversary was treated special which filled our hearts with smiles and nice memories. Before we even got to the members club, we saw an old dear friend that lifted our hearts and created smiles from ear to ear - Rafael!!!!!! The experience just isn´t made special without all the sincere care Rapheal places in it He is a jewel in the cap of Hyatt Zilara. It trul is the people that make this place special. Eight years ago, that was what the travel agent told me. As we made our way to the pool, we saw more old friends that have always treated us so special, Gualupe, who takes care of making sure you have everything you need from the bar. Her smile and caring attitude is more than appreciated, plus she has a gorgeous smile that is refreshin - her sincere saying is - From my heart to yours! It is wonderful to be remembered throughout the day as you{re enjoying the view.Another gentlemen we appreciate is Louis from Pelicanos - wanting to make sure that everything is going OK and filling us in on the wonderful changes that have taken place in the restaurants with the menus and experience - again, another asset of Hyatt Zilara. Spice restaurant - a new friend that let us know about some ammenities for members was Hector. He is great, and we will ask for him as we also ask for a friend that we just met last year that recognized us, and that is Arturo. He sure can make you laugh, but Hector can also. Wonderful, wonderful people. Pelicanos at lunch let us meet someone that we haven{t met before, Oscar - all I can say is WOW - we left there more than happy. Swimming over to the pool bar is the man that knows how to fix the ESPECIALLE that only Eduardo can make. He is definitely a mainstay for Hyatt Zilara. Maria Marie´s features wonderful Mexican food that is enjoyable when you sit at Mateo{s table, as he makes sure your experience is top shelf! Thank you Hyatt Zilara for treating this members very special as we treasure our 15th wedding anniversary. We love it and treasure the way your our fillling our anniversary with lovely memories. As we meet others that deserve praise, I will amend. Thank you!

Room Tip: Truly, every room is a good room, you won{t go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    277
    87
    29
    28
See reviews for
194
1,064
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Hubby treated me to this wonderful place for my 40th. This is our 3rd time (Secrets the Vine, Riu Palace) in Cancun and this is by far the best. Mature crowd and friendly (not pushy) staff. The only down side is grabbing a bed by the pool. You have to get up early or grab a spot as soon as you see one available. The views are amazing and housekeeping is superb. If you want a party hotel, then go somewhere else. But if you want to relax and feel like royalty then stay at the Hyatt Zilara.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. It was a brief stay, but enjoyed every bit of it. It was so relaxing. Enjoyed the spa every morning and the food was great! We have no complaints. The staff is friendly and the grounds are very well maintained. We stayed in room 536 on the first night and upgraded to a swim up suite (room 134) for the next 2 nights. Room 536 was great, the ocean view was gorgeous, but we decided to upgrade in order to enjoy the perks of the swim up suite (more spacious, semi-private pool, free domestic and international calls just to name a few). We greatly enjoyed our stay, but definitely enjoyed not being hassled to "consider" a timeshare upon checking in.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face the ocean. You can't go wrong with any room in my opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I recently visited Hyatt Zilara and had a wonderful time!! The hotel is beautiful and it is truly brought to life by the amazing staff that work there. One member of staff that stood out the most was Julio, such a fantastic guy, warm, welcoming and always getting everyone involved in all the fantastic activities. A wonderful place that I will always visit as there just isn't abother hotel like it or fantastic staff like Julio. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall very enjoyable stay at the resort. Looking forward to coming back for years to come. The value was great and the experience was only enhanced by the friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Aksher P,

Thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for taking the time to share your short, but truly excellent review with us.

We are excited to know you had a truly enjoyable stay and that you were especially fond of the personalized service provided by our attentive associates, with whom we will surely share your motivating words.

We very much appreciate you recommending us and cannot wait to welcome you back during your next trip to Cancun.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When you pull up to get dropped off you are in "Aw" of the incredible beauty from both the hotel and it's location!!! We spent 6 nights/7 days. We had a concierge by the name of Yunuen Escobar that was incredible....starting well over a month before we even arrived making sure that we were all set to come, that any special needs would be taken care of before arriving! He was there to get us settled in, made calls for an excursion we pre-planned, set us up in a great room, arranged massages for us, and made sure to let us know he would be available throughout our stay! Even when Yunuen Escobar was not available, there was another concierge named Ms. Olivia??? I'm sorry I forget if that was her 1st name or sir name. She made reservations for us and was so friendly to just answer any questions we had!

Our views were the best I've ever had....Not just of the ocean, but a center view looking down on the main pool and being able to see side-to-side of all the other pools and areas. A full moon over the course of 3 nights cannot be described well enough to justify the beauty we saw from our balcony! Breakfast in our room during the early morning hours also cannot be described to do it justice!

The rooms are everything they describe and every picture you see of their advertisements is EXACTLY what you receive! From the hot tub, to the double shower, double sinks, the woodwork, the beach view......We had a standard room with a king bed....could not have been happier with it!

Explore ALL the restaurants so you can choose your favorites! We enjoyed Omar at Pelicano's! He was so fun and inviting that we wanted to go back to see him! We also enjoyed the new people we met while in the 24 hour lounge activity center. I wish we would have gone to Asiana sooner...Was one of my favorites, but did not do it until the last day. The buffet was also very good...You can always find something you like.....& I am a picky eater...I don't eat onions, mushrooms, seafood of any kind....and yet I was still very happy with my selections!

We also enjoyed a couple's massage at the beach side! WONDERFULLY RELAXING the day after a 12 hour excursion! A few days later I also enjoyed a facial that rejuvenated my skin after a bit too much sun the day before!

Best Day Travel within the hotel provided an excursion to Chichen Itza and for parasailing, as well as transportation to and from the airport. They provided us everything they described and we had wonderful times! We went to Tulum through another agency and it was not as good.

The location is central to both high end shopping and tourist shopping....we could walk out the door and walk or take a bus to either one and feel comfortable doing so!

Every night at 8pm there was a new show that was top quality! It was like having our own "Cirque du Soleil" on some nights. Our only disappointment was the night that the "Casino Night" did not happen. It was the one and only show my boyfriend was looking forward to! There was supposed to be prizes and fun....we don't know why it was cancelled. For my boyfriend, who plays poker tournaments every week, and who enjoys alternate vacations in Las Vegas....this was VERY disappointing! I think it would have been great fun!

In all....from service, to location, food, and activities, not to mention the wonderful people we met.....we could not have been happier and would definitely love to go back!!!!

I have only a couple minor problems......if you are in a room that is central to the location of the lobby.....it is VERY loud in your room because after the shows, they go onto having live music in the bar below until 10 or 11. If you want to retreat to your room, be prepared for the noise until then...after that, it quiets back down. The only other thing is that I have a Hyatt Gold Passport and we are not getting the points for our 6 nights stay there. I purchased Hyatt Night Passes through a company that my work does business with and turned those nights in for our stay. As they were "purchased" nights, we were under the impression that we would get the points, but it does not appear that we will get them.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are not in the center over the lobby hosting shows & live music. Higher floored ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Holly B,

Thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your well-deserved vacation and for sharing your truly wonderful vacation experience with us in such detail.

We are thrilled to know you had a fantastic time, while enjoying the great location, the beautiful facilities, the comfortable accommodations with amazing view, the professional spa treatments, the delicious and varied dining, as well as the excellent service provided by our valued associates, such as Yunuen, Adriana and Omar, who will surely be proud to know they were able to make your experience special.

We are truly sorry to know regarding the areas in need of improvement you encountered and please be assured they have already been addressed in order to assure the appropriate follow up.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you back during your next vacation in Cancun.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice facility. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. Very friendly staff especially two gentlemen that we met who went beyond what I expected. Hector Zepeda and limberth. These two made us feel as if we had are own personal assistants. I love cancun and will defiantly be visiting this resort again. I would be dumb not to.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear jason h,

It was a great pleasure to host you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and we were much appreciate you sharing your short, but truly excellent experience with us.

We are excited to know you had a fantastic stay and that you especially enjoyed the spacious suite, the beautiful facilities and the personalized service provided by our valued associates, such as Hector and Limberth, with whom we will most certainly share your motivating words.

Thank you very much for your preference and we cannot wait to pamper you again during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.