We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Zilara Cancun to your Saves list
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New All Inclusive Hotels
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
1 review
“SUPER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I went to many places around the world, many 5 star hotels but none of them where such Excellent in everything (allround) as Hyatt Zilara. PERFECTION is not known until you go to Hyatt Zilara. Honeymoon picture perfect! Thanks to Julio (head of the entertainement department)

Room Tip: Suite, ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    265
    86
    28
    28
See reviews for
184
996
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Love this hotel stayed for a week in mid April and had a great stay. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, they were always ready to help. The buffet was really good for breakfast but hit and miss for dinner. Pelicans was good for lunch but hit and miss for dinner as well. Ate Asians and it was a really good dinner I would definitely recommend. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I would definitely want to be between the second and fourth floors. The upper rooms have the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Picture perfect place to be what you see in the brochures is exactly how it looks golden white sand fantastic weather lovely food anything to eat and drink and plenty of it. meet really nice staff which couldn't do enough for us it was our honeymoon cake and prosecco in our bedroom on arrival which was nice bedrooms with plenty of room sea view rooms cleaned twice a day with fresh towel every time if we had known we didn't need to take any shampoo conditioner soap toothbrushes and paste mouth wash body lotion and a lot more stock in fridge was topped up every day. Over all we couldn't complain about nothing that's all you need is your clothes money and plenty of it and each other.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Catherine H,

Thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun during your recent vacation and for taking the time to share your truly wonderful experience with us.

We are very happy to know you had a great stay, while enjoying the beautiful beach, the delicious and plentiful food & beverage offerings, the high quality amenities, the gorgeous view and the great service provided by our valued associates.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we cannot wait to pamper you again during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my first experience at an all inclusive resort - and I was very impressed. The property and rooms are just beautiful ( all rooms are ocean front view) and everything is spotlessly clean. All of the staff are friendly, helpful and eager to go the extra mile to please. For example, Alfredo in the Pelicanos grill was always able to make a special food request appear, even if it was not on the menu! During our one week stay in mid-April, we were able to experience all of the various restaurants at the resort. Asiana, oriental fusion restaurant was delicious...whether enjoying the tepanyaki show or having table service. We were impressed and enjoyed Maria Marie steakhouse - great service and delicious food. The dining highlight had to be our visit to Chef's Plate, a pre-fixe, limited seating experience. Chef Parrish Del Rio expertly prepared each of the 6 courses before us in his open kitchen and each course was introduced and expertly served by Nefty and Porfirio. A wonderful experience. We really appreciated that you could bring your own wine to any of the venues with no corkage. The wines provided by the house were just fine, but we brought quite a few bottles of our own from California.
Loved the nightly floorshows, appreciated the many activities your could partake in (or not)
and the bar service was exemplary! There was never a need to be without a refreshing beverage, unless by choice. Had a great massage in the Spa - techs were very professional and the setting had it all. The ocean and beach were beautiful - my only comment is that it is not a good swimming beach...very rough. But a beautiful blue and miles of beach to walk on. A definite will go back!

Room Tip: All ocean view rooms. Try not to be above the lobby as it is noisy at night until the bar closes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sally G,

It was a pleasure to host you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and we very much appreciate you sharing your truly positive feedback with us.

We are excited to know you had a truly wonderful vacation and especially enjoyed the beautiful property, the well-kept suite with amazing view, the delicious dining, the entertaining shows and the excellent service provided by our valued associates, such as Alfredo, Parrish, Nefi and Porfirio.
They will surely be proud to know they were able to positively influence your stay.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

this place is very nice! great food, service, drinks and very relaxing, the entertainment crew are very funny and professional, we had a fun time with julio playing volleyball. they make you feel like you're at home.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear francisco,

Thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing your short, but truly positive review with us.

We are excited to know you had a fantastic time while enjoying the delicious food & beverage offerings, the fun activities and the great service provided by our valued associates, such as Julio, with whom we will surely share your motivating words.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future for another relaxing vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really a great trip.

Positives:
+ Mostly excellent service. Jose Carlos, Inna, and Paulina at the front. Fernando on the beach. Cesar, Miguel, Uriel at the bars. Porfiro, Nefi, Chef Parrish at Chef's plate.
+ Clean, well maintained, beautiful facility
+ Delicious food all around. Chef's plate is highly recommended (with an room service to follow as the portions are a bit small)
+ Excellent massages in the beach cabana
+ Jungle Tour (speedboats out to snorkeling) highly recommended

Negatives:
- Mezcal tasting was cancelled
- Service and food for lunch at Asiana was poor (Eyder was rude, slow, and not characteristic of a typical Hyatt Zilara employee). We were served the Chicken stew dish and it was watery and the vegetables were raw (it was obviously still simmering to be served for dinner and not ready yet; had they told us, we would have changed our order!)
- Billing mix up on check out that was supposed to be already cleared with their head executive of reservations (just a minor hassle, but still a little annoying)
- Sun sets behind the tall hotel, so the beach and pool get dark and cooler around 4-5pm.
- Air conditioning in our room didn't fully work and the explanation was that that's just how it's supposed to work (kept the room at an okay temp, but would not go any lower than 21 degrees celsius even though we set the thermostat to 10 degrees celsius as a test)

Overall, we can't wait to come back in the future. If they fix those last few hiccups and they'll earn that last star.

Room Tip: A "corner room" is basically the exact same room, but the main benefit is the guaranteed c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Benji B,

Thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your honeymoon vacation and for sharing your detailed and honest feedback with us.

We are very happy to know that you were able to truly enjoy your overall experience, especially the delicious dining, your relaxing massage treatment and the great service provided by the majority of our associates, such as Jose Carlos, Inna, Paulina, Fernando, Cesar, Miguel, Uriel, Profirio and Nefi, Parrish.

We will surely share your kind words with every single one of them and they will certainly be proud to know they were able to assist in making your experience special.

We are very sorry to know regarding the areas in need of improvement you encountered during your stay and please know these have already been communicated to the corresponding department heads in order to assure the appropriate corrective measures are taken.

We very much appreciate your preference and cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future in order to provide you with the perfect experience you expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently travelled from the UK with friends and family (20 in total) and got married at this fantastic hotel on the 16th April 2015. We originally booked this wedding package directly with the hotel and when it was The Royal, we were a bit concerned when it changed to the Hyatt but all them concerns changed when we visited the Hyatt Zilara last year for our wedding food tasting. See other trip advisor review.

We picked the Luxury wedding package for our special day, we also added some extras, additional boutonnieres, bridesmaids bouquets, DJ, day passes x 4, copies of the wedding certificate, another copy of the wedding certificate translated and the silver photo package even though we had some included in our original package.

The wedding coordinator managed all this and ensured she was present during the wedding day including the evening. Our wedding coordinator was Paty, she is the wedding manager for the Hyatt and she has been extremely attentive and helpful. We seriously cannot thank her enough especially after our original coordinator moved on. Getting married in Mexico can seem daunting but we can honestly say it has been easy and stress free. The actual day was perfect, it couldn’t have gone better and everything just fell into place.

We decided to get married in the Gazebo on the left hand side of the hotel or right hand side if looking at the hotel from the beach around 1pm. This was decorated in white chiffon with a red carpet, large floral centerpiece with chairs with ribbons on. We also had a cocktail hour with a Mexican trio on the beach while we were still getting photos taken, we picked our canapés for this hour and this was set out with tables, chairs and two large white flags in the sand. Again this looked and was amazing for everyone to experience and this was from 2pm to 3pm.

We decided due to us not having much sun in the UK to have our wedding reception meal / party just outside of the Gazebo, I believe this area is called the Gazebo villas, this now has a fully functioning bar and the space has been expanded. We sat down around 3ish for this, the area becomes shaded at this time and the nice breeze from the beach meant it wasn’t uncomfortable for anyone while they were eating. The trees were connected to the Gazebo with the same white ribbons and this also had tables and chairs, we could decide on how many tables / chairs we wanted prior to the day and still had options to make any adjustments up to the day before. We went for a table of 8, 6 and 6 but there is a love heart table should you wish to sit just husband and wife.

There was a wedding menu on each table provided as part of the package and each table was decorated with flowers, chair covers and Paty also tied to each set of knives and forks a cutlery tab saying “thank you for sharing our first meal Mr & Mrs Culloden 16th April 2015”, we brought these with us from the UK and Paty also made sure the table favors were also placed on each table. We were allowed two have two different main course options and just had to confirm the numbers the day before.

The judge who conducted the wedding made it really special, we have watched the DVD many times and the words and how it is held is heart warming. The photographer was there from the start of the reception and the extra package got us an additional 40 photos / hour of extra time so a total of 64 with the DVD of the actual wedding in a photo album. Overall both the photographer and person filming were really good and we never really noticed them until after the ceremony and pictures on the beach. We were lucky and had friends & family who took pictures while we were both getting changed and also later in the evening. We have stopped everyone posting any photos until we have our reception back in the UK as we want everyone to see how stunning my wife looks and also the rest of the people including me.

Everyone commented on the food at the wedding and the service from all the waiters who are dressed up in bow ties, it was really exceptional with a special shout out to “Josef” who made sure my drink was never empty and I can certainly say all of them made sure all our friends and family had an amazing time.

The DJ was DJ Mannia, we provided him with a list of songs from all our guests (we asked them for three each from them), we sent this to DJ Mannia before the wedding. He set up just before we started eating and he was everything you would expect and more. The music was fantastic and I think they used the same play list around the pool for the next two weeks. Near the end of the evening we were given balloons, glow bracelets and they let off fireworks at the bottom of the Gazebo to celebrate our big day.

We have truly had an unforgettable wedding and we wish we could do it all again and again. Did I mention my wife looked amazing….If you are planning a destination wedding I can seriously recommend the Hyatt Zilara in Cancun not only are the grounds, staff, service, food and drink amazing they actually know what they are doing. The spa also did a great job but there was some confusion with my mum that was quickly rectified in the morning thankfully.

All we had to do was bring our passports, tourist cards (you get on the plane), blood tests (done by the doctor in the hotel and takes two mins) and have our 4 x witnesses with you who just needed their passports and tourist cards (or the hotel can provide for you). If you have been married before or changed your name you do need other paperwork so just check with Paty or better still visit the hotel, you wont be disappointed.

You can pay online and make amendments via your coordinator aswell.

So thank you to the Hyatt Zilara, all the staff and Paty, from the happy couple ☺

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views so no real need to upgrade but we do love the swim-up rooms with semi p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear ManchesterGaz,

Thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your destination wedding and for taking the time to share your truly wonderful experience with us in such detail.

We are excited to know you had a truly memorable experience and fully enjoyed this once-in-a-lifetime event.

We thank you for mentioning Paty and Josef by name and will make sure to share your appreciation with them.

We very much appreciate your preference and cannot wait to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 16), formerly THE Royal Cancun. Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun’s Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa– Cancun’s only ocean view spa – wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Zilara Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.